We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Patrick's Parade”
Review of Magazine Street

Magazine Street
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
City of New Orleans and Katrina Recovery Tour
Ranked #37 of 364 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Eclectic collectors and professional browsers will love this six-mile long street which starts at the French Quarter and is known worldwide for its antiques and art.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
165 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“St Patrick's Parade”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I don't have opinion about Magazine Street. Kinda very long street and confusing. If you lived in Asia or traveled to undeveloped countries to shop, this place is meh. Anyway, we went to this street because of St Patrick's Day Parade. I never been to Mardi Gras, we just arrived here but a family told us, the best time to experience Mardi Gras version of family friendly is St Patrick's parade. We thought we had so much fun, catching beads and such. Again, I don't feel comfortable with drunk people were holding bottle dancing in front of my small kid. Accident can happen. Great for experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mozou-Kozou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    308
    100
    26
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Get out of the French Quarter”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Take the #11 bus at Canal and Camp out to Magazine and Louisiana for blocks of funky shopping and more restaurants. So easy to get to-only about 5 minutes on the bus-download the RTA app to show the bus arrival time for each stop and you are set.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CubbyandBoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“just a few splashes of "intresting" in a sea of "meh"”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Maybe I'm disappointed because I expects to find interesting galleries (there were none) but even when I put that aside, I have to say there is nothing amazing about this street at all. A small number of nice clothes shops… that's it. I found it to be a terrible waste of time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SupernovaSurvivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Saint Patrick's Day Parade”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Awesome place to go see. We partied on this street and the houses are amazing. I really enjoyed this area of NOLA good place to drive through and explore!

Helpful?
Thank GarBear001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Magazine Street - New Orleans, LA”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

A major road through New Orleans, it ends (or starts, at Canal St): across Canal street it becomes Decatur St. in the French Quarter.

Our Hotel was on Magazine and Canal St. so close to the French Quarter.

Going away from the French Quarter, Magazine St. runs through the Warehouse/Arts District and on through the Garden District (older, upscale homes) down to the Audubon Park and Audubon Zoo.

You can't help but travel on this street sometime while you are in New Orleans.

rlw

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magazine Street also viewed

 

Been to Magazine Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing