We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting short side trip”

New Orleans Pharmacy Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.00*
and up
Crescent City History Tour
More Info
$14.99*
and up
New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Haunted Houses of the French Quarter Walking Tour
Ranked #28 of 358 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the site of the first licensed apothecary shop, the Pharmacy Museum includes cures for anything that ails you including voodoo potions and other weird medicines.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Interesting short side trip”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is a self-guided tour using a binder handed out when you enter and some signs on some of the display. There are a lot of interesting pieces of equipment and device from the history of pharmacy and medicine. It is interesting to see the items that were once use as medicine which we now know as poison. Also the soda fountain near the entrance is amazing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankandJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    177
    57
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Must-do for Pharmacists”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I found out about this museum while looking on TripAdvisor for things to do in New Orleans. My brother has lived there for a few years so I'm looking for new stuff every time I visit. I've been in the French Quarter several times but never noticed this museum even though I probably walked by it before. It's a great place to see some of the artifacts I had learned about during school. I went around noon on Friday so I could take the guided tour which I highly recommend. There are cards explaining things around the museum but our guide had a lot of knowledge about specific items. It sounded like if there weren't enough people, there wouldn't have been a tour. There were 3 of us so we got to see things close up. Highly recommended for pharmacists and any healthcare professionals.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good for healthcare professionals”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We only had the self guided option available. It was difficult to read some of the things but there was definitely a lot to see. It was interesting and affordable.

Helpful?
Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Alot of cool stuff”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We found out about this place from a suggestion by one of the tour guides we had. My girlfriend works in medicine, so she wanted to go here. It is only $5/person to get in, which is a great price for the amount of stuff they have in here. It is alot of reading with no "interactive" displays, so kids may find it a bit tedious and boring. Everything is displayed in different categories, and there is alot of stuff to look at and read about. It is amazing how far we have come in medicine and it is interesting to look back at the medical stuff they used back then. There is a courtyard out back and a second floor full of displays. So if you look in the window when they are closed, don't assume the room you see is the whole museum. For $5 a person, this was a great stop with alot of cool things to look at and read about.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“You will learn interesting new things here!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spent a long time in this museum from 1823's. There were many early medical devices, pills, prescriptions, and medical information that we knew nothing about before reading all the informative signs. There was a lot about early alcohol and drug use and the problems associated with that. Two floors of displays to visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank taffyo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Orleans Pharmacy Museum also viewed

 

Been to New Orleans Pharmacy Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing