We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old New Orleans Rum Distillery

Old New Orleans Rum Distillery
2815 Frenchmen Street, New Orleans, LA 70122
+1 504-945-9400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 39 Food & Drink in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Celebration Distillery, located in the Gentilly area of New Orleans, is the Oldest Premium Rum Distillery in US and the only in Louisiana. Tours Times:Monday-Friday at 12pm, 2pm & 4pmSaturdays at 2pm & 4pm. The cost is $10/person. Call to book complimentary transportation from the French Quarter Monday-Friday.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

From the outside, the distillery looks a little shaky - neighborhood included. You're in for a pleasant surprise once you get through the front door. Very nice lobby/shop/tasting room. Pleasant & knowledgeable staff plus a very interesting tour of the distillery & bottling operation.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jmcm19002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    143
    35
    3
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jenison, MI
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Fun way to spend an hour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were picked up by the Organic Banana in the French Market and whisked away for an hour long tour. For $10 it included the transportation, a cold drink upon arrival (it was a spiced ice tea cocktail and was very good) and then four samplings of their rum after the tour. Our guide was informative , pleasant, and entertaining! Very small distillery owned by a local artist. My husband loves his rum and rated it high, so we purchased some rum and gingeroo to take home. We enjoyed the tour.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jawouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fun afternoon tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We took the tour on our first afternoon in New Orleans. Overall it was a good tour...we had a deal off Groupon, which helped push the rating up. Bob, our driver and host, was very friendly and informative. Lots of details on the process and still in general. The taste sampling should have been chilled in my opinion...but thats just because warm rum is always tough to get down.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank robram_1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Handcrafted products in NOLA, worth your time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This rum distillery is in a REALLY rough part of New Orleans. Call ahead and get the complimentary pickup in the van in the French Quarter. Some cabbies won't go out here and it's an expensive ride.

Once you are here though, grab a Cajun Tea and hit the road. The tour is basic, but informative if you know nothing about the product. The moonshine part was very cool and interesting. It was remarkable to see their packaging room and what they have done to try and increase production.

The tour is $10, in return you get a very generous sampling of all their rum at the end. 45 minutes and it's over, you can choose to buy rum, shirts, anything and then it is back in the van.

This is not life changing or anything, but it's heartening to see a small company busting their tails in a rebuilding town, this is a cool tour and worth your time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Reason88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun tour with tasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We've been on this tour twice and we plan on going again very soon. Every time we go there's something different to see and sometimes even taste. You start the tour with a rum cocktail. They explain their rum making process from molasses to labeling the bottles. They end with a rum tasting. Their rum prices are also great. I'd highly recommend.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old New Orleans Rum Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Old New Orleans Rum Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing