We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Faubourg Marigny

Faubourg Marigny
New Orleans, LA (Faubourg Marigny & Bywater)
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$25*
and up
New Orleans Marigny Neighborhood Tour
Ranked #39 of 315 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A charming historic district of New Orleans dating back to the early 1800s.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I lived there for many years. It is a terrific neighborhood and I enjoyed my time there. I pass through it ever day on my way home or to the quarter

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    101
    16
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,059 reviews
623 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 683 helpful votes
“Colourful buildings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just next to French Quarters. Walk around Marigny and along Esplanade Ave to view some colourful buildings. Met the Dancing Man with his very interesting story about second line dancing. Louis Armstrong Park is nice and serene, sit under tree for a picnic lunch. Next to this is Congo Square with lovely huge trees.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Tweetcoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A Great New Orleans Neighborhood.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We are getting ready to take our 6th trip to New Orleans. We always stay in the Marigny. We love the neighborhood feel, the friendly people, the great places to eat and drink, etc. We don't spend all that much time on Frenchman Street, we hang our mostly on Royal Street, Mandeville, Burgandy and Spain. This is away from the rowdy crowds on Frenchman, but walking distance to it. In the six visits, we have met many of the neighbors who always stop by to talk or have drinks with us on the front porch. Take time to get away from the crowds and see a real NOLA neighborhood, and admire the great variety of architecture.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim&Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Marigny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Best kept secret of New Orleans. New Orleanians know its the place to be. The best music venues can be found here by night, and the home of interesting art festival planted throughout the day. The marigny is the home of quirky neighborhood madness and the infamous Frenchman St., which is the "Bourbon Street" of the locals.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank chelsea m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“beautiful neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

key word... neighborhood.... not much to do here... but plenty to see... and great B&B's to stay in... While you are there, you have to check out Pho King in the Lost Love Lounge, tapas at Mimi's (and that just a great bar all around), and go a few more blocks away from the corner and check out Markey's and The Country Club...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric2483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Faubourg Marigny also viewed

 

Been to Faubourg Marigny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing