We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a great deal!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AAE Bourbon House Mansion & Hostel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This was a great deal!!!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My best friends and I stayed in a 4 bed private room with bunks. It was perfect for us. We were immediately greeted and made to feel welcome by Ula. She was very helpful and even helped us when we were in a bind and couldn't find a cab. The others were ok too but she was AWESOME!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweet4aurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    31
    33
    20
    13
See reviews for
1
24
55
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
152 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights during convention. Was in bunk beds with 5 other girls. Didn't have noise problem. Workers very friendly and has better than average perks of hostel including free pancakes and internet as well as a few social spaces to talk with other travelers. Bring your own towels.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mcmusgro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

When we first arrived at Bourbon House, we were a bit concerned that we were in a dodgy suburb far from the CBD and French Quarter. It turned out to be not so far (accessible to public transport, but a bit of a walk to town). The staff were absolutely brilliant. Made our stay very comfortable, our own little Bourbon House Family. Pam is sassy and hilarious, but you don't want to mess with her. Chad was always a laugh and great to have a chat with. Not the fanciest of Hostels, but has all the necessities, it is really the staff that make Bourbon House great.

"We are so liberal, incest is ok." Good memories.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Britt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My husband & I stayed at AAE Bourbon House for 2 nights after already staying for 3 nights in a lovely hotel in the French Quarter. Due to expensive weekend rates we decided to book a private room at this hostel to save some money, and also to experience a different area of New Orleans. We weren't expecting the Hilton, but after reading some great reviews of this property we were expecting a pretty decent hostel. Unfortunately we weren't very impressed.
Pros- great location near Magazine street- close to restaurants, bars & public transport. Walmart a 10 minute walk away. Nice & clean kitchen if you want to cook your own meals. Free pancakes for breakfast. Free WiFi. Big outdoor area if you want to have a few drinks & mingle with the other guests.
Cons- Private room was tiny & cramped. Bed was old & uncomfortable. Bathrooms were messy & felt really unclean (toilet paper on the ground, water everywhere, pubic hairs on the taps. I felt dirtier after having a shower. Definitely wear your flip flops in there!) To be fair the state of the bathrooms is not the hostels fault but maybe they should clean them more frequently because by the end of the day they are just plain gross.
We really needed to do some washing but you could only put your load on after 4pm, which was kind of annoying because we would want to be out and about for the evening by this time.
Worst of all though, this hostel is NOISY!! our room was situated in the hallway right in front of the bathroom. The floor boards are creaky and we were woken every time someone went to the toilet or walked down the hallway. Worst 2 nights sleep ever. Bring earplugs.
We are not fussy people & all it takes to keep us happy is accommodation that is clean & comfortable. We did not find this hostel to be either, and have stayed in far better than this.

Room Tip: Ask for a private room that's not next to the bathroom. It's not worth the extra money other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chazbangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at AAE Bourbon House Mansion & Hostel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We are sorry you felt this way about the Number 1 Hostel in New Orleans. Going further in any of your journeys, never allow yourself not to say any of the things mention to the staff itself. If you weren't happy with your room after the first night, we would have moved you away from the bathroom on your second night. If you felt the bathrooms were not as clean, we would have loved to have cleaned them right before your shower.

However, to try to compare us to a hotel in the French Quarter is not fair or ethical. We are a International Youth Hostel, and that is why you paid almost a 4th of what you paid in your "French Quarter Hotel".

Our hostel is fun and vibrant and we are designed for travelers who want to enjoy our amazing back yard patio, and take part of our fun and exciting nightly events. Not stay in their rooms and he unhappy!

Good luck on your journeys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hostel is wonderful. Jason is the manager and he is the greatest in assisting all of the travelers in their every need. Basic amenities are included and this hostel is very clean. It was a pleasure to meet other travelers in this hostel. I would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whathekitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have just left AAE Bourbon House having extended our stay by one day because we just couldn't leave.

In terms of basic hostelling requirements - the rooms are fine, could do with some shelving for those in the top bunks but so could every other hostel in America... Laundry service is excellent and the showers stay hot all day. Breakfast pancakes are lovely and there are a lot of free food events - for example. we were fed barbecue and given supplies to make a lovely Thanksgiving dinner.

The atmosphere at the hostel is the best I've ever experienced - this is my third major backpacking trip in my third continent and I've never experienced such a wonderful, welcoming atmosphere. The manager, Jason, bends over backwards to make sure his guests are happy, content and having fun. He will take you on the best and most ridiculous night out of your life but will not treat you and your hangover delicately the next day. Chad, who works on the desk, is one of the kindest people I've had the good fortune to meet - approachable with any question and an excellent balance to his counterpart. They are honestly the most fun people I've stayed with, encouraging a real family vibe for the hostel.

Absolutely can't fault it, we were gutted to leave.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oystereyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This place restored my faith in American hostels! The staff Jason and Chad were extremely friendly and welcoming. They were very helpful in recommending places to see and things to do. There were pancakes in the morning, and the kitchen/fridge was a decent size. They do have laundry facilites but only at certain times so get in quick or you'll miss out. The rooms were the standard level you could expect from the hostel, but having to share bathrooms with other dorms meant there was usually a wait. There is a cool little outdoor area for people to hang around and I met a lot of fun people staying at the hostel. Jason even took us out to Taco Tuesday's at Lucy's, which is definitely worth going to. It's not too far from bourbon street, the french quarter or the garden district. Hire a bike and you'll be at either of these in 5-10 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Mid-City
NOLA Jazz House
NOLA Jazz House
#13 of 35 in New Orleans
118 reviews
Mid-City
Site 61 Hostel
Site 61 Hostel
#9 of 35 in New Orleans
73 reviews
Garden District
Garden District House
Garden District House
#21 of 35 in New Orleans
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Auberge NOLA Hostel
#1 of 35 in New Orleans
222 reviews
Garden District
The Atlas House
The Atlas House
#17 of 35 in New Orleans
88 reviews
The Quisby
#4 of 35 in New Orleans
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AAE Bourbon House Mansion & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AAE Bourbon House Mansion & Hostel

Property: AAE Bourbon House Mansion & Hostel
Address: 1660 Annunciation St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 Specialty Lodging in New Orleans
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are AAE Bourbon House Mansion and Hostel, located only 18 minutes walking to the French Quarter and famous "Bourbon Street". In the "lower Garden District" we are 5 minutes walk to the Convention Center and the only Guest House/ Hostel that provides a FREE Shuttle to and from Greyhound and Amtrack. We also have airport shuttle for as low as $15 a person. All guests, either dorm beds or deluxe private rooms get to enjoy FREE BREAKFAST, Free Internet, Free Shuttles, Free Parking and a great Guest House full of European Travelers that create an exciting environment. We welcome all ages and have private rooms for families that sleep up to 8 people available. We are the "top rated" hostel in New Orleans and there is a reason for that... because were the best choice from the traveling public viewpoint! Come stay with us and be happy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your AAE Bourbon House Mansion & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aae Bourbon House Mansion And Hostel
Aae Bourbon House Mansion Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing