We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great shrimp dressed Poboy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mahony's Po-Boy Shop

Mahony's Po-Boy Shop
Ranked #184 of 1,918 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Garden District
Description: (504) 899-3374
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great shrimp dressed Poboy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

These poboys are huge, one is enough for 2 people. Could be a little more seasoned but other than that the poboy rocked. Fries are pretty good also. Love to order them to go

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mattboz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    117
    50
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We stopped here right after the airport after getting a tip from a native sitting next to me on the plane.

When we went there was not a line. The server was friendly.

I ordered the grilled shrimp and my husband ordered the fried oysters. Both were very good. The bread was amazing and the shrimp was big.

I would definitely go here again and refer to friends.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Had to Do It Once”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is a tough review because I will admit I'm not sure I "get" Po' Boys. But I keep trying. We'd seen Mahony's on the Food Channel and those Po' Boys sure did sound good.

We arrived at around 1:00 on a Tuesday and the wait was not too bad. We ordered a Chicken Liver and Rootbeer Ham Po' Boy and a side of Fried Green Tomatoes. The Po' Boys were as good as any we had had up to that point (we hadn't been to Katie's yet). I learned I prefer my Fried Green Tomatoes sliced, rather than chunked, but the remoulade was very good.

All in all it was good, but added to my on-going realization that just because it's on the Food Channel doesn't mean it's exceptional.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SherreeLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ridiculous Prices, Mediocre Quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

I have no idea why this place charges the prices that it does for the size/quality of what they offer. I ordered the "Peacemaker" a po-boy with fried oysters, bacon and cheese thinking "this should be fantastic!" Two words: "market price". The damn thing was almost $20! And to top it off, it was one of the driest po-boys I've ever had. This is the second time I have thought "did I really pay this much money for a disappointing sandwich?" I will NEVER go back despite the fat that I live 1 block away. Go somewhere else like Tracey's or Cassamento's

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NOLA_Monkeyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

This place was packed just after the noon rush and the wait was 40 minutes for our soft shell crab po-boy. They said they would bring the onion rings over right away but they came later with the sandwiches. It took a long time but the food was really good and the onion rings are the thin kind, not fat rings and they were so good!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BevTulsa1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahony's Po-Boy Shop also viewed

 

Been to Mahony's Po-Boy Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing