We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Orleans”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Monrose Row

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monrose Row
Ranked #35 of 137 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Kildare
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Orleans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Wonderful accomodation for an assault on New Orleans. location is perfect just a 2-3 min walk to the french quarter - accom was perfect and the Cindy was very helpful who can def cook and keeps a gorgeous home! Would def recommend to anyone going to New Orleans. The perfect haven from the New Orleans madness!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joeyjoejoe1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
68
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Monrose Row for a few days this past May, and we had such a good time that I can't stop raving about it to friends. Everything about this B&B is superlative, from the beautiful decor, to the spacious rooms, to the delicious breakfasts prepared by the friendly and informative owner, Cindy. Her attention to detail is mind-blowing--the place was spotless, and she has a rare eye for design. We also got some great tips from her about restaurants to try and events going on in the city. I would go back there in a heartbeat--heck, I'd live there, if I could. In short, this place is not to be missed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Monrose Row. It's a beautiful place! I'm not into antiques, I'm more a modern design lover but the decoration is very tasteful, so very unlike many other B&B's with tacky overloaded deco. Cindy was very helpful in giving directions, she made us feel welcome and served a nice healthy breakfast.

Like a previous reviewer mentioned, the area is not high scale. But we had the impression that the whole city is like that, in desperate need of some renovation. Nevertheless, we never had any problems. People in the street are friendly, saying "how y'all doin' " in that nice southern accent without any bad intentions. We walked back to the B&B from the French Quarter late at night and never felt unsafe.

Only one thing that bothered us: the bed. It was a full size bed, but it felt like a big one person bed (we are used to a king size at home). It would have been a perfect stay if the bed was bigger.

That said, if we ever go back to Nola.. we'll definitely stay at Monrose row again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsie_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Cindy was amazing and we sincerely hope she won't be offended that we gave 4 stars, not 5 as everyone else has done. We definitely do recommend the Monrose Row House B & B. There was nothing to complain about; it was truly wonderful. But we try to be as honest and insightful as possible or reviews don't help others. From reading the other reviews, we knew that this home is located in a "down scale" area 2 blocks from the outskirts of the French Quarter. This has it's pluses: It's very quiet at night. It's very easy to walk to everything in the French Quarter. But when we first arrived, we were leery. The neighborhood was more rundown than we had anticipated. But we had confidence in our fellow tripadvisor reviewers and parked and checked in. Inside the Monrose Row House is like a different world. Immaculately clean. Beautifully restored. Artfully (is that a word) decorated. We stayed in the two-room suite on the third floor and it was completely comfortable and totally private. Breakfast, prepared by Cindy (this amazing lady does everything here) was a delight. Loved the fresh fruit, almond French toast, and quiche on another day. (I don't even like quiche much but hers was truly yummy.) Also, homemade muffins and more.

So why four stars instead of five. Little nit picky things, I guess. We could not get the TV to work, although Cindy did give us instructions. We really didn't care, we didn't come to watch TV, just wanted the news and weather. Perhaps, showing us rather than telling us how would have helped. In all fairness, we didn't ask her again. I'm sure she'd have been right there to help. Ice was only available when we asked. It would be nice to have it offered and available to us in the kitchen whenever we needed it. No snacks, sodas, or evening wine or appetizers are included. Certainly not a problem at all, but 5 star B & Bs do offer this. We did have plenty of bottled water provided in our room which was appreciated (but again, no ice.) Finally, even if all of these, admittedly, nitpicky details been offered, it' hard to give 5 stars when the surrounding neighborhood was so suspect. It's like this: We live in a highrise in downtown Orlando. There's a neighborhood 7 blocks away that we have absolutely no hesitancy to walk through during to day, but at night it's a different story. Take the adive of us and other reviewers, if you stay at the Monrose Row House you can feel very safe, but if out after dark, be smart and take a taxi.

One word or concern about our third floor room for future visitors. Presently, this room is above a room that is being restored to add another room for visitors. (The other two rooms currently available are in the old slave quarters.) I'm afraid this fourth, to be added room is going to hear the wood floor in the third floor room creaking and groaning above it. We were happy no one was under us during our stay as it made a lot of noise when we walked. Also, the stairwell which services only these two rooms only has beautiful old, probably original, wooden stair steps. They echo like crazy when you walk on them. I don't know how Cindy can keep this from being a nosie issue once there are two rooms on the same stairwell, but maybe she has a plan.

Finally, someone else (thank you) mention that you can get really good fired chicken at the gas station 2 blocks away. (Rampart and Governor Nichols.) We thought, now who would want to get gas station chicken when in New Orleans with all its great restaurants? However, one evening we were so tired and my feet so sore, we simply picked up some of that gas station chicken and took it back to the room. It was delicious and we didn't have to go out again. Call it althernate Plan B. New Orleans is a fantastic place to visit and this was a fantastic place to stay. Monrose Row House gets our endorsement.

This is the longest review we've ever written. We hope it's helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Classic_Creation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Far from the drunkards on Bourbon Street yet only two blocks from the historic French Quarter is the best Bed & Breakfast in New Orleans. The rooms are meticulous, welcoming, warm. We stayed in the room with the full bed; there was an adjacent sitting room which was perfect for my husband to do some work while I relished in our oasis.

The entire space is a designer's and restorer's dream. Cindy has impeccable taste and you can tell that she has put hours of work and thought into every last detail, from fixtures to furniture. Monrose Row is a true B&B -- breakfast was one of the highlights of each day, as Cindy is an amazing cook. Our first morning, she served THE BEST french toast I have ever had, in addition to fresh fruit, organic blueberry syrup, oj, and coffee. On our second morning, it was a delicious quiche, made from scratch.

As a hostess, Cindy is gracious, kind, and knowledgeable. This IS as good as it gets.

Room Tip: The room with the full bed and adjacent sitting room was perfect for our couple getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heidibug8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

Where to begin? Cindy is an amazing hostess! She really cared about our experience both in her B&B and in the city. She's lived and worked in the French Quarter for years, so she knows the city, the history, the musical acts. Everything she suggested was top notch and she was helpful in arranging tours and events for us. Her breakfasts were delicious - even by New Orleans (a foodie city) standards.

Her home is gorgeous. She's spent years renovating the place herself to historical accuracy and the utmost comfort of her guests. Our suite was spacious, with a generous sitting room and beautiful marble shower. The courtyard is beautiful. And the location was perfect - we walked everywhere we went and always felt safe.

Like others, I almost want to keep it for myself. I'd hate for us not to be able to stay there on our next trip to NOLA, which we definitely plan on doing. I know I may be gushing, but I can't say enough about how great Monrose Row is.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Hands-down, Monrose Row B&B is one of the best places I have ever stayed! We've been all over and usually stay at larger hotels, but the charm and hospitality that Monrose Row offers just can't be beat! We booked the attic room for my husband's birthday trip and were very pleased. It was extremely spacious, with an additional living/sitting area, lovely furniture and accents, and amenities. Cindy is a wonderful host, serving delicious breakfasts, recommending restaurants and tours, and offering friendly conversation. The location in The Treme was also great, just far enough from the noise of the French Quarter, but just a short walk to anywhere. We will most definitely be back!

Room Tip: Take the attic room, you will not be disappointed! 1400 square feet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missamiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Treme
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
#16 of 137 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Treme
Degas House
Degas House
#61 of 137 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast
#38 of 137 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rathbone Mansions
#48 of 137 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 137 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#34 of 137 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monrose Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monrose Row

Property: Monrose Row
Address: 1303 Governor Nicholls St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This meticulously restored 180 year old townhouse with a most charming lush courtyard offers four spacious two room suites with private baths. Situated in historic Faubourg Tremé, two blocks from the French Quarter and the new Rampart streetcar line, as well as an enjoyable ten minute walk to lively Frenchmen Street. Decorated with simple elegance, the house is furnished with beautiful antiques and eclectic artwork. Room rates include a full breakfast, concierge service, and daily housekeeping. Each suite has all of the amenities necessary for a comfortable and convenient stay. Whatever your plans, you will find that Monrose Row provides a peaceful and private refuge in the heart of downtown. ... Read less ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing