We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good...room location terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites
Ranked #120 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed November 6, 2010

Ok now this hotel is nice...a little bit of a parking issue but nothing that wasn't fixed quickly...and it's really located in an area with plenty of restaurants...only thing is I don't appreciate the location of the room we were in...near the stairs, elevator, ice machine, and maid supply room...horrible noises...also the elevator door doesn't close all the way...I was going to mention all to the fringe desk, but my husband didn't want to deal with moving everything, but I feel as though they knew these were issues when they placed us in this room and just didn't care...no way they haven't had complaints before

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louisianamrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,045)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

848 - 854 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2010

I was excited about this hotel due to the high rateings but noticed that several people comment on the condition of the hotel and there dissappointment with the property. When I arrived I asked to be shown the property and my room prior to checking in. The are of the hotel is in the a nice area but the pictures look better then the rooms. When I inspected my room the paint was peeling in the bathroom and on my way down stairs I noticed that the hand rails were not very secure. I moved to a Marriott down town and enjoyed my stay there. The front desk clerk was nice enough to cancel my room but wanted to say I agree that this may not be as good as the pictures.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TexanXXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

I have stayed at this motel twice--most recently for 3 nights during Tulane parent weekend. We arrived early and were told along with other guests there was no way to check-in, but we could leave our luggage and check back around 3 for a room. Most motels will reserve a room for you, and give you the key after it is cleaned. The room we had was quiet, but is starting to show wear. The shower head needed to be replaced. The room had a mild odor (unlike the room of our first visit) and the air conditioner did not seem to work properly. There was no bed spread on the bed and we were told that is normal. The breakfast is poorly run and as another reviewer noted, not well-stocked. As compared with other hotels I have stayed at, the breakfast is poorly run. We finally went to a restaurant the final morning, and if we stay there again, will avoid the breakfast. Our room was relatively quiet, so the night's sleep was good. The area is not the best and is a long walk to the Quarter, and too far to walk to Tulane. The streetcar is located out front, so transportation is not a huge issue. In summary--the motel is adequate and I will stay there again if other motels are not available. Hopefully, the owners will make sure the motel does not fall further into disrepair (another longer time guest told me she has seen the motel also decline in quality).

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScottWChapelHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We were visiting for Tulane's Family weekend. Location is okay for Tulane visitors. Other than that, it is just a mediocre motel. We were in an end room and did not feel very safe since the location is in a more sketchy area. Saw a couple of homeless people hanging around. The parking lot where you park to check in is shared with a Wendy's. You then have to park across a street and pay $17 just for the privilege. When we went down for breakfast, just about everything was gone except for bagels and toast, and this was an hour before breakfast ends.
We just did not have a safe and comfortable feeling staying there.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kherb43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel several times. It is very peaceful and quiet. Tony Goodo and the rest of the staff treat you like you are family. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. Tony goes out of his way to make sure everyone's stay is the best. He arranges tours and takes time to help you find restaurants or orders a taxi. He takes a personal interest in his guests to make sure they have the very best time in New Orleans.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cgreen57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We were lucky enough to get #145, one of the oldest bulidings...500 years old. We had our own porch where we sat amongst the lush landscaping. The staff made our stay very enjoyable! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rexpopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed two nights at this charming hotel. Very clean and well kept, the staff was nice and the room was lovely. We loved the ambience - the courtyard was great for sitting out in the evening with a bottle of wine. Being able to hop on the trolley to get around was fantastic. $5 will get you an all-day pass, and we went to the zoo (there is a shuttle that will take you from the trolley to the zoo, or you can enjoy a lovely walk thru the park) and also to the French Quarter. We had sushi at a great place just a few doors down. We'll definately be going back here!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malicetx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Historic Streetcar Inn
#141 of 166 in New Orleans
629 reviews
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#102 of 166 in New Orleans
170 reviews
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#72 of 166 in New Orleans
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
#95 of 166 in New Orleans
342 reviews
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#65 of 166 in New Orleans
1,475 reviews
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#88 of 166 in New Orleans
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites

Address: 1319 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-4335 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: $95 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites™ Maison St. Charles is conveniently located on St. Charles Avenue, near the French Quarter and the central business district. The St. Charles Streetcar, the oldest continuously operating streetcar line in the world, runs right at the hotel's front door. This New Orleans, LA hotel is close to popular attractions, including the Audubon Aquarium of the Americas, the Audubon Zoo, Mississippi River Cruises, the Louisiana Superdome and the University of New Orleans.The hotel has just completed an extensive remodeling of the grounds and guest rooms, including 32-inch flat-screen televisions, painted walls instead of wallpaper, new carpet and new vanities that rival those of higher priced hotels.The Unofficial Guide to New Orleans (Macmillan Travel) named this hotel the Best Accommodation Deal in New Orleans.Hotel amenities include free continental breakfast, free local calls, free in-room coffee, free The Wall Street Journal, free in-room premium movies and delicious free coffee, juice and pastries. Be sure to take advantage of the outdoor pool with hot tub and poolside cabana.This New Orleans, LA hotel provides business travelers with conveniences like wireless high-speed Internet and access to fax services. Meeting and banquet space is available to accommodate most events and business functions.The guest rooms are located in buildings that surround patios with tropical flowers, plants and trees. Five of the hotel's buildings are listed as historically significant by the United States Department of the Interior. Select rooms come equipped with refrigerators and microwaves.Whether traveling to New Orleans, Louisiana for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles provides friendly customer service, unique accommodations and affordable rates to every guest. Come enjoy this hidden gem in the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Quality Inn New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing