We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cocktail Tour - Joe Gendusa (Tour Guide)”

Gray Line New Orleans
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.00*
and up
Steamboat Natchez Jazz Dinner Cruise
Ranked #38 of 216 Tours in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gray Line New Orleans has been showcasing the city since 1924. Locally owned and operated, the Gray Line schedule includes the award winning Original Cocktail Tour. Another top offering is the Ghost Tour, which has been so intensely researched that the hotel with the most reported Ghost sightings in the city has invited Gray Line to produce an exhibit in their hotel. Among our professionally escorted tours are the Super City Tour, Katrina Tours, Swamp & Bayou, Airboat Swamp Tours, Oak Alley & Laura Plantation Tours, Cemetery & Voodoo, French Quarter & Garden District Walking Tours We limit the number of guests on our walking tours to enhance the experience and the view is always better from our luxurious mini-busses and motor coaches. Our Tour Guides are well trained, licensed, and want to share their personal experiences along the way. Morning to evening you can count on Gray Line New Orleans
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Cocktail Tour - Joe Gendusa (Tour Guide)”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We have taken several of the Gray Line Tours in New Orleans - but the Cocktail Tour, in our opinion, is the best of the Gray Lines in this city. This is due to our wonderful, knowledgeable, and fun tour guide, Joe Gendusa. His knowledge and passion on the subject was vast and he really made us passionate about the popular drinks of the restaurants/bars in the area.

Mr. Gendusa was charismatic - never once did the tour become boring or as though only facts from a text book were being made - but he made the facts come to life with vigor.

I would recommend this tour if you are looking to get more familiar with the history and background of cocktails in New Orleans, along with a better understanding of the bar/restaurant establishments that are known or have created specific cocktails.

Request Joe as your guide if you are looking for a respectable, "mature" understanding of this history of New Orleans. This is not a bar crawl, this is not for "frat boys" looking to do shots; this is a lively, yet mature understanding of the tradition of cocktails in New Orleans (while also given the opportunity to purchase the cocktails mentioned in the tour - but these drinks are at your own expense, which really isn't a a problem). We were offered one drink that was included with the tour, which was provided at the start at the lighthouse by the Steamboat Natchez.

Fantastic!!!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank jenmswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    749
    215
    74
    45
    50
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, GA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great overview of the city and impact of the hurricane”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

I took the Gray Line City/Hurricane tour on the 5th of July,. accompanied by my 5-year-old (who mostly played quiet video games, but sometimes looked out the windows) and my husband and his uncle who had never been to New Orleans. We had a great tour, provided a good overview of the city. We were driven through the lower ninth ward by a driver who lived there himself, and had lost family members. It was amazing, overwhelming. Truly put a human element into the recount of the disaster and its effects, and highlighted in very real terms the impact of income levels on re-growth in the different areas. I absolutely recommend this tour to everyone.

* Before our trip, I read earlier reviews criticizing the fact that the tour company collects fees for tours of the diasaster area and doesn't give back to the community. I would suggest that in fact the continued existence of the tour company (jobs!) in the area is contributing to the revitalization effort. Indirectly, at least, your tour ticket will help the many people who suffered the effects of the hurricane by bolstering the area's economy. Just something to consider.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Southern_Daytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Grayline Guides: Tell us about your city, not your politics!”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Took several GrayLine Tours during our visit to NOLA. The Cocktail Tour was by far the best. Would recommend the Swamp Tour only if you've never been to the Everglades. More than once, we heard more from guides about their view of politics than we cared to. (Are you listening swamp boat captains?) Everybody has an opinion, but if I pay to take a tour, I'm paying to hear about the history and culture of the area, not the political opinions of the guide. On vacation, it's nice to have a break from everything -- including politics.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank BlueInKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, OH
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The Total Package!”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

While in New Orleans for a family wedding in August, we toured four days with Gray Line.
All said and done...we had a wonderfully enjoyable, educational, and relaxing time.

The first day we rode the Natchez down the Mississippi and enjoyed the narration, scenery, and peaceful time. With both inside/air conditioned and outside seating available, it was easy to pick a place that suited us best. We did not purchase the lunch, but snacks and drinks (both alcoholic and non-alcoholic) are avaiable for purchase anyway.

The next day we took the Oak Alley Plantation Tour. The bus was filled, but there was room for everyone. There is not much in the way of information on the trip, but there was some narration regarding the sugar cane crops and industry on our way to the plantation.

We went on the Jean Lafitte Swamp Tour the following day. What a blast! Our captain was from the swamps and was very knowledgeable about the area and the wildlife. Lots of alligators were seen as we moved down the waterway. We even got to hold one!

Finally, we concluded our tours with a Super City Tour and WWII Museum/Movie on our last touring day. The Super City included a LOT of information and a stop at a cemetery. We learned about the burial practices in the area and walked around a bit. The WWII Museum was awesome. The movie was spectacular!

The money we spent on four of us touring for four days was well worth every penny! We feel that we were able to capture the culture and history of the area by having taken these excursions. We had our two twenty-something sons with us, and they both enjoyed every tour, as well!

The Lighthouse Ticket Office made it very convenient for us to board our busses every day. And, the bus picks up/drops off at several area hotels for the WWII Museum tour. There is a rest room on the busses that take you to the Plantation and Swamp.

There are many other tour companies in the area. I cannot vouch for them, but I can tell you that our experience with Gray Line was a good one.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Melody86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We tried 3 and had a great time!!”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We did 3 activities through Gray Line.
1. Mississippi Riverboat afternoon tour. Not much to see along the river itself, but it was fun. Sit on the left side for the 1st hour and then for the 2nd 1/2 go in and grab some lunch. We did not get the meal pass...just bought 2 Po'boys ala carte and they were delicious. Ic tea and water are complimentary. Great pianist in the dining room...he played stride/ragtime....then we walked around and explored and took pictures. We enjoyed it very much and then went to the aquarium afterwards...that was fun too!
2. WWII Museum: essentially this was tickets and transportation which was very handy. The museum was very interesting and very well thought out...lots of historical accounts, photos and exhibits...Beyond All Boundaries experience was amazing and included with the tour. Grab a bite at the soda shop but go early or later as it fills up quickly. We went from 9-1:30 including lunch and Beyond all Boundaries. Transportation back doesn't hang around so be waiting on the 1/2 hour where they drop you off.
3. Swamp Tour: Surprisingly enough...this was our favorite! They bus you about an hour out to the swamp and then you get on a pontoon boat. It's warm but shady and there was plenty of room for everyone. There were bathrooms on the bus, at the dock and on the boat(marine type). They even ha some chips and drinks for sale. Tour guide was great and knowledgeable! Gators swam right up to the boat! Saw lots of wildlife. It was a great way to spend our last day. Took about 3.5 hours.

These tours were easy to access from The Hotel Monteleone where we stayed...so it made it really easy to fill our days. It was a great way to see things outside the French Quarter! My only complaint is that an adult is anyone over the age of 12...so that made it a little more expensive. But the people were really nice and we learned so much!!

Helpful?
Thank thatgrl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gray Line New Orleans also viewed

 

Been to Gray Line New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing