We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Beats the Cathedral

The outside of the building is unimposing due to location in CBD and the bland concrete exterior... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Steve M
,
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Beautiful church and mass

The priest gave a wonderful homily. The singing was lovely. It was a great mass . We attended the... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
terrikopec
,
New Orleans, Louisiana
via mobile
Read all 98 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around New Orleans
from $29.25
More Info
from $23.97
More Info
from $64.00
More Info
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveler rating
66
22
1
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
22
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amazing murals lafayette square convention center wwii museum worth a visit french quarter worship mass catholic beauty prayer reverence homily architecture dome ww2 nola
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The outside of the building is unimposing due to location in CBD and the bland concrete exterior, but once inside this place of worship delivers. A wonderful place for quiet contemplation and reverence.

Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The priest gave a wonderful homily. The singing was lovely. It was a great mass . We attended the 5:30 pm mass on Sunday.

Thank terrikopec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

We came to St. Patrick’s to see where my husband’s g g grandparents were married in the 1800s. I was overwhelmed by its beauty. Truly one of the most beautiful places I’ve been. It remains unchanged, except for some cleaning and refurbishing, since 1840. Ann in the office was very friendly on the phone. They have open hours for visitors, along with different masses and some concerts. Call ahead to see what is happening before you go.

Thank Mitz009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018

Took in an amazing organ concert by a fourteen-year-old named Simon. Had a chance to see the church ahead of time. Beautiful. Very accessible. Memorial candles are available.

Thank timothyy298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

This is a very beautiful church built in the 1830’s. Old style cathedral with wonderful old stained glass windows. Convenient to the convention center and only a few blocks from WW II Museum.

1  Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2018

This is a beautiful church near Lafayette Square. Upon entering, one is drawn to the tall ceiling architecture. The front of the church is dominated by 3 large paintings, with a magnificent dome on top. Unlike the Immaculate Conception Church (also in New Orleans) which is dominated by rows of chandeliers, this church is lighted mostly by recessed lighting in the ceiling. As a result, people standing near the altar have deep shadows and not well lighted. This is critical for a wedding as the bride and groom will be dark. This church has lots of stained glass windows but not many statues. All in all, it is worth a visit.

Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2018

very beautiful church.the altar and paintings/stained glass are a must see.Do not miss the statue of St. Michael at the side of the church.

Thank LPY39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stopped here on our way back to the French Quarter from the WW2 museum. Built in the 1840s, it is of Gothic style. The stain glass windows and murals behind the main altar are works of art. Beautiful church, certainly on par with the much more famous Catholic Cathedral in Jackson Square. Conducive for prayer. Wonderful place.

Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2018

St. Patrick's is a beautiful historic Cathedral. Attended Good Friday Service. The altar is incredible, as is the painted ceiling. A very traditional service with very good music, an excellent homily and much history in the City of new Orleans. Recommended.

Thank mboehmer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2018

Went to mass here today for Easter Sunday! Very nice mass, we used to go to this church a lot in the past when our daughter lived in NOLA. The mass is a little different than it is back home, they only have one altar like it used to be many years ago. We also kneel at the communion rail for communion at this church. The mass was pretty full for 7:30am but it also is Easter Sunday. The church is on Camp St. & Girod St & we walked from the Marriott at the Convention Center, 10 minute walk. Easy to get to. I would highly recommend visiting Old Saint Patrick's Church, it's a National Historic Landmark, established in 1833!

Thank tagent22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews