We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than you expect (but a bit of a walk)”
Review of Monrose Row

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monrose Row
Ranked #36 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Much more than you expect (but a bit of a walk)”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a wonderful suite in an historic home with a delightful B&B owner. The rooms were large, comfortable, modern - with an atmosphere of colonial New Orleans. This B&B is not in the French Quarter (about 15 minute walk from the interesting part of the French Quarter), but it is peaceful. Our cab driver had some trouble finding it since there is no sign....so be patient.

Room Tip: We had the top floor and were just delighted with our suite. We even ate dinner there on night to av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth_of_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
69
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I spent four nights at Monrose Row and plan to stay there again next time we are in New Orleans. Cindy is a great host - makes a delicious breakfast, provides excellent recommendations, and has a beautiful, well-maintained home. We would recommend Monrose Row to anyone looking for a comfortable, affordable, and sweet place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noelle_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Monrose Row is a quiet, super super clean, stylish B&B. The Treme neighborhood is just outside of the French Quarter, and it has more permanent residents than it does tourists. Pretty cool.

We stayed at Monrose Row two nights as part of a cross-country road trip. Cindy, the innkeeper, directed us towards the most amazing restaurants and was generous with advice about where to go for good music and nightlife. I have to admit our room was so nice, we were tempted to just stay in!

We had Room #4, which is on the top floor. Plenty of space, skylights, nice bathroom, separate living room area, huge closet.

The food was the best. The two breakfasts we had there were completely different, both being a great balance of fresh, healthy and indulgent options. My favorite was the gluten free muffins, and Cindy gave us a couple for the road. She was even kind enough to send me the recipe!

This is really the best way to experience New Orleans.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just spent five nights at Monrose Row. As all of the other reviews have stated, CIndy is the quintessential hostess. Nothing has been overlooked. We stayed in Room #3 as a king- very comfortable. Breakfasts were ample and delicious. Take Cindy's advice for restaurants and sightseeing and you'll never go wrong.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilyhar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Cindy, the Innkeeper of Monrose Row is a long-term resident of New Orleans who has cultivated an excellent bed and breakfast experience. The bed and breakfast offers spacious accommodations that are quiet, clean and beautifully decorated. Because of Cindy's keen eye for detail, she has cleverly combined two row houses into one spacious property which isn't obvious until she shares the story of the inn to satisfy the curiosity of her guests. Her attention to detail and thoughtful help proves she cares about her guests and is willing to accommodate your schedule to make your stay in New Orleans a memorable one. Monrose Row's accessibility to the French Quarter enables you to be close enough to exploit New Orleans' walkable ambiance but enables you to get away from it all to recharge your batteries. Cindy is very willing to accommodate your dietary requirements and obliged me with a low-carb breakfast the first morning. As everyone who has visited New Orleans knows is gastronomic heaven and I dispensed with diet to indulge in Cindy's delicious fresh fruit salad and gluten-free muffins along with the other fare in New Orleans which is simply heaven for the palate. I highly recommend the Monrose Row.

Room Tip: Book your stay well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tampabaybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We selected Monrose Row after a friend passed on information from people who had stayed. My wife, daughter and I loved every minute of our stay with Cindy and our time in New Orleans. My wife and I had been travelling for 7 weeks in the USA and were really looking forward to returning to Australia but our time with Cindy and in New Orleans was like a holiday within a holiday.

From our moment of arrival (earlier than expected), Cindy made us feel welcome and provided space for us to leave our luggage while our room was prepared. Cindy's advice about what to go and see and where to eat in the adjacent French Quarter was spot on and we enjoyed a beautiful creole lunch at Olivier's Restaurant. Parking our car either in front of Monrose or in the adjacent side street was not a problem. On our return Cindy very kindly addded her muscles to our task of getting our numerous pieces of luggage up the stairs to our attic suite.
Accommodation in the attic was beautiful, spotless, quiet and very comforatble beds. The DVD player attached to the television didn't appear to be working and Cindy had it promptly replaced the next day. The PBS DVD on New Orleans that Cindy has in the room is really worth watching.

We were the only visitors staying at Monrose for our time there and as a result had Cindy's wonderful friendly, welcoming hospitality to ourselves. Cindy's breakfast spread which changed each day was the perfect way to start our long days out and about in this beautiful city.

The walk from Monrose to the French Quarter, downtown or to the St Louis #1 Cemetery was a trip though history and at no stage, day or evening did we feel at all unsafe as we walked.

Access from Monrose to main roads out of the city to visit plantations etc and to reach the airport is very convenient.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Papa_Panda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

My adult daughter and I travelled to New Orleans as part of a trip across the states. New Orleans was the place we were most excited about visiting and we were not disappointed.

Cindy's home (which quickly becomes your home for the duration of your visit) is warm, welcoming and beautifully appointed. Cindy is a wonderful host, although she feels more like a good friend. She has great advice on where to go, what to see and how best to spend any free time you might have left! Her breakfasts are incredible. She is a gem.

We knew we were staying just off Rampart in Treme and actually chose Monrose Row for that reason - we wanted to immerse ourselves in the everyday heart and life of this gorgeous city and did not want to be downtown or in the Quarter. We wanted distance from the tourist areas but to be close to the music and food. We never felt unsafe, not for a minute. My daughter and I walked everywhere, well into the night. I quickly learnt that "Y'all stay safe now" is not a warning of imminent danger. It's a way of saying "have a great time". Likewise "How y'all doin'" does not require a detailed answer, just a smile and a "How you doin'" in response.

While we were there we visited many places but two that are very close to Monrose Row are the Backstreets Cultural Museum and St Augustines Church. We attended a service on Sunday morning which was wonderful and also visited the museum to learn more about the Mardi Gras Indian and social club traditions. Both these are less than two blocks from Monrose Row. We also caught a second line as it went down the street straight past the house. You won't get that at the big downtown hotels!

I loved New Orleans and I think Monrose Row was partly responsible for that love affair. Cindy loves her city and loves sharing it with others. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. We stayed for a week and wished we had stayed longer.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#109 of 162 in New Orleans
125 reviews
Treme
Degas House
Degas House
#53 of 138 in New Orleans
146 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 138 in New Orleans
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
#19 of 138 in New Orleans
499 reviews
Rathbone Mansions
#49 of 138 in New Orleans
355 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 138 in New Orleans
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monrose Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monrose Row

Property: Monrose Row
Address: 1303 Governor Nicholls St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This meticulously restored 180 year old townhouse with a most charming lush courtyard offers four spacious two room suites with private baths. Situated in historic Faubourg Tremé, two blocks from the French Quarter and the new Rampart streetcar line, as well as an enjoyable ten minute walk to lively Frenchmen Street. Decorated with simple elegance, the house is furnished with beautiful antiques and eclectic artwork. Room rates include a full breakfast, concierge service, and daily housekeeping. Each suite has all of the amenities necessary for a comfortable and convenient stay. Whatever your plans, you will find that Monrose Row provides a peaceful and private refuge in the heart of downtown. ... Read less ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing