We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“We were treated like royalty. Every detail in this place is carefully thought out.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monrose Row

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monrose Row
Ranked #35 of 139 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We were treated like royalty. Every detail in this place is carefully thought out.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

My two sisters, my mother, and I recently spent three nights at Monrose Row, with Cindy as our gracious hostess. Cindy has spent years carefully renovating this beautiful row house. It now has gorgeous art, beautiful linens, high class furnishings, a lovely outdoor space, and endless thoughtful, classy details. The rooms we had were spacious (huge ceilings!) and unique. The bathrooms had a myriad of amenities and there were always new bottles of water for day trips. The breakfasts were superb - fruit salad with kiwi and fresh pineapple, fresh waffles with strawberries, a bowl of dates, homemade muffins, kale quiche... One morning, we sat (just the four of us) for about three hours in her beautiful dining room while Cindy managed to give us privacy and yet still notice when we needed more coffee or a question answered. On the last morning, when we had to leave early to catch a plane, she packed a bag breakfast for us to eat later.
Cindy also spent a considerable amount of time pouring over maps with us and giving suggestions on what to do, calling a venue for information, and answering our endless questions. She knows the city well. I have already recommended Monrose Row to others and will continue to do so.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with someone who is shaky on her feet (like my 80-year-old mother), talk to Cin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
66
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

What a great place to stay in NOLA. The rooms are fabulous, we stayed on the third floor with our own porch on both sides of the house, listened to the sounds of music from the neighborhood, could faintly hear it on occasion. Magical place, the bed, pillows and the linens were exquisite some of the best I've stayed on, slept great. The rooms were spacious and well appointed with art and just classy eclectic furniture. Cindy was a great source of information for everything, she is one of the nicest hosts I've ever encountered. Walking distance to anything in the French Quarter and more. Breakfast was excellent I have a dietary issue and Cindy was very careful about that. We stayed for four nights and wished we could have extended our stay, we will be going back next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at the Monrose Row, May 2012. Pure joy! A home far from home. Received a warm welcome from Cindy (who also cooked a absolutely delicious breakfast everyday and gave us every information we needed about the city). Privacy was not an issue. The room was pretty spacious, super comfortable and, as the rest of the building, exceptionally well decorated. Location is great, walking distance to the French Quarter Would definetely go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiviVini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, florida
Level Contributor
172 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed here for MardiGras and were very pleased with our third floor room. You need to know that it is 42ish steps to this room. Absolutely within walking distance to several area attractions and an inexpensive cab ride to others

Breakfasts were very yummy and do end at 9:30 sharp. I would have liked to see a bit more meat type protein on the menu and not exclusively yogurt etc. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimC40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed in Room 3 in March for five nights and then returned to the same room in May (it felt like coming home) for six nights - the latter for a family wedding, and our experience both times was wonderful. Cindy is a great host, welcomed family who dropped by, accommodated our changing plans, and told us about little gems such as the tiny Backstreet Cultural Museum - don't miss it. The B&B is beautiful, the suite comfortable and attractive, and the breakfasts were special every day - the fruit parfait was a particular treat. The location is an easy walk to the French Quarter and as long as you aren't wandering the streets late at night - something we wouldn't suggest anywhere in New Orleans - the neighborhood is quiet and friendly. The garden area we walked through to get to our room is beautiful - small and tasteful. You won't forget you're in New Orleans - a very special place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catscript
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Monrose Row for four nights as part of a road trip discovering the Mississippi. Everything that has been said in previous reviews of the B & B is true, but they do not really reflect the true ambience of the place. Cindy is a fantastic host, she is very knowledgeable about the city and every morning after a delicious breakfast she would ask if we needed any help with our plans for the day, suggesting places of interest and restaurants to try. The house is a real gem and our suite was lovely and immaculately clean. The Terme neighbourhood is friendly and full of interesting characters, we were comfortable walking around both in the daytime and evening. If we are ever back in New Orleans we would definitely stay at Monrose Row and would recommend it to anyone who is considering travelling to New Orleans

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Wonderful value B&B close enough to the quarter for the "quarter feel" but far enough away for true piece and quiet. Cindy is wonderful and very helpful. Breakfasts are wonderful, rooms are clean. This place is best for couples wanting to be able to spend some time relaxing. Nothing over the top as far as amenities, but one of the best values and finds in New Orleans. I will return every time I go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Treme
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
#14 of 139 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 139 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
Degas House
Degas House
#64 of 139 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#32 of 139 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Barracks Guest House
Royal Barracks Guest House
#33 of 139 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monrose Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monrose Row

Property: Monrose Row
Address: 1303 Governor Nicholls St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This meticulously restored 180 year old townhouse with a most charming lush courtyard offers four spacious two room suites with private baths. Situated in historic Faubourg Tremé, two blocks from the French Quarter and the new Rampart streetcar line, as well as an enjoyable ten minute walk to lively Frenchmen Street. Decorated with simple elegance, the house is furnished with beautiful antiques and eclectic artwork. Room rates include a full breakfast, concierge service, and daily housekeeping. Each suite has all of the amenities necessary for a comfortable and convenient stay. Whatever your plans, you will find that Monrose Row provides a peaceful and private refuge in the heart of downtown. ... Read less ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing