We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“eh”
Review of Bourbon Street

Bourbon Street
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.00*
and up
Bourbon Street Pub Crawl
Ranked #65 of 354 things to do in New Orleans
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The partying never stops on Bourbon Street, the French Quarter's liveliest and wildest thoroughfare, where the rhythmic sounds of jazz, country western, Dixieland and sultry blues permeate the air. Brimming with life, you'll find everything from shopping to music to Cajun food to nightclubs.
Cortez, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“eh”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Nothing, to brag about... shops all carry the same ole same old... I guess, if you interested in being drunk its the place to be....

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,321
    1,090
    960
    610
    487
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Party,food and great music”
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

If u r in for a party, food, shopping and good music, New Orleans is definitely for u. It is a definite must place to see or experience regardless if u r a drinker or not. People can be a little seedy so don't go alone. All.and all awesome and love the.atmosphere and experience.

Helpful?
Thank Claudine P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Evansville, IN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT TIMES!!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Bourbon Street is so much fun! We went during the day and at nights. Daytime we visited the voodoo shops and had our palms, cards, etc read for fun. Met some super interesting people and just plain had a fun! It's like a trashier version of of vegas, but three times the fun because you don't loose money gambling! I went with two girlfriends, all of us are mid 30's. We had a great time and never felt threatened or unsafe.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NEEDSUN32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I just dont know what the attraction is ... am I too old ... Im only 45 but this pit, den, sleazy, smelly street is awful. Not that anyone is doing the wrong thing its not something I want my children to see. Go a street or so over and its a more family feel. We did this at dusk so maybe its not a good time. Only one lot of Jazz the other street over. the Jazz in Bourbon St and there was only one where they sold the Beignets was ordinary and touristy. Dont waste your energy here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lnuge318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Stay far, far away”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I have been coming to New Orleans for 25 years and LOVE, LOVE the city and its residents. But Bourbon Street represents the worst of the city: gross, low class tourists; complete lack of authenticity; atrocious food; cheap, bad drinks; and mediocre music.

Stay away. Visit Uptown or the Garden District instead. Go to Treme or Faubourg Marigny. If you want to stay in the Quarter you can do that by sticking to Royal Street (great antiques), Preservation Hall (amazing), and Jackson Square (gorgeous). But stay away from this mess of commercialism and stupidity. This time I was on Bourbon Street for less than a block (3 minutes top), and yet I wish I had avoided it all together. Pitiful.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank BramStoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bourbon Street also viewed

 

Been to Bourbon Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing