We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real New Orleans”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oakview Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #29 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I felt like a guest in Russell's home! Rather than staying in a cold, downtown hotel, I opted for this small, B&B for a convention I attended and absolutely feel the Oakview made my stay.
From the moment I arrived after a long day of travel, I was relaxing in the living room with complimentary libation and informative conversation from Russell, the owner, making sure that all my needs and questions were set. Breakfast each day was great with phenomenal biscuits or egg po boys, a great way to start the day. I stayed in the Asian Willow room which was most comfortable from the bed to the whirlpool tub. Utilizing the free wifi throughout the house, I was able to both work, and keep in touch in a very relaxed, comfortable home.
I travelled downtown via the trolley which stopped just at the corner. This is the way to experience the city. The transportation was affordable, efficient and clean. I almost felt like a local.
The B&B is in a rather upscale neighborhood, just across the street from City Park. I was in walking distance to museums, sculpture gardens, a bayou, cemeteries, great restaurants (Ralph's on the Park and Degas to mention two), coffee / beignet shop and one of the most beautiful parks I have ever experienced. The running paths were awesome. Staying here absolutely made my New Orleans experience far more enjoyable then simply being immersed in the downtown environment. I cannot wait to visit the Oakview again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrencenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 86 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

We went for the Super Bowl Weekend. Had a great stay at the Oakview. Russell was very accommidating. We stayed in the Cypress Room and it was spacious. The BandB is just across from the Trolley Line and Bus Line which goes straight to the French Quarter. Also across the street from the City Park, so in a safe neighborhood. I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a quick visit this weekend to enjoy Mardi Gras. We loved Oakview-- so charming, and close enough to the Edymion Mardi Gras parade (which by the way was happily very family friendly), but a few blocks away to be peaceful. Russell was the perfect southern gentleman host, which being from the North we appreciated. It made us fall in love with New Orleans even more-- will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Russ was super accommodating - great breakfasts, drinks available all the time, good advice. And the house is beautiful. We stayed in the Asian Willow room, which had a very high enclosed bed, which I found a bit inconvenient, so I'd recommend choosing another room. But apart from that the stay was brilliant.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cafelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This was my third trip to New Orleans; every year I have volunteered to help rebuild houses still damaged from Katrina in 2005. Each experience has been different, and I keep expanding my knowledge of the city! This year, I stayed at the Oakview Bed and Breakfast, near City Park, which is a short streetcar (or bicycle!) ride away from the Garden District and French Quarter. Staying there was amazing: right across the street the gorgeous park and New Orleans Museum of Art, and less much touristy. Also, the local eateries--within walking distance--are superior to those found in the French Quarter, and much less costly, too! Our host was so friendly, and definitely went out of his way to make us feel at home. Our room, the Asian Willow room, was gorgeous as well, and, when we got a chance to enjoy it, we certainly appreciated the breakfast and coffee in the morning! Keeping in mind that it is not by any means a corporate hotel, and is owned and operated independently, I would certainly recommend the Oakview to others who want a taste of real hospitality!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spidergyrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The owner, Russ, was sooooo wonderful to us. He went out of his way to be accomodating, helping us with little things that he didn't need to, like offering bandaids when my friend fell during a run in the park, and sandwich baggies on a day we decided to pack a picnic lunch.

The Oak room was great, and the shower divine! Just to clarify another guests complaint, Russ specifically told us that he doesn't like to bother guests so he wouldn't enter our room unless we asked. He went out of his way to let us know that if we needed anything like towels, garbage clearing, etc he would do it if we asked, but otherwise, he'd stay out of our way. Personally, I appreciated the more homey, rather than hotel-like feel of the place, as well as his commitment to our privacy.

As a footnote, the home-cooked bsicuits are divine!

Room Tip: Oak room has an awesome bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We would stay again at this inn if we ever to visit New Orleans again. It is located very close to the streetcar line and is right across the street from City Park. Each room has a whirlpool tub, flat screen tvs with cable and wall unit ACs. We stayed during the week and ended up having the entire house to ourselves until our last night there. The inn has a bar that guests have access to and this is included in the price. The innkeeper spent time talking to us about the history of the house and his families experience during Katrina and it was very insightful. Russell is a fellow social worker and we had a great conversation. Because we were the only couple there, each morning breakfast was not provided because the catering company only comes if more than one room is rented. The innkeeper recommended a place for breakfast and took the price off the bill for the breakfasts that were not provided. We didn't mind because we prefer to sleep in :-).

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Livestotravel_819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Treme
Inn at the Old Jail
Inn at the Old Jail
#54 of 142 in New Orleans
7 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#27 of 142 in New Orleans
173 reviews
Garden District
Green House Inn
Green House Inn
#10 of 142 in New Orleans
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakview Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakview Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1172 City Park Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70119-3723
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Lakeview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $112 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakview Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oak view is a lovely 100 year old historic Victorian. It is ideally located across the street from the famous City Park and the New Orleans Museum. That means we are walking distance to Jazz Fest, across the street from Voodoo Fest, two blocks from the start of the Endymion Parade, two blocks from the historic Cemetery, around the corner from Bayou Bogaloo festival, and a very short distance to the French Quarter, downtown and the convention center. The trolly stops in front of the door.Further the crescent city classic race and most other races and marathons ends here at the park across from the bed and breakfast. Unbelievable but true.We also feel that we are at least in the TOP 10 for the best Bed and Breakfast not number 25. WE are totally new, totally renovated and modernly upgraded with whirlpools in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Oakview Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing