We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice change from Burbon St....”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of French Market

French Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$24.99*
and up
French Quarter Stroll
Ranked #43 of 348 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Whether you are seeking an authentic Creole meal of Jumbalaya or a romantic candlelit dinner overlooking the Mississippi, this historic market area is for you.
Stony Point, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice change from Burbon St....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

As far as open markets are concerned, not too bad. A little too flea market for me but they had quite a few food stands, which were good for a quick snack. Nice change of pace from the bar scene in NOLA...I bought some Alligator Jerky for my daughter which was cool. Nice for a change of scenery. So if you are looking for a walk on a nice day in NOLA, this is a good idea...but if you do not have too much time in the city, no need to rush here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Irene Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    566
    616
    370
    77
    17
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
1,158 reviews
560 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 538 helpful votes
“Market or Flea Market?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I am only giving this a very good rating because of the few actual artists that are here. There is a ton of made in china products here. Lets say lots of junk, but the few artists that are here are very talented. From jewelry, photos and t shirts. I had a gentleman make me a custom paracord bracelet in Florida Gator colors while a waited. I probably could have got it a dollar our two cheaper on ebay, but it was nice to see it being handmade as i watched. Pick and choose your purchases wisely Lots of stalls with lots of different prices.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
275 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“lots of history”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

The French Market is rich in history. I wish in the Flea Market section they would have more local merchandise being sold & not so much made in China stuff. In other sections there are merchants selling more local type items. It is a fun place to spend the day shopping & eating. (The bathrooms are not a place you want to use.)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank tmde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson,SC
Level Contributor
195 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Open air market”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

As open air markets good this one and better than average but in general not my kind of thing. Seems to be same junk for sale in general. Did find one thing that was kinda neat (hanging pot plant).

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tkherold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, md
Level Contributor
121 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“If you really love shopping, probably worth a visit.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Mostly an open air market with lots of souvenirs and knick-knacks. If you want to leave New Orleans with the obligatory can of chicory coffee, Mardi Gras beads, pralines and the like, which I did, you will find it here. I only stopped in because I stumbled upon it, but I could see where it would be a destination in and of itself for shoppers.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank fawn3620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Market also viewed

 

Been to French Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing