We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pastas are Exceptional”
Review of Domenica

Domenica
Reserve with OpenTable
Domenica is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #74 of 1,954 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: Canal Street
Description: Domenica is a contemporary and inviting Italian restaurant that creates regional Italian dishes with southern and middle eastern influences. The cuisine combines Chef Alon Shaya's Israeli heritage and love of local ingredients with a menu that reflects his time spent cooking and living in the small towns of northern Italy.
Melbourne, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pastas are Exceptional”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Sat at the bar for dinner and had a great time. We ordered the spicy lamb meatball pizza which was delicious. The pizza was very large and we had to take half of it home. We also ordered two small plates of pasta - Tagliatelle with rabbit and porcini and the Stracci with oxtail and fried chicken livers. Both were over the top delicious. I am not a fan of chicken livers but when in Rome... so glad I tried it. They were so crispy and light. Both these pasta dishes were outstanding because you could definitely tell the pasta was freshly made. We want to try them all. Restaurant is large and busy and our server was great. We loved this place. Great memorable meal. My husband is going to try to duplicate these dishes at home but I think we need to go back to do more research.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelAddict6987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    939
    539
    147
    47
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Incredible pizza, best happy hour deal”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

On the recommendation of our B&B host, we visited Domenica for their daily (7 days a week) happy hour: all pizzas and well drinks are half price from 3-6 pm. And oh, what pizzas they are! Many unusual toppings to choose from -- ours were with spicy lamb meatballs and prosciutto. Highly excellent crust and toppings (we couldn't finish two pizzas,but somehow did manage to eat all the toppings). Nice setting, friendly waiter. Two pizzas plus two drinks, under $25. So go for a late lunch or an early dinner -- you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonnaDAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Incredible Italian restaurant”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Recently I read a review naming the 10 best Italian restaurants in the US. Most were in New York or Chicago, but one was in New Orleans, Domenico. Since we had planned a weekend in New Orleans, we thought we would give it a try. The restaurant is located in the Roosevelt, a Waldorf Astoria hotel. I can't say enough good about the restaurant. Between 3:00pm & 6:00pm the wine and pizza are half price. The pizza was the best I have eaten outside of Italy. Actually it was as good as I have have had in Italy. They have many toppings, some you will not see elsewhere, like duck and goat. My wife had a pasta dish with Oxtail and liver that was unbelievable. We have never eaten better Italian food and we have traveled extensively in the US & Europe. The portion sizes were so large we could not eat all we were served. The dessert menu was very appealing but we were so full we returned the next day for dessert. The pastry chef is amazing and the desserts are delicious.
Service was attentive, friendly and professional. There is nothing about this place that we found wanting. We have already planned another trip to New Orleans which will include a visit to Domenico.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1straveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“forget the southern food, come here!!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Their pizzas are $13 each no matter which kind you get. I had the one with duck and sweet potato. WOW so good! Do yourself a favor and check this place out. DELICIOUS. It is inside the Roosevelt hotel off Canal street which is beautiful. An easy walk from the French quarter hotels.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PALMTREE7492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fun place, Great Food, Good prices”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I had been wanting to eat here for a while and I'm glad I finally did. This is a fun high-energy place located in the beautiful Roosevelt Hotel. The food is rustic Italian ( which would come as a surprise to anyone just looking in the window as the decor is very sleek and mod). Great selection of wines by the glass and a very nice menu at a variety of price points. The bread -- thick, crusty, chewy -- is very good as is the dipping oil although beware the latter as it is much spicier than the average.

This is a good place to come with a group as the menu has a mix of traditional, off beat and vegetarian options. Great variety of wood fired pizzas with interesting toppings. All are $13 ( except from 3-6 pm when they are happy hour 1/2 priced.) Good pasta dishes too ( I had the stracci with oxtails and fried chicken livers)and you can order just about all of them in half size portions which should satisfy all but the largest appetites. Their famous fried kale is yummy as is the eggplant with burrata appetizer. The desserts come in large portions and are very rich -- you might want to share.

The noise level here is high which adds to the fun party feel but might be distracting for couples on a romantic date night. There were a couple of bachelorette parties and a large birthday group celebrating last night.

The place is also very popular so be prepared to wait on a table even if you have a reservation

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trinitymills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domenica also viewed

 

Been to Domenica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing