We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“a beautiful church in CBD” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old St. Patrick's Church

Old St. Patrick's Church
Ranked #85 of 320 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A National Historic Landmark, Old St. Patrick's Church is one of only two early landmarks of distinction left in Lafayette Square, the other being Gallier Hall. Irish immigrants built the Gothic-style church in 1840 to rival the French St. Louis Cathedral in Jackson Square.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a beautiful church in CBD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

traditional latin mass (vetus ordo) available on Sundays. daily mass at 11:30 am and 12 noon. a hidden gem in Central Business District. will recommend to stop by for a visit, Eucharistic Adoration and celebrate mass

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank GattaSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    19
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gregorian Mass was breathtakingly beautiful! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

This was the most beautiful mass I have ever been to. The chanting, the reverence, and the message was a perfect way to start a Sunday!

Helpful?
5 Thank Ajv181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
138 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Friday Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My husband and I were able to sneak a peek at this beautiful landmark after Good Friday services ended. What a gem. This place has been very well taken care of. The stained glass above the high alter is breathtaking. I would recommend a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ginger_Diamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Clinton, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We passed by in the late afternoon and it was closed. The next day we passed by earlier and went in for the noon mass. WOW!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank pursuitcapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Free, beautiful, historical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We walked to Saint Patrick's on a rainy Saturday afternoon and were not disappointed. The cathedral is small but incredibly detailed and a great example of the gothic style. We snuck in between services so didn't stay too long, but there is plenty to view from a seat in the pew. Worth the walk if you like cathedrals, stained glass, american history and free.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Waldolover05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old St. Patrick's Church also viewed

 

Been to Old St. Patrick's Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing