We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent tour!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old New Orleans Rum Distillery

Old New Orleans Rum Distillery
Ranked #7 of 47 Food & Drink in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Celebration Distillery, located in the Gentilly area of New Orleans, is the Oldest Premium Rum Distillery in US and the only in Louisiana. Tours Times:Monday-Friday at 12pm, 2pm & 4pmSaturdays at 2pm & 4pm. The cost is $10/person. Call to book complimentary transportation from the French Quarter Monday-Friday.
sc
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Our short visit to New Orleans included the tour of the Old New Orleans Rum Distillery. We were so glad we did. The tour guide was so entertaining and knowledgeable. The tastings at the end of the tour sealed our desire to purchase this wonderful product. Loved the Gingeroo and recommend it hightly. Bought 3 bottles to take home.
The aroma of the distillery should be bottled.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank anj101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    542
    151
    38
    3
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
GEORGETOWN
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband & I visited the distillery and had a great time. The people who work there are very friendly and make you feel welcome. The tour was really educational, but the tasting was awsome! The rum they make here,especially the spiced, is the best I have ever had.If you are in New Orleans,put this tour at the top of your to do list.....you will really enjoy it! Oh don't forget to try the rum cake!!!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank maryjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
“A great unscheduled stop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were traveling cross country through Lousiana and happened to pick up a flyer on the Old New Orleans Rum Distillery. We didn't have much time, but my heart wouldn't let me drive through New Orleans without at least one stop. These guys were the perfect choice! Not too far off the road, really friendly and very knowledgeable. The tour took less than an hour and the tastings at the end are proportional so we could still drive the rest of the day. The people we were with ending up taking home quite a number of bottles of the ginger-roo. Well worth the admission fee! I am not sure when we will be making it back to New Orleans, but when we do this will be one of our first stops. Highly recommended!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Ridge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
170 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Do the tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Did the tour, had a few drinks & bought some rum. The tour on how they make the rum is interesting. It was a great before dinner event

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank cgamb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss this experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Seeing,feeling, smelling,tasting the whole experience of Old New Orleans Rum Distillery is not to be missed. Our tour guide was well informed and full of information New Orleans. We felt connected to the whole process and the tasting was super! We left with lots of presents! THe history of the building is not to be missed.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Zip4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old New Orleans Rum Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Old New Orleans Rum Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing