We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5th time back and it's still consistant as before!”

Baru Bistro & Tapas
Reserve with OpenTable
Baru Bistro & Tapas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #333 of 1,952 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Garden District
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“5th time back and it's still consistant as before!”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

So my party returned to Baru for the 2nd time (this was MY 5th) and everything was still top notch. This time they had a drink menu so alcohol can be purchased. I love their variety of tapas and the jerk chicken was still very good. We also ordered the churrasco steak, guacabello tapa, fried oyster tapa, mazorca tapa and the arepa tapa. The only other thing I can suggest is they change their menu every now-and-then or possibly offer a taste menu. Can't say enough great things about this place so don't just go, RUN there!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy5o4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    41
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Locals told us about this place”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Great find for a lunch spot while shopping on Magazine Street. Excellent tapas with very fresh ingredients. Nice cocktails and wine list. Casual atmosphere-only negative- the uncomfortable chairs, worn out bottoms and you sit too low. A definite go back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Small excellent restaurant on Magezine”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our daughter lives in NO and we come here each time.....excellent food BYOB.... they now have a liquor license but you can pay corkage and bring wine. When the weather is good you can sit outside which opens up more tables. No reservations! The whole fish is amazing as is the churusco beef dish.....actually we have never ordered anything bad. Very reasonably priced, and in a hubby part of Magezine St. So if you don't like the wait, you can go somewhere else.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovetodrive5214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A surprising find”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Lovely tapas in the Garden District. We really enjoyed this place. The chef creates unique blends of tastes and textures and presents them in a delightfully eye-pleasing manner. A little pricier than I might have expected—but so is nearly everything in New Orleans.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Cute, laid back, funky tapas place. Outside dining very pleasant. Waitress Sarah Lee (not making that up) was awesome and so friendly. My wife and I almost adopted her on the spot. The food was incredibly tasty and the portions were pretty sizable for tapas. Just got liquor license so wine selection is very limited. Can BYOB for $8 which is a great deal. We went twice in one week we liked the place so much.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glencoetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baru Bistro & Tapas also viewed

New Orleans, LA
 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Baru Bistro & Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing