We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Cafe at the Square

Cafe at the Square
Ranked #233 of 1,939 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at the Blake hotel and tried this place twice. We loved it both times.

We had tried the Andouille Sausage Benedict with the Andouille Sausage, Poached Eggs, Crawfish & Hollandaise, English Muffin. This was excellent,for it is Benedict with a New Orleans twist to it. This part of their weekend brunch menu.

We tried the lunch menu and had the Grilled Ham Sandwich which has
Ham, Balsamic Caramelized Onions, Apples, Blue Cheese on Sourdough. Was not sure about combination, but it was so good. The service was good and fast. They do have a lot of daily specials.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wkelly67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    103
    22
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anniston, Alabama
Level Contributor
159 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast, if you don't judge it on the service”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had an excellent egg sandwich, the eggs were perfectly cooked with fresh spinach and cheese on delicious bread. The server didn't do anything other than take the order and bring the drink, thankfully there were no issues as I don't know how we could have expressed that b/c the server was MIA for all of the meal. Since the food was so good, I would return but not if I felt I needed to be attended to while dining.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jamie1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good for breakfast and wasn't crowded.”
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

I got the breakfast bowl- great. It had everything I needed after a Saturday night in New Orleans. The service- blah. Don't except too much and you won't be disappointed. Signal if you need water. Haha.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nadieckow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappell, Nebraska
Level Contributor
119 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Cafe at the Square”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Good place for breakfast and since it was located inside our hotel, the location was very convenient.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast stop!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

It's a small cafe at the Blake Hotel that serves excellent fluffy waffles and brioche French toast, endless coffee refills and kid-friendly atmosphere with paper as table cloths for the little ones to draw on. The service is friendly, our food came out quickly, and I never had to ask for a refill. Stop by for brunch of you're in the neighborhood!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LV4NMLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe at the Square also viewed

 
 

Been to Cafe at the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing