We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spicy Hot”
Review of French Market

French Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$24.99*
and up
French Quarter Stroll
Ranked #43 of 354 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Whether you are seeking an authentic Creole meal of Jumbalaya or a romantic candlelit dinner overlooking the Mississippi, this historic market area is for you.
Eu, France
Level Contributor
449 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Spicy Hot”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

In the beginning I was reluctant to follow my daughter but as we were wondering through the streets listening to music festival I gave it a go. It was nice in the end, worth a walk. Plenty of local food, recipes, spicy and hot sauces, the walk of Flames for whoever has the courage to taste. My daughter bought half the suitcase. Take time to compare before you choose where to eat as the prices are different. And watch out, it close early around 5pm.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Valentin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    586
    636
    382
    77
    17
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Villa Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Basic flea market”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Food area is great. Wish we would have eaten there rather than a nearby cafe. The market area with non food items is nothing special or unique to New Orleans. Go for the food not the shopping.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop Harbor, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Okay if you're just walking around - do not make a special trip though!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I didn't see anything at the market that was out of the ordinary. It was like a flea market that took less then a half hour to get through. I wasn't all that impressed, but I can see why people go. It's covered, which is good if it rains! Visit Cafe Du Monde if there isn't a line (it's open 24 hours, so it's pretty open in the evening for a beignet dessert!) The shops in the Quarter have better, more unique offerings.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BeckySuhajda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Anatolian Silver”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

If you're looking for good jewelry at the French Market check out Anatolian Silver. The quality is good (all silver is sterling and stamped 925) and the vendor, Hasan Cicek, is very helpful and patient. For $2.00 more you can get a longer chain for pendants and they are beautiful, not the thin chains that normally come with pendants. Mr Cicek took the time to go through quite a bit of merchandise to find just the chain and pendant I wanted, and even sold me the display item when they were out of stock. Highly recommend!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank 99MustangLx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The market and Cafe Du Monde”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is such a happening spot, A must is Café au lait and beginets amongst the street performers and happy crowds. Shopping at he market Is a must and don't miss OSCAR and his wonderful hand made jewelry. I buy it every year and treasure my old purchases - all dated. Great memories of previous trips.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank carolyn1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Market also viewed

 

Been to French Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing