We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shrimp were to small”
Review of Royal House

Royal House
Ranked #151 of 1,948 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: Royal House is a French Quarter oyster bar and seafood restaurant with a classic New Orleans atmosphere and menu featuring fresh-air dining and local seafood dishes. From fresh-shucked to charbroiled and Rockefeller to Royale, you’re sure to find your new favorite oyster dish here. While enjoying a dozen at the bar or a cool cocktail on the balcony, you can usually catch a street performance from a jazz musician, an experience unique to New Orleans. Whether you’re a traveler to our great city or a New Orleans native, we’ve got the perfect place for you at our restaurant and oyster bar. We hope to see you soon!
Atmore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“shrimp were to small”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I had the gumbo and was dissapointed at the amount and size of the shrimp. Dont think i will go back here. Waitress was very friendly though

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cathi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHouseGM, General Manager at Royal House, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you Cathi on the feedback. We apologize that the shrimp were too small and we will work on trying to better ourselves. Thank you on the comment on your server. We do hope you try us again, next time you come to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    932
    648
    265
    102
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gadsden, Alabama
Level Contributor
193 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Cool Place to Spend 30 Minutes on a French Quarter afternoon.”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Royal House Oyster Bar September 20. Royal Street, just one block towards the river from Bourbon, this often overlooked kinder cousin is full of charm and ambiance. Royal House is a gem. The oysters are superb and the guy can shuck a dozen quick as a wink. Plop 'em on a cracker and top either with some Crystal or cocktail sauce or both. The bar ambiance, like Tujagues, is fabulous forties. Sit at the bar and you'll get rewarded with the clever mirror design. It's probably 10' tall and leans towards the bar's patrons. You get to watch the shucking and the cross-street walk pedestrians as well as the street walk behind you because the bar is located on a street corner. Classy place and THE coldest beer in town! And yes, the locals abound.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimE782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHouseGM, General Manager at Royal House, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We appreciate all of the great feedback from you, Jim. Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
367 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Where the Locals Dine”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

While standing outside The Royal Oyster Bar looking at the menu, a gentleman offered his opinion saying this is where the locals dine. Located at Royal and St. Louis in the French Quarter this was a wise choice. The oysters were big, delicious and served in a variety of ways. We tried the Beignet Oysters for an appetizer and they were melt in your mouth yummy. Blackened Redfish was recommended and well worth he selection. Everything we tried was excellent. We know why the locals eat there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHouseGM, General Manager at Royal House, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you Robert. We do have a huge local cliental, but we also appreciate all of our new guests that come through. We hope we will become a local spot for you everytime you come to town :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best staff....bar none!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Great fresh food.
The oysters are splendid, but my favourite dish is the Creole shrimp.
The staff are a lot of fun and engaging.
A great experience...and kudos to Chris and his crew!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canadian3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHouseGM, General Manager at Royal House, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks for this feedback. We appreciate your comments and we will be sure to let our staff know you really enjoyed them!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Ate here on a whim after not liking the selection of the rib room across the street. We were pleasantly surprised at the friendly and fast service that we received. The restaurant is very clean and nicely decorated. We ordered a dozen chargrilled oysters, steak, a shrimp po boy, and the pecan crusted mahi mahi. All of the food was excellent and affordably priced. We will definitely return here.

There was an issue with one entree coming out cold, but they quickly took it back and replaced it with a fresh hot one. Excellent place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHouseGM, General Manager at Royal House, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you Rita! We are thrilled you decided to dine with us instead. Thank you for these kind words on our food, service, and restaurant. We do apologize about the entree coming out cold, but we are glad to hear we fixed the issue for you. We hope to see you real soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing