We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Immerse yourself in a neighborhood, and in music!”
other travelers have booked this property
Living room, ample space for an additional air bed plus we now also have added a daybed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room, ample space for an additional air bed plus we now also have added a daybed
Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Living room, ample space for an additional air bed plus we now also have added a daybed
Living room
Queen Sleigh Bed
Bedroom
Kitchen is fully equipped with everything you need to make a wonderful meal.
Kitchen window opens up to the balcony.
You can soak up the many sights and sounds sitting on the balcony.  Great for people watching!
Bathroom stocked with towels.
This is a 2nd floor apartment with stairs straight up from the street.
View of the bedroom from the living room
Literally, surrounded by the local music scene.  Snug Harbor, d.b.a. & spotted cat!
Jackson Square, St. Louis Cathedral
The Mississippi River is two blocks away.
Hop on the riverfront streetcar to take you to Canal Street.
Suite 624
Living room
Kitchen has windows opening to the balcony
Entrance to the travertine tiled shower
Bathroom
Entrance, hallway
Jackson Square is approximately 6-8 blocks away.
Kitchen/livingroom windows look out to balcony
St. Louis Cathedral
Living room
Balcony view
Crowds below on Halloween
Queen size sleigh bed
bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
New Orleans, Louisiana

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nancy P
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Immerse yourself in a neighborhood, and in music!”
Reviewed April 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved spending a week on Frenchmen Street, being part of the neighborhood, and the balcony was a big part of our experience. In the morning from the balcony you can watch the street slowly come to life, and in the evening you can sit outside and enjoy music from The Spotted Cat and other clubs while you watch all the people streaming in and out of clubs and the art market across the street. (And you can pretend not to notice when people are taking pictures of the balcony you're on!) The flat itself is beautiful. The rooms are larger than I'd expected and they are bright and airy with the curtains open or cozy (and a bit quieter) with them closed. We enjoyed the comfortable furniture, tasteful decor, lavish towels, and abundant books about New Orleans and its history and culture. We loved being walking distance from the French Quarter but coming "home" to the Marigny. Also, Sylvia is a spectacular hostess. She knows the music scene as well as the points of interest, and she is eager to help you have a great time. She went out of her way to help us on more than one occasion, even finding us a one-night accommodation in the neighborhood when we accidentally showed up a day before our reservation! For us there were only two potential drawbacks. There are 28 steps from the street to the flat, a consideration for seniors like ourselves, but we managed them. And it can be noisy. I actually enjoyed hearing music 12 hours a day, and I didn't mind (or always hear) the garbage and recycling pickup every morning. However, I came to dislike the loud, off-key efforts of an impromptu street band that began showing up periodically and drowning out the much better music from the clubs. New Orleans street musicians are usually talented and awesome, these were not. Still, I'd stay here again in a heartbeat and yes, I already have recommended it to more than one of my friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great balcony, beautiful rooms, wonderful service
Liked least: Loud, not-very-good street musicians
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harley04c...
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another great "girls" Christmas New Orleans Style..!!”
Reviewed March 13, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was my 5th time (I think) to stay at Suite Jazz, just as usual it is the BEST place to stay! Sylvia is always accommodating and delightful to rent from and just seems like a good friend! As much as I had to give others a rease to book Suite Jazz for their vacation, as this would make it harder for us to rent, I must say that I think everyone should take on chance on something you don't know! This is how we started staying in this lovely apt in the middle of the most wonderful neighborhood. I can't wait to get back to a the one place that feels like home, other than my realy home! Thank you, Sylvia for having such an awesome place to take a breath and enjoy the real NOLA!! Connie P.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location....but still a place to hide out and rest!
Liked least: Ummm, nothing!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 26, 2015
Thank you Connie, always a pleasure!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizardMar...
Marquette, MI
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“A wonderful apartment in the Marginy”
Reviewed March 6, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed here many times since 2007. It is a large one bedroom that easily sleeps two couples, provided you know each other well. Has a wonderful NOLA feel to it and is very clean. Nice large living room, bedroom and a small gally kitchen with a balcony on Frenchmen across from The Spotted Cat. One large bathroom, lots of towels and sheets are fine. The owner, Sylvia, who you meet upon arrival is very sweet and knows the area very well. Be aware that this area is busy and can be noisy, but we love it. Snug Harbor and DBA are below and next door--- you literally can hang out in the balcony and listen to all the sounds! Love this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dixiefied
Hammond, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Jazz central, with comfort and taste!”
Reviewed January 21, 2015 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

To be in the middle of jazz heritage, with the most knowledgeable of hosts, and cushy accommodations. What's not to like. .....

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washingotn, DC
Reviewed January 21, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Shari Z
Holliday, TX
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Favorite place to stay in New Orleans”
Reviewed January 18, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

This is my favorite of all the places I've stayed in New Orleans. The apartment is clean, beautiful, and the location is perfect. There are so many great music clubs on the same block as the apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The style of the apartment and the location.
Liked least: Hearing the trash trucks in the morning.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb537
Acton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great apartment, great location, restaurants close and good. Listen to the soothing sounds of jazz as you go off to sleep. Would recommend to friends and family. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, fantastic balcony
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2014
Thanks Deb! See you next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing