We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frenchman St and the Faubourg Marigny” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Faubourg Marigny

Faubourg Marigny
Book In Advance
$25*
and up
New Orleans Marigny Neighborhood Tour
Ranked #39 of 316 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A charming historic district of New Orleans dating back to the early 1800s.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Frenchman St and the Faubourg Marigny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Faubourg Marugny is the neighborhood just adjacent to the French Quarter. Unlike Bourbon St., with its dance clubs and younger crowd drinking too much, Frenchman St is the place to go for music! In a 3-4 block stretch, there are probably a dozen live music venues featuring jazz, rock, blues... Great resturants and bars, in a much safer environment than Bourbon!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank nawlinsjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    101
    16
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, Florida
Level Contributor
161 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Amost a mirror image of the French Quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Marigny, as it is called in New Orleans, is located just across
Esplanade behind the French Quarter. The Marigny is home to many fine restaurants and has truly become a sought after location for entertainment and dining by locals and tourists alike.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Benny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home of Many Music Venues”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Faubourg Marigny is the neighborhood just downriver from the historic French Quarter. It has much of the architectural charm of the French Quarter, but not as commercial. The real estate is a bit more affordable and just as "charming" as the FQ. Frenchman Street is a very popular street for people looking for the "live music" scene. Besides great music venues there are a number of affordable eateries!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
258 reviews
139 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“If you want to hang with the locals - come here...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed in a great bed and breakfast here - the Burgundy - see my review - it is a cramped, amd neighborhood, everything feels on top of everything else - it's a charming clutter of lovely historic homes, bed and breakfasts, little coffee shops, and local bars, with trees uprooting the bits were there are sidewalks - it's parked cars and people walking dogs, and sitting on their stoops watching the world go by, strains of 'as the saints go marching in' emanate from open windows. people are fixing their cars, riding their bikes, and living their lives...you really feel like a local - it abuts Frenchman Street - i felt safe walking around myself at night, but i was aware of my surroundings and made sure that i wasn't going down deserted streets - after dark, i kept to Royal Street and Frenchman and Decatur Streets and i was fine - taxis are so cheap that you can use them if you feel something is not right - United Cabs is the one the locals trust the most!!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Always something happening in the Marigny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Great neighborhood where we spent a few days at an Air bnb, exploring the shops and coffee cafes; easily getting to downtown NOLA walking or biking or by car. It's an urban neighborhood with remnants of Katrina and lots of good people. After hearing jazz at Snug Harbor on a weekend night, we went across Frenchmen Street to a delightful street fair, selling local arts and crafts. Get away from the silliness on Bourbon Street and enjoy a fun evening in the Marigny.

Helpful?
Thank kassie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Faubourg Marigny also viewed

 

Been to Faubourg Marigny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing