We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish sellers are gone, but still a tad charming”
Review of French Market

French Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$24.99*
and up
French Quarter Stroll
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Cemetery and French Quarter Walking Tour
More Info
$55.00*
and up
New Orleans Food and History Tour
Ranked #43 of 358 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Whether you are seeking an authentic Creole meal of Jumbalaya or a romantic candlelit dinner overlooking the Mississippi, this historic market area is for you.
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fish sellers are gone, but still a tad charming”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Appeared that the Market was desperately trying to find a balance between local food stalls and souvenir shirts and imported trinkets. A super place to kill time if it's raining, but otherwise, just walking the streets is a better use of time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Siampayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    590
    639
    385
    77
    17
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Anatolian Silver - French Market - New Orleans”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

If you love real gemstones jewelry in fine sterling sliver that will last for years - looking as good as the day you bought them- you will love Anatolian Silver. I have been going to New Orleans for about 15 years with Anatolian Silver being one of my stops every time. I have bought earrings and necklaces for myself and friends and family. They are inexpensive and everyone loves them.,

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamosa, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just another flea market selling Chinese items.”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

If you are looking for some shopping to enhance your New Orleans experience, you will be disappointed here. Other than just a couple local artists the market is just the same import junk you will find anywhere in the country. The only bright spot is the outdoor bar with live music. The music and atmosphere were good and drink prices were reasonable. Not something that is hard to find in this city though.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl, MS
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Unique one of kind Market ”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Great place to find one of kind items in the heart of New Orleans French Quarter. Definitely worth your time if you are visiting NOLA.

Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved Anatolian Silver!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My friends and I bought several pairs of sterling silver earrings from Anatolian Silver in the French Market. Hasan Cicek was very helpful and very nice. Hasan has a large inventory and was very willing to help me with my particular requests. He gave us a good discount. Even without the discount, his prices are very good. My friends and I highly recommend Anatolian Silver to anyone looking for a great jewelry buying experience: large selection, customer friendly attitude, and very good prices for sterling silver pieces. Thanks Hasan! I'll be back on my next visit to NOLA.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Dee1481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Market also viewed

 

Been to French Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing