We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the wait” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Italian Barrel

The Italian Barrel
Reserve with OpenTable
The Italian Barrel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #193 of 1,919 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: Decatur Street
Transit: Street car stops just one block away
Level Contributor
103 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had to make reservations to sit at the bar and felt fortunate to get them. The place is very tiny but has outside tables that would be perfect for lunch and people watching. The Black Truffle Ravioli were outstanding $19.00. Hubby had an Osso Bucco over Polenta that came with a small green salad. Tiramisu was much better than average. Pretty good wine list. All in all a very good meal if you're looking for Italian in New Orleans. I understand the owner is from Northern Italy. I prefer a nicer atmosphere for dlinner (with a place to have a drink while you're waiting) but I think lunch outside would be fabulous.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    92
    45
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
trips10110
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Excellent bread and fresh food. Very good portion sizes, tucked in at the end of french quarter right next to Louisiana Pizza Kitchen which was a fun place to eat at too, but not nearly as good as this place.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank trips10110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Mississippi
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Little taste of Italy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed this small restaurant in New Orleans. The polenta appetizer of three types was okay, not a fan of the lardo polenta. The Gnocchi reminded me of Rome. It was great. The special was a medium rare filet with a bed of arugula over it with a side of spinach. It was excellent! It also has a good selection of wine. The dining room is small but intimate. If you want good Italian food in New Orleans this is it.

Helpful?
Thank FRaven_309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Little Slice of Italy in NOLA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were on a trip to the French Quarter in New Orleans over Christmas when we discovered this little treasure of a restaurant. We had seen it a couple of years ago on a past visit but other commitments prevented us from trying it out. We vowed then to make sure to eat there the next time we were in town and are we (my wife and I) glad we did. We went for lunch our first day back in town and loved it so much we went back for lunch on Christmas day. The food was fantastic! Samantha, the owner and chef, is originally from Verona, Italy, so the food is authentically Italian.

We travelled to Italy once and walking into The Italian Barrel was like we were taking a step out of New Orleans right into our favorite restaurant in Italy, A Casa Mia. Both restaurants are small and intimate like Italian restaurants should be and although The Italian Barrel isn't run by a family like A Casa Mia was, it had that same family feel because the wait staff treated everyone like family. The staff was very attentive and cordial with pleasant interactions but never to the point of over doing it or being intrusiveness.

The meals prepared by Samantha were outstanding! We enjoyed the Porcini and Truffles Ravioli immensely as our introduction to the restaurant and if I remember correctly we had the Fusilli Pasta on Christmas Day and it was crazy good!

We will definitely be going back to the Italian Barrel next time we are in New Orleans. If you want to experience a true Italian restaurant, the Italian Barrel is a great way to get that experience without really going to Italy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HabeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
108 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Like to keep it a Secret was so good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The chef is a young lady from Italy whose mother was originally New Orleans native. Will let waiters fill you in on the detail. All you need to know is the food is fabulous. Robert Deniro loves the place and once got takeout sent to Hollywood. The veal chop special was magnificent. Reservations a mus.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ProfD81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Italian Barrel also viewed

 

Been to The Italian Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing