We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool Daddy-o”
Review of The Jazz Playhouse

The Jazz Playhouse
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: It's Playtime. Royal Sonesta New Orleans proudly presents The Jazz Playhouse. The best jazz club in New Orleans showcases the city's greatest Jazz talent and serves your favorite cocktails and appetizers in a luxurious venue on the lobby level of the hotel. Shows begin at 8 p.m.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
164 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 476 helpful votes
“Cool Daddy-o”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Had cocktails and wine at the bar Saturday afternoon. Fun place to watch LSU play (less fun when Florida wound up winning). Barman was funny and attentive.

Came back that evening to hear the Quartet. Very talented musicians, good selection of accessible tunes. At night, it takes on a cool vibe. Trumpet player/frontman is charismatic and funny. Small dance floor accomodates maybe 8-10 couples.

Cocktail waitress was very attentive and friendly. We'll be back in a couple of weeks when we return to NOLA.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Aldo_Nola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    93
    20
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Pleasant jazz venue”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed a pleasant evening of music and drinks but was it ever cold in there. Be sure to bring a wrap. The bar service was friendly and attentive. Although the setting is elegant, you are welcome in casual dress. Don't miss the gorgeous orchid garden on the patio next to the club.

Helpful?
Thank kassie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgway, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“IRVIN”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Irvin Mayfield's club was Awesome!!!! What a talent!! Fun and relaxing.
If you do not go see this act you are missing out on a great act in New Orleans!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GREG J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Alabama
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good night of old time New Orleans jazz”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Loved the lounge at the Royal Sonesta Hotel on Bourbon street where Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse was. I had called and called and called to get reservations and left messages with the answering machine and they never did return my calls. We called the maite DI of the hotel and he allegedly made the reservations for us but he too never returned our calls? Someone needs to get their act together on this. When we got to New Orleans we went to the Playhouse and they made the reservation for us. I had been told Irvin would be there and it was on their website that he would be there also. But, alas he was not. What is up with this Irvin? We drove seven hours to get there! They had a very good jazz band though that played good old New Orleans Jazz and there is no cover, just a one drink minimum and the drinks are good. They had a young (under 18) trumpet player as a guest that night and he was out of sight. Very very good trumpet player. Would go again just to hear him.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jeannie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New orleans
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Burlesque Lives”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Burlesque Ballroom was quite a pleasant surprise. Having seen several of the Burlesque troupes around town, the Burlesque Ballroom was by far the most polished and entertaining. The music backing up the show could have stood on it's own as great entertainment. The performers were creative and I might say, easy on the eyes. The show was professional and moved along a at an upbeat pace. With no cover charge, the drink prices were reasonable and the service was unobtrusive, yet attentive. A great night of entertainment.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pat V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jazz Playhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Jazz Playhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing