We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Halloween Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunburst Inn Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunburst Inn Guest House
Ranked #52 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Halloween Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is my second stay here, for the week of Halloween (8 nights). This house is in the Marigny, just outside the French Quarter, very close to Frenchmen St. and the music clubs. It is a quiet, safe, laid back neighborhood. Once again, I had the Diamond Room, with its enormous bathroom. Once again, Darrell and Glenn were excellent hosts. They honestly want you to feel at home here, and they succeed. Nicer folks you can't find anywhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kayak120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
24
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

On a lovely, quiet, safe street only 4 blocks from the French Quarter, the Sunburst Inn is the perfect place to stay in New Orleans. Away from the craziness and noise of the Quarter, but only three blocks from Frenchmen Street, where the real music happens at night. My room was spotless, the bathroom truly amazing, and the innkeepers were lovely, gracious hosts.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lioncloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is by far the best B&B I ever stayed in. It is clean, safe, comfortable, and walking distance to the Quarters or an easy $5 cab ride. When I stay here I leave my car on the street and don't touch it until I leave. Never a problem. Hosts Darrell and Glenn are most accommodating to every whim. I'd rather stay here than stay at any other commercial establishment in the city. What can I say, I'm selfish in telling you to keep this secret place to ourselves!

Room Tip: Sunburst Inn is walking distance to several coffee houses and cafes in the Marigney neighborhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Darrell and Glen provide comfortable and well-appointed accommodations at a reasonable rate in the Marigny neighborhood of New Orleans. They're gracious and attentive hosts. The Sunburst Inn is only a few blocks from the French Quarter - an easy walk. Darrell and Glen can provide information about area amenities - including venues and events of especial interests to bears and other gay men. A great find and highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Darrel and Glen are great hosts and provide a relaxed, comfortable environment. Half way like being in their home and half like a business. The neighborhood has really grown in the last five or six years, with choices for coffee and pastries, as well as other meals. Just a short walk/drive from the French Quarter and easy access to all the major travel roads in NOLA. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Check out the pastry shop about 4 blocks away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JBear76206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

this marks our 10th anniversary visiting the Sunburst Inn Guest House need I say more. The place is very comfortable and well kept. the owner's Darrell and Glen go out of their way to make the customers feel at home> This is why we continue to chose the Sunburst Inn Guest House as our place to stay.
Fred & Kim

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank ks6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I must admit that I was a bit hesitant to book this place based on the pictures on their website. However, those pics really don't do it justice!

Our diamond room was very large, with high ceilings, a comfortable bed and a huge bathroom. The amenities provided were much better than in any hotel (that fridge you see in their picture: it's full with free goodies!), the guys were very nice and the common outdoor area is a very nice place to spend an hour resting if you have the time.

We wish we had spent more days at the Sunburst Inn, also because it's located quite close to the French Quarter, and more importantly Frenchman Street, as well as many cafes. It's also a safe area. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the diamond room and enjoyed it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SHills2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Blue60 Guest House
Blue60 Guest House
#19 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Old Historic Creole Inn
Old Historic Creole Inn
#31 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#34 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
#46 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
B&W Courtyards
B&W Courtyards
#10 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Elysian Fields Inn
Elysian Fields Inn
#6 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunburst Inn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunburst Inn Guest House

Property: Sunburst Inn Guest House
Address: 819 Mandeville, New Orleans, LA 70117
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house is a Victorian style built in 1905 and has all the original floors and chandeliers with 12 foot ceilings. We are just 5 blocks for the French Quarter and 3 blocks from the famous Frenchman St. where there is live music and great dining. The Street Car line that travels along the river is 5 blocks away and there are also great little cafes on the Conners from our place. The Marigny neighborhood was vote a top ten place to live in 2010 by the ADA. We like to say that we are far enough but close enough to the madness of the Quarter. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing