We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cooking school worth visiting”
Review of New Orleans Cooking Experience - CLOSED

New Orleans Cooking Experience
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A Creole cooking school located in the Southern Food & Beverage Museum demonstration kitchen and staffed by some of the most acclaimed local chefs (Frank Brigtsen and Gerard Maras among them). Classes are intimate, fun. Guests are seated at the kitchen island for a front row seat. Classes limited to 10 guests for the most intimate of experiences. Wine and beer served for the duration. Three or four course seated meal served following the class.
Edmonton, AB
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cooking school worth visiting”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We booked two sessions at the New Orleans Cooking Experience with Boo Macomber and where not disappointed. Boo is a cook, not a chef, and she cooks with her heart. You quickly forget that this is a school and just enjoy the joy of cooking with her and hearing her stories about life and about cooking. She has such incredible experiences that she brings to her food. You learn how to make a good roux, base of much of creole cooking; if you can make a good roux, you can cook anything!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank black_cat_edmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    3
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We are an Australian couple on our honeymoon and love food and cooking. We heard so much about the wonderful food in New Orleans that we wanted to take some skills back home with us. I am so glad we choose the New Orleans Cooking Experience - it was such a fun night. Frank Brigtsen was our chef and he was wonderful. We learnt so much, had heaps of fun in the process and then get to enjoy a delicous meal afterward in a beautfiul house with lots of wine served. We had a small group of only 6 and after the class you sit down and enjoy the meal together. The whole experience is so enjoyable and the structure of the cooking experience is so wonderfully thought out and organised. It was a real highlight of our trip. If you are not sure about it - do it! You wont regret it!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kattej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So much fun, so much learned”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Sat Morning, 1030am, sipping an ice cold beer and hearing about the history of the BBQ Shrimp im about to cook. Our Chef was wonderful, friendly, responsive to questions. The cookign was done in a jovial manner, lots of joking...and the end result was a long boozy lunch in a beautiful house. Highly Recommended!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PedroCameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Best of the best - Chef Frank Brigtsen”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is, by far, the best birthday present my husband ever gave me. As a "chef groupie" and in particular a HUGE fan of Chef Brigtsen, treating me to a lesson by Frank was divinely fun and delicious. Gumbo (1 hour to make the roux alone!), Trout Meuniere, banana bread pudding... and he comes to join you after the end of the meal to talk. Chef Brigtsen is humble, funny, giving, smart, witty, and cheerful, all rolled into one perfect teacher. Great chance to meet and talk to others as well. $150 per person, so not cheap, but what a place for a great get together and a special meal to boot.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank NolaGal_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A cooking lesson and five star dining”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

When on vacation, I always try to take a cooking class. You can learn so much about the history of a city by the influences in their cooking. The New Orleans Cooking Experience delivered on the experience. Gerard Maras was our chef. He has worked at Commanders and Mr. B's Bistro. the quality of his work is exceptional. In addition to showing us all of the steps in preparing the food, we received a copy of the recipes and as much wine as you like. Gerard was friendly, on top of his game and invited questions. This made for a great experience. After the preparation was complete, we were treated to a dinner you would expect to find in a 5 star restaurant. I enjoyed the experience and thought it was well-worth the money.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Executive_in_Jeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Orleans Cooking Experience also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing