We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring your camera!”

Lake Lawn Metairie Cemetery
Book In Advance
More Info
$44.99*
and up
Three Hour City Tour of New Orleans
Ranked #21 of 352 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This final resting place is home to some exotic tombs, such as a pyramid-and-Sphinx mausoleum.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bring your camera!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was my second trip to this cemetery. My first trip was for the sole purpose of seeing " The Weeping Angel". I had first seen her on a commercial for the "Twilight" movie and knew that I had to see her in person. After seeing her I knew that I would return to the Metairie Cemetery again to share her with friends who would truly appreciate the beauty of this sculpture. This cemetery has sooo much to offer to the person who loves history and art. The magnificent sculptures and the intricate displays of craftsmanship and the attention given to these tombs and mausoleums will take your breath away. It is truly time well spent. Give yourself a couple of hours and wear comfortable shoes, and don't forget to bring your camera because you will have many opportunities take some great pictures that will be worth framing!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TeeCeeCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    226
    44
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“History and Unique Architecture”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was a beautiful old place, with unique design features and a garden-feel. It was worth the time to wander around and imagine times gone by.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank oceangirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Serene & interesting”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

You can walk to the Metairie Cemetery (aka Lake Lawn Metairie Funeral Home & Cemetries) from the last stop on the Canal streetcar. Its a little dangerous as you have to avoid traffic when crossing the main intersection. There is a small entrance in the corner by the traffic lights behind a bush that you can walk through into the grounds, else you end up walking along the highway which isn't very safe.
The cemetery itself is beautifully maintained and it was wonderfully calm & quiet walking along the streets in the cemetery taking in the artistic marble mausoleums & tombs.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LFOX79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful, well maintained, highlight of our NOLA trip.”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We visted the Metairie Cemetery because I really wanted to see the weeping angel mausoleum. A grounds keeper was kind enough to lead us to it (4th from the right of the walkin entrance right off the highway) it was nice because road allowed us drive through and stop and get out without having to park and walk the whole way. Very well kept, felt completely safe, could spend all day!

Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Clinton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Serene”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Beautiful park like grounds. The tombs are like works of art, certainly worth the visit. Water features and wild life are abundant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Lawn Metairie Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Lake Lawn Metairie Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing