We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monrose Row
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
$179
$153
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$178
$126
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$238
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$138
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$249
$189
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$111
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$144
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$296
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$117
$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveler rating
127
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
127
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade granolatreme neighborhoodevery morningtwo blocksfrench quarterhouse is beautifulnever felt unsafethe inn keeperwealth of informationquiet neighborhoodrampart streetwonderful hospitalitywalked everywherebed and breakfastbreakfast was deliciousan easy walkour room was spacious
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 131 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Monrose Row. It's a beautiful place! I'm not into antiques, I'm more a modern design lover but the decoration is very tasteful, so very unlike many other B&B's with tacky overloaded deco. Cindy was very helpful in giving directions, she made us feel welcome and served a nice healthy breakfast.

Like a previous reviewer mentioned, the area is not high scale. But we had the impression that the whole city is like that, in desperate need of some renovation. Nevertheless, we never had any problems. People in the street are friendly, saying "how y'all doin' " in that nice southern accent without any bad intentions. We walked back to the B&B from the French Quarter late at night and never felt unsafe.

Only one thing that bothered us: the bed. It was a full size bed, but it felt like a big one person bed (we are used to a king size at home). It would have been a perfect stay if the bed was bigger.

That said, if we ever go back to Nola.. we'll definitely stay at Monrose row again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsie_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Cindy was amazing and we sincerely hope she won't be offended that we gave 4 stars, not 5 as everyone else has done. We definitely do recommend the Monrose Row House B & B. There was nothing to complain about; it was truly wonderful. But we try to be as honest and insightful as possible or reviews don't help others. From reading the other reviews, we knew that this home is located in a "down scale" area 2 blocks from the outskirts of the French Quarter. This has it's pluses: It's very quiet at night. It's very easy to walk to everything in the French Quarter. But when we first arrived, we were leery. The neighborhood was more rundown than we had anticipated. But we had confidence in our fellow tripadvisor reviewers and parked and checked in. Inside the Monrose Row House is like a different world. Immaculately clean. Beautifully restored. Artfully (is that a word) decorated. We stayed in the two-room suite on the third floor and it was completely comfortable and totally private. Breakfast, prepared by Cindy (this amazing lady does everything here) was a delight. Loved the fresh fruit, almond French toast, and quiche on another day. (I don't even like quiche much but hers was truly yummy.) Also, homemade muffins and more.

So why four stars instead of five. Little nit picky things, I guess. We could not get the TV to work, although Cindy did give us instructions. We really didn't care, we didn't come to watch TV, just wanted the news and weather. Perhaps, showing us rather than telling us how would have helped. In all fairness, we didn't ask her again. I'm sure she'd have been right there to help. Ice was only available when we asked. It would be nice to have it offered and available to us in the kitchen whenever we needed it. No snacks, sodas, or evening wine or appetizers are included. Certainly not a problem at all, but 5 star B & Bs do offer this. We did have plenty of bottled water provided in our room which was appreciated (but again, no ice.) Finally, even if all of these, admittedly, nitpicky details been offered, it' hard to give 5 stars when the surrounding neighborhood was so suspect. It's like this: We live in a highrise in downtown Orlando. There's a neighborhood 7 blocks away that we have absolutely no hesitancy to walk through during to day, but at night it's a different story. Take the adive of us and other reviewers, if you stay at the Monrose Row House you can feel very safe, but if out after dark, be smart and take a taxi.

One word or concern about our third floor room for future visitors. Presently, this room is above a room that is being restored to add another room for visitors. (The other two rooms currently available are in the old slave quarters.) I'm afraid this fourth, to be added room is going to hear the wood floor in the third floor room creaking and groaning above it. We were happy no one was under us during our stay as it made a lot of noise when we walked. Also, the stairwell which services only these two rooms only has beautiful old, probably original, wooden stair steps. They echo like crazy when you walk on them. I don't know how Cindy can keep this from being a nosie issue once there are two rooms on the same stairwell, but maybe she has a plan.

Finally, someone else (thank you) mention that you can get really good fired chicken at the gas station 2 blocks away. (Rampart and Governor Nichols.) We thought, now who would want to get gas station chicken when in New Orleans with all its great restaurants? However, one evening we were so tired and my feet so sore, we simply picked up some of that gas station chicken and took it back to the room. It was delicious and we didn't have to go out again. Call it althernate Plan B. New Orleans is a fantastic place to visit and this was a fantastic place to stay. Monrose Row House gets our endorsement.

This is the longest review we've ever written. We hope it's helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Classic_Creation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Far from the drunkards on Bourbon Street yet only two blocks from the historic French Quarter is the best Bed & Breakfast in New Orleans. The rooms are meticulous, welcoming, warm. We stayed in the room with the full bed; there was an adjacent sitting room which was perfect for my husband to do some work while I relished in our oasis.

The entire space is a designer's and restorer's dream. Cindy has impeccable taste and you can tell that she has put hours of work and thought into every last detail, from fixtures to furniture. Monrose Row is a true B&B -- breakfast was one of the highlights of each day, as Cindy is an amazing cook. Our first morning, she served THE BEST french toast I have ever had, in addition to fresh fruit, organic blueberry syrup, oj, and coffee. On our second morning, it was a delicious quiche, made from scratch.

As a hostess, Cindy is gracious, kind, and knowledgeable. This IS as good as it gets.

Room Tip: The room with the full bed and adjacent sitting room was perfect for our couple getaway.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank heidibug8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Where to begin? Cindy is an amazing hostess! She really cared about our experience both in her B&B and in the city. She's lived and worked in the French Quarter for years, so she knows the city, the history, the musical acts. Everything she suggested was top notch and she was helpful in arranging tours and events for us. Her breakfasts were delicious - even by New Orleans (a foodie city) standards.

Her home is gorgeous. She's spent years renovating the place herself to historical accuracy and the utmost comfort of her guests. Our suite was spacious, with a generous sitting room and beautiful marble shower. The courtyard is beautiful. And the location was perfect - we walked everywhere we went and always felt safe.

Like others, I almost want to keep it for myself. I'd hate for us not to be able to stay there on our next trip to NOLA, which we definitely plan on doing. I know I may be gushing, but I can't say enough about how great Monrose Row is.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Hands-down, Monrose Row B&B is one of the best places I have ever stayed! We've been all over and usually stay at larger hotels, but the charm and hospitality that Monrose Row offers just can't be beat! We booked the attic room for my husband's birthday trip and were very pleased. It was extremely spacious, with an additional living/sitting area, lovely furniture and accents, and amenities. Cindy is a wonderful host, serving delicious breakfasts, recommending restaurants and tours, and offering friendly conversation. The location in The Treme was also great, just far enough from the noise of the French Quarter, but just a short walk to anywhere. We will most definitely be back!

Room Tip: Take the attic room, you will not be disappointed! 1400 square feet!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank missamiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews