We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I enjoyed this!”

New Orleans Jazz National Historic Park
Certificate of Excellence
Shelby, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I enjoyed this!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Located in with the Coin Mint. I enjoyed the pictures and educational info on Jazz. Would of liked to see and know more about the instruments.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jjjjja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    39
    14
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
c
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Jazz Galore”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Since Jazz is very much about moods and improvisations, I'd always wondered how Jazz musicians could ever work together. While we were in NOLA, we watched a free concert at their Old Mint location. There were altogether 4 performers. The main performer was a vocalist, singing Jazz songs accompanied by a pianist and a cellist. I can't think off of the top of my head what's the instrument played by the 4th person. Anyway, they worked in such fine harmony, if one can use harmony to describe something like Jazz.

Before the concert started, the audience was flooded with neon lights. My kids loved it.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jia y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Free Event Ever”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Get the low down on the real history of Jass. Check out the Preservation Hall exhibit at the Old US Mint. Check the schedule and make sure to take in a free concert. We heard great live Jass and learned the history from local artist too.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“New Orleans Jazz for dummies”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Some of NOLA's best musicians perform daily themed sets, telling the tale of decades of traditional Jazz music

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank My-View-on-things
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New Orleans, LA”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

New Orleans, LA amazing restaurants and scenery. I got a big Turkey for fun. Take lots of pictures enjoy...

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Orleans Jazz National Historic Park also viewed

 

Been to New Orleans Jazz National Historic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing