We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food in a small, charming old house”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Boucherie

Boucherie
Reserve with OpenTable
Boucherie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #153 of 1,933 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Uptown / Carrollton
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
484 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Great food in a small, charming old house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Things to know about Boucherie:
1) Setting: Small, historic home. Lovely, but tight quarters and few tables.
2) Parking: Neighborhood street parking only....we only had to park a couple of blocks away.
3) Reservations: A must. This is a small place and we saw almost everyone that did not have a reservation turned away or suffer a long wait on the side walk.
4) Food: Fabulous. Second best meal we had in New Orleans (order of satisfaction: 1) Commanders Palace; 2) Boucherie; 3) Upperline; 4) Jacques Imo's). We had the duck breast and Wagyu beef....both were outstanding, as was the crispy duck starter and the strawberry shortcake dessert.
5) Service: Prompt, friendly, knowledgable.

Will definitely return on our next trip to New Orleans.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rustycat83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    93
    26
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Get out of the French Quarter and eat here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We had a "Oh my God that's good" meal here. Great cocktails. Creative starters. Delish entrées. Even the service was personable and caring.
Take the Saint Charles Streetcar to up town and enjoy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tami M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Small and Intimate--Reservations recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Located in an older home that has been renovated, it is small and charming. The wait staff are very attentive and friendly. The wine and beer recommendations were great and the food was delicious. Didn't have reservations so sat outside--which was fine, the street is residential and very quiet. Parking was a challenge.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MerileeMindee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“47 seats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

This tiny restaurant situated in a small house on Jeannette Street in the Garden District of New Orleans is a gem and has a high Zagat rating. Street parking only, carefully to avoid the streetcar tracks. Let me say that the HIGHLIGHT was the dessert: Thai Chili Chocolate Chess Pie (warm with a dollop of whipped cream) topped off a delightful lunch. And delightful it was. One of their strengths is the small plate menu which allows you to save your appetite for an indulgent New Orleans dinner later at Commanders Palace, GW Funs or other landmark gourmet spots.

I enjoyed the blackened shrimp & grit cake with warm house cured bacon vinaigrette small plate. The shrimp was innovative and delicious; however, in my opinion they didn't need to blacken the grit cake to the point that it tasted like burnt toast. Clam fritters as a special appetizer was spot on. My wife had the 12 hour roast beef Po'boy with pickled red onions & horseradish cream - generous in size and unique taste. Our companion opted for the beef Pho with lemongrass pork, Hamachi fish cake, rice noodles, aromatics & pickled bean sprouts. A veteran of Asian travel, he wasn't disappointed. The menu also featured duck, BBQ shrimp, applewood smoked scallops, boudin balls and other New Orleans favorites. Chef Nathanial Zimet hits a home run and I would rank Boucherie in my top five in the city.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timmy232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Maryland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

It's small, it's charming; the wait staff is young and friendly, the chef is creative.... In this food city, it's a place I always want to go back to.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boucherie also viewed

 

Been to Boucherie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing