We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, cute, easy place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pierre Coulon Guest House
Ranked #57 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique, cute, easy place to stay”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We loved our stay at the Pierre Coulon guesthouse over Mardi Gras 2012. Looking for a place where we could all stay together, this guesthouse provided an excellent value and more of a unique experience than a normal hotel. The rooms are cute, very clean, and the kitchen/living room were thoughtfully stocked. Daily housekeeping (clean towels, trash emptied etc.) was a really nice touch and a reminder that this is more than just a house rental. Breakfast/snacks provided were light (coffee/milk/cereal - the coffee was much appreciated!!) but that's exactly what we wanted, because other breakfast places in the area are amazing... the surrounding neighborhood is adorable and the walk even to the french quarter is pretty short, 20 minutes or so, and we also appreciated the chance to stretch our legs a bit. Frenchman street is even closer. Overall a wonderful location and house to stay in.

Having a leisurely cup of coffee on the beautiful patio, before going out to the parades, was one of my favorite memories of our trip! What a pretty, picturesque place to stay.

The hosts were also very accommodating and a perfect balance of being available whenever we needed something, but not infringing on our privacy at all...the private entrance to the house helps with that... and they were so, so nice, from our email correspondence, booking the house, providing lots of tips/literature for the area, etc.

I would definitely stay here again if we're back in New Orleans. We were a group of friends in our late 20's but I'm imagining returning with my family and enjoying the guesthouse experience again. Wonderful! Thanks Rich and Stephen!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
21
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lodi, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

this is not the place for someone looking for a traditional b&b. that being said, it was fine for what we needed, which was a quiet place to stay and a decent location if you're not looking to patrol the quarter for your whole trip. breakfast is self-serve in the single-room guesthouse. nothing fancy... cereals, breakfast bars, etc. instead walk down the street to the little cake shop for a great breakfast. they've also raised the price over the last couple years, so it's not the great deal it once was.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5252orange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

This is a beautiful place. It's a separate guest house, with it's own entrance so very private. The first floor has a kitchen/dining/living room area and the upstairs two nice sized bedrooms and bathroom. One bedroom has a door. The decor was perfect for this old home, and very comfortable. All amenities you need are here plus. Milk, coffee, breakfast items and all sorts of things you might need for bath are provided.
The courtyard was one of my favorite spot, a little oasis full of greenery and flowers, which was so nice as we'd just come from the brown, cold north.

The French Quarter and the French Market are an easy walk. It's close to the "action" but far enough away for plenty of peace and quiet. Stephen was so very helpful, telling us about parade routes, and places for coffee, etc. Every guidebook you could want was in the rental, plus brochures on many other trips. There was even a 2012 Mardi Gras guide!

This was perfect for our family of four. I would highly recommend staying here if heading to New Orleans. Hope to return to NOLA soon, and hope to stay here again. It's so much nicer than a bland, over-priced hotel room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwestRN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

While staying in Gulf Shores, AL we decided to head over to New Orleans for a night and stayed at the Pierre Coulon Guest House. The location was great, the guest house was very clean, beautiful, and was filled with more amenities than I would ever need. Stephen was extremely helpful with navigating New Orleans, finding great places to eat, and making us feel welcome. Easily one of the best experiences I have had at a bed and breakfast! Thanks again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2012

After staying here for two weeks, my wife and I will never stay anywhere else in New Orleans. It's not a hotel room, it's your own private house. It has a private entrance, living room with small kitchen area and a spacious bedroom upstairs with a firm mattress on the bed and a nice clean bathroom. It's about a 10 min. walk to some of the best clubs and restaurants on Frenchmen St., and one block away from an amazing breakfast spot(Cake bakery cafe). It's also very quiet. The owners, Stephen and Rich, are extremely friendly and helpful and made us feel at home. After walking all over the city we decided our favorite neighborhood was the Marigny. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Nuys, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2011

It was perfect. Separate from the main house with its own entrance, front outdoor patio and French windows. The guest house is a part of history and makes you feel at home. It has 2 floors. The bottom floor being the kitchen and living room opening into the paved patio. The upstair is an artist loft with a beautiful bedroom and bathroom. The bedroom has French doors leading to a balcony facing the charming yard. The owners Steven and Rich are very friendly and always willing to give you the best tips for restaurants, bars, attractions,etc. The house is located in the Marigny, a 10 minutes walk from the French Quarter. We had the best of times.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

The rental is the former slave quarters to the main house which rests on the opposite side of the lush courtyard (a perfect location for morning coffee, after-dinner drink or to check emails on laptop via provided wifi). The downstairs is the living room and kitchen; upstairs an open bedroom and connecting bathroom. The space itself is very comfortable, with lots of natural lights; beautiful tall doors and windows run the length of each floor. The balcony from the bedroom affords a lovely view of the courtyard below, as well as yet another spot to have a private, perfect moment.

The owners, Stephen and Rich, provide house-keeping everyday, which is a nice touch for a vacation rental. The pantry and refrigerated items provided were a generous offering, as well. Plenty of books, maps and other printed material were on-hand for just about anything of interest. Stephen and Rich were very respectful of our privacy and could not have been more considerate and accommodating to our needs. The rental is a perfect home-base for anyone interested in spending time in the Marigny neighborhood or seeking a quieter locale close to the Quarter.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Frenchmen Hotel
The Frenchmen Hotel
#46 of 162 in New Orleans
925 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
B&W Courtyards
B&W Courtyards
#5 of 138 in New Orleans
566 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#35 of 138 in New Orleans
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Royal Street Inn and R Bar
Royal Street Inn and R Bar
#52 of 138 in New Orleans
56 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 138 in New Orleans
170 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Maison de Macarty
Maison de Macarty
#25 of 138 in New Orleans
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre Coulon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre Coulon Guest House

Property: Pierre Coulon Guest House
Address: 714 Spain St, New Orleans, LA 70117-7823
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing