We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great little tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old New Orleans Rum Distillery

Old New Orleans Rum Distillery
Ranked #8 of 40 Food & Drink in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Celebration Distillery, located in the Gentilly area of New Orleans, is the Oldest Premium Rum Distillery in US and the only in Louisiana. Tours Times:Monday-Friday at 12pm, 2pm & 4pmSaturdays at 2pm & 4pm. The cost is $10/person. Call to book complimentary transportation from the French Quarter Monday-Friday.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
131 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great little tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

You might be uncomfortable driving in the neighborhood of the distillery so I would recommend taking their shuttle from one of two locations in the French Quarter. Bob provided a little tour of the city on the way to the distillery. Once you get there you are greeted with a Cajun Tea, iced tea with their spiced rum. Bob gave a very informative tour of the rum making process. We enjoyed the samples at the end and picked up two bottles of gingeroo to take home. We have had their spiced rum before, I love it but my wife isn't so fond of it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    146
    35
    3
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Murphysboro, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great tour , great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The distillery looks a little scary on the outside, but once you enter you get a nice change . The girls inside are very pleasant and you are greeted with a Cajun tea . Bob was very friendly and very informative , he knew everything there was to know about the rum !!! After the tour you get to try all four of there rums and their gingerroo, omg the gingerroo was amazing ! The ten year rum was incredibly smooth, a little pricey for me at $50 a bottle. I guess if your a rum drinker it would be well worth it and only $10 for a tour , a drink , and 5 samples .

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank subbabubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great mini tour - excellent spice rum - -wish it was available in TN - Bob does it all from driver to city tour guide and distillery guide

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

From the outside, the distillery looks a little shaky - neighborhood included. You're in for a pleasant surprise once you get through the front door. Very nice lobby/shop/tasting room. Pleasant & knowledgeable staff plus a very interesting tour of the distillery & bottling operation.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jmcm19002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenison, MI
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Fun way to spend an hour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were picked up by the Organic Banana in the French Market and whisked away for an hour long tour. For $10 it included the transportation, a cold drink upon arrival (it was a spiced ice tea cocktail and was very good) and then four samplings of their rum after the tour. Our guide was informative , pleasant, and entertaining! Very small distillery owned by a local artist. My husband loves his rum and rated it high, so we purchased some rum and gingeroo to take home. We enjoyed the tour.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jawouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old New Orleans Rum Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Old New Orleans Rum Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing