We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best place we've ever stayed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monrose Row

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monrose Row
Save
You added Monrose Row to your Saves list
Ranked #38 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place we've ever stayed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Monrose Row is located on a beautiful tree lined street, just a minutes walk away from the hustle of the French Quarter. The interior is immaculately designed, perfectly clean and super comfortable. Cindy is a brilliant, helpful and charming host. I can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmawiseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
64
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a wonderful suite in an historic home with a delightful B&B owner. The rooms were large, comfortable, modern - with an atmosphere of colonial New Orleans. This B&B is not in the French Quarter (about 15 minute walk from the interesting part of the French Quarter), but it is peaceful. Our cab driver had some trouble finding it since there is no sign....so be patient.

Room Tip: We had the top floor and were just delighted with our suite. We even ate dinner there on night to av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth_of_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I spent four nights at Monrose Row and plan to stay there again next time we are in New Orleans. Cindy is a great host - makes a delicious breakfast, provides excellent recommendations, and has a beautiful, well-maintained home. We would recommend Monrose Row to anyone looking for a comfortable, affordable, and sweet place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noelle_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Monrose Row is a quiet, super super clean, stylish B&B. The Treme neighborhood is just outside of the French Quarter, and it has more permanent residents than it does tourists. Pretty cool.

We stayed at Monrose Row two nights as part of a cross-country road trip. Cindy, the innkeeper, directed us towards the most amazing restaurants and was generous with advice about where to go for good music and nightlife. I have to admit our room was so nice, we were tempted to just stay in!

We had Room #4, which is on the top floor. Plenty of space, skylights, nice bathroom, separate living room area, huge closet.

The food was the best. The two breakfasts we had there were completely different, both being a great balance of fresh, healthy and indulgent options. My favorite was the gluten free muffins, and Cindy gave us a couple for the road. She was even kind enough to send me the recipe!

This is really the best way to experience New Orleans.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just spent five nights at Monrose Row. As all of the other reviews have stated, CIndy is the quintessential hostess. Nothing has been overlooked. We stayed in Room #3 as a king- very comfortable. Breakfasts were ample and delicious. Take Cindy's advice for restaurants and sightseeing and you'll never go wrong.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilyhar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Cindy, the Innkeeper of Monrose Row is a long-term resident of New Orleans who has cultivated an excellent bed and breakfast experience. The bed and breakfast offers spacious accommodations that are quiet, clean and beautifully decorated. Because of Cindy's keen eye for detail, she has cleverly combined two row houses into one spacious property which isn't obvious until she shares the story of the inn to satisfy the curiosity of her guests. Her attention to detail and thoughtful help proves she cares about her guests and is willing to accommodate your schedule to make your stay in New Orleans a memorable one. Monrose Row's accessibility to the French Quarter enables you to be close enough to exploit New Orleans' walkable ambiance but enables you to get away from it all to recharge your batteries. Cindy is very willing to accommodate your dietary requirements and obliged me with a low-carb breakfast the first morning. As everyone who has visited New Orleans knows is gastronomic heaven and I dispensed with diet to indulge in Cindy's delicious fresh fruit salad and gluten-free muffins along with the other fare in New Orleans which is simply heaven for the palate. I highly recommend the Monrose Row.

Room Tip: Book your stay well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tampabaybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We selected Monrose Row after a friend passed on information from people who had stayed. My wife, daughter and I loved every minute of our stay with Cindy and our time in New Orleans. My wife and I had been travelling for 7 weeks in the USA and were really looking forward to returning to Australia but our time with Cindy and in New Orleans was like a holiday within a holiday.

From our moment of arrival (earlier than expected), Cindy made us feel welcome and provided space for us to leave our luggage while our room was prepared. Cindy's advice about what to go and see and where to eat in the adjacent French Quarter was spot on and we enjoyed a beautiful creole lunch at Olivier's Restaurant. Parking our car either in front of Monrose or in the adjacent side street was not a problem. On our return Cindy very kindly addded her muscles to our task of getting our numerous pieces of luggage up the stairs to our attic suite.
Accommodation in the attic was beautiful, spotless, quiet and very comforatble beds. The DVD player attached to the television didn't appear to be working and Cindy had it promptly replaced the next day. The PBS DVD on New Orleans that Cindy has in the room is really worth watching.

We were the only visitors staying at Monrose for our time there and as a result had Cindy's wonderful friendly, welcoming hospitality to ourselves. Cindy's breakfast spread which changed each day was the perfect way to start our long days out and about in this beautiful city.

The walk from Monrose to the French Quarter, downtown or to the St Louis #1 Cemetery was a trip though history and at no stage, day or evening did we feel at all unsafe as we walked.

Access from Monrose to main roads out of the city to visit plantations etc and to reach the airport is very convenient.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Papa_Panda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Treme
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
#14 of 140 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast
#34 of 140 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 140 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 140 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
Hotel Storyville
#22 of 140 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monrose Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monrose Row

Property: Monrose Row
Address: 1303 Governor Nicholls St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2323
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing