We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool neighborhood borders the Quarter” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Faubourg Marigny

Faubourg Marigny
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
New Orleans French Quarter Jogging Tour
Ranked #44 of 339 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A charming historic district of New Orleans dating back to the early 1800s.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Cool neighborhood borders the Quarter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

Just over Esplanade, being renovated neighborhood with cool bars! Walkable to Frenchmen Street which was fun!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank LindaW60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    111
    18
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
219 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Wonderful residential area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Great location. Close to French Qtr. but with an atmosphere unique to itself. Very Gay/Bi/Transgender friendly.

Helpful?
Thank martinibill7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best neighbohood in the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Felt very safe. Walked everywhere, even to French Quarter, which is next neighborhood over. Loved the B&B where we stayed (Pierre Coulon Guest House). Frenchman Street was a treat and loved the food at Schiro's. Will never stay anywhere else when we visit our favorite vacation city.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank NOLAgal2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best neighborhood in the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

Close to the FQ, close to the water, close to Bywater and you can walk to Frenchmen Street. If you want to see Little Freddie King at BJ's lounge, have brunch at Elizabeth's, catch a show at d.b.a. or Snug harbor, everything is close at hand.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerZ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
604 reviews
381 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 692 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood for a stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

We decided to stay in the Marigny for our first ever visit to New Orleans. We wanted a real New Orleans neighborhood and not the rowdy French Quarter. Well, it turned out that away from the western half of Bourbon Street the French Quarter was not all that bad but we were very glad that we stayed in the Marigny anyway. It really is a nice middle class neighborhood with lots of B&Bs. Most of the houses are nice middle class homes with a few grand old 19th century homes and some of the latter are now B&Bs. It also has a number of coffee houses and restaurants plus there is Frenchmen Street with it's places to dine and pubs with music. We had a couple of meals in the Marigny and spent time in two of the pubs on Frenchmen and it turned out that several of them were very popular.
The Marigny is the neighborhood adjacent to the east side of the French Qtr across Esplanade Avenue. Frenchman Street is another couple of blocks into the Marigny and we stayed at two different B&Bs another three and four blocks to the east. Both were very good. We felt very safe there at midnight walking back for the evening. I read in a couple of posts on TA that people wondered if it was safe. One had written that they would never walk east of Elysian Fields Ave which is only one block east of Frenchmen. We felt absolutely safe and considering there are many B&Bs scattered through the neighborhood it must be OK.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank unclelouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Faubourg Marigny also viewed

 

Been to Faubourg Marigny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing