We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sweet Potato Pancakes”

The Fountain Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
The Fountain Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #489 of 1,955 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: Common
Transit: One Block off the St. Charles Streetcar line at Carondelet & Canal
Description: Inspired by the history and vibrancy of the legendary bar just steps away, the Sazerac Restaurant brings a unique flavor to The Roosevelt’s legacy of fine dining. Signature creations delight the palate while the warm ambiance offers the perfect setting for any occasion.
Covington, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great Sweet Potato Pancakes”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Very good large portions - not overly sweet served w/ some delicious whipped cream and a variety of syrups. The yogurt/granola parfait was huge and full of fresh fruit. $45 for two for breakfast. Being right there in the hotel lobby made it worth it

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank loozianafoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    66
    27
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Favorite meal in Nawlins”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

As absurd is this might sound, our brunch today at The Fountain Lodge was my favorite meal of our recent trip to New Orleans. The sweet potato pancakes were the best pancakes that I ever had. My wife had a delicious specialty Eggs Benedict dish with crab meat. The Bloody Mary drinks were quite tasty.

The service was typical New Orleans, not too fast, but very friendly. It was a great meal in an excellent hotel.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank RYKan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“After 75 years, back by popular demand”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

First established in 1938, the Fountain then became little more than an extension of the Sazerac Bar. But now it is back in all its atmospheric and gustatory glory. We went there with visiting friends because the Domenica was packed -- 1 1/2 hour wait time -- and had a wonderful evening. The service was great -- relaxed, helpful, friendly and professional. The gin fizzes were fizzy, the music was lovely (though the powerful tenor tended to overpower conversation at times), and the food terrific and quite reasonable. We ended up sharing a bunch of small plates between the four of us, and every one was fabulous -- pork belly, rabbit tenderloin (maybe my favorite), duck flat bread, grilled oysters, arugula salad, and a wonderful crab/mushroom tagliatelle. The waitress delivered the dishes two at a time so we could savour each one. Altogether, it made for an unexpectedly memorable, fun night.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Candonjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Desert and Wine”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I only had desert and wine but it was very good. The entrees I saw looked very good as well. I would eat dinner here if I go back to New Orleans and stay at The Roosevelt.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank DDB0726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent lunch”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

it's a new restaurant for the Roosevelt and it's wonderful on both food and service. We had a business lunch there and they were able accommodate over 15 of us!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Fountain Lounge, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Janice B,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your dining experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are pleased that you received wonderful service the last time you dined with us. We hope that the Fountain Lounge becomes your destination of choice for all of your business meetings.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fountain Lounge also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to The Fountain Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing