We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lots of Interesting Merchandise but Too Crowded” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of French Market

French Market
Book In Advance
$24.99*
and up
French Quarter Stroll
Ranked #42 of 333 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Whether you are seeking an authentic Creole meal of Jumbalaya or a romantic candlelit dinner overlooking the Mississippi, this historic market area is for you.
Seneca, sc
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lots of Interesting Merchandise but Too Crowded”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We visited the French Market on a Saturday morning in late February. It was extremely crowded. You can buy almost anything you want at the French Market if you can navigate the crowds of people. There's the typical Flea Market merchandise in addition to produce, seafood, and New Orleans specific merchandise. We enjoyed our time there.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ktrammell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    554
    329
    72
    17
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Purvis, MS
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun to walk through; but nothing amazing....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

French Market is nothing to be amazed about. One would expect a little better set-up considering the title of being the oldest market in the U.S.. You are able to find a cheap pair of sunglasses, the same Mardi Gras t-shirt 10 different times (all with different vendors at different prices), & tons of tourist junk. You are able to stumble upon the occasional vendor selling homemade products.

Overall; it's fun to stroll through; but don't waste too much time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great French Market vendor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I recently purchased a pair of earrings at Anatolian Silver in the French Market. I was very impressed by my experience! This vendor sells very high quality jewelry at reasonable prices and provides great customer service. I found them to be better than the other jewelry vendors in the French Market. I highly recommend them.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank safajp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great open air market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Really enjoyed haning around this area. I didn't buy anything but my wife did. The outdoor cafe with music was a treat.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RhettBunker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, TX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“French Market/Flea Market? You say tomato...I say tomato...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

If this is really the oldest market in U.S. history, then with that premise...alone...one would assume it would have fruits and vegetables. The only fruits and vegetables I was able to locate were in drink form...many of them containing alcohol. This is a prime example of a flea market full of crap. No matter what the time of day, you can hear foul mouthed four letter words being spewed from the "bar" right across the street (Decatur street)....so, keep your kids' ears covered. Nothing about this market makes it memorable nor enjoyable.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Market also viewed

 

Been to French Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing