We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Afternoon”

Poppy's Time Out Sports Bar & Grill
Ranked #373 of 1,955 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Poppy's Time Out is a fun sports bar located on the banks of the Mississippi River. Watch the game while watching the ships pass on the River.We offer Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner. We have so many T.V.'s & draft beer choices. We offer: Hamburgers, Pizza, Po-boys, Wings, Killer Sandwiches & stuff for the Little Leaguer's(Kids). Our signature drink is the Poppy's Voodoo Juice; it is SO strong it will cast a spell on you.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
“Sunday Afternoon”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Great place with live music. Perfect spot to cool on a beautiful day like today. Friendly staff. And the music is great!!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank rmmiller504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    158
    96
    43
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst food I've ever had in NOLA”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Fries tastes liked they were reheated from 2 days ago. Burger had no flavor and bun was stale and plain. Bloody Mary was pretty good but I'm pretty sure there was zero alcohol in it and for $12 in the French Qtr I would've expected to at least have a tiny bit of a kick in the drink. Husband's hot wings were so bad he couldn't eat them.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindi_B_8716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Poor Service, decent meal”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We ate there for lunch on a weekday. There were about four other tables of diners, so it was not very busy. Our beverage service was fine but it took forever for her to come back and take our food order. The food came out soon enough and was of good quality. She served us quickly but never came back. One of our party had to get up and ask for more water. She brought the pitcher over and left it! She didn't even pour it. We finally got our check and understood her attitude. There is an 18% gratuity added to ALL tickets. Never again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bloody Mary Capital of NOLA”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Poppy's Time Out Sports bar & grill has Fabulous bartender advise! Have a Cajun Bloody Mary. Best I ever had!! Appetizers look great too.

Helpful?
Thank Anna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You HAVE time for Poppy's”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

The BEST bar on the river! Go see Ada at the bar, thank me later. Great selection of Abita beers, and frozen cocktails. A NOLA must do!

Helpful?
Thank Karson L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poppy's Time Out Sports Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Poppy's Time Out Sports Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing