We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVE NOLA”
Review of French Market

French Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$24.99*
and up
French Quarter Stroll
Ranked #45 of 352 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Whether you are seeking an authentic Creole meal of Jumbalaya or a romantic candlelit dinner overlooking the Mississippi, this historic market area is for you.
tuscaloosa
Level Contributor
150 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“LOVE NOLA”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I always enjoy walking around New Orleans in the Jackson square area. Cafe Du Monde is a must, also stopped by Aunt Sally's Creole pralines. They had samples available that were divine. I ended purchasing pralines to bring home. Must visit this area.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank iloveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    576
    622
    376
    77
    17
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silverton, Colorado
Level Contributor
198 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not as interesting as I had hoped”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I was expecting to find a lot more interesting stuff there, the flea market had some interesting things, but not really much, and the "Farmers Market" hardly had any produce. The way it was being advertised I was thinking it was much bigger and had much more to offer. It was crowded, and there was a huge line outside of the Cafe Du Monde and did have a variety of different places to eat, but nothing really caught my interest much over all.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ilovesilverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Variety of different wares.”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Big open outdoor market where lots of different people set up and sell all sorts of things. Fun to walk through and browse the goods. Who knows you may find something you like... maybe a voodoo doll will catch your eye.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank KyrieAndKarlsohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If you need souviniers this is the place to go”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

If you're a tourist and looking for cheap tacky souviniers than this is the place for you. It's the same merchandise sold in the store around The French Quarter but cheaper. Make sure to haggle with the merchants for 40-50% off the initial asking price.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Msslaydbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“souvenirs and flea market wares”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I was not sure what to expect so we were not disappointed. The flea market sells all of the same things you can find in the tee shirt shops in the Quarter- tee shirts, Mardi Gras masks, voodoo dolls, ashtrays, hats, etc. There are also typical vendors selling things like incense, wallets and jewelry. It was very crowded but we were able to make our purchases with no lines.
Walking further in there is another pavilion with a band, food and a farmer's market. There you can pick up higher-end items such as handmade soaps and candles.
It is not a bad place to do all of your New Orleans souvenir shopping in one place.
Bring cash as most merchants do not take credit cards.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank OCcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Market also viewed

 

Been to French Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing