We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites
Ranked #120 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The location of this hotel is great. The streetcar stops right in front, or if you are so inclined, you can walk to the French Quarter. The person at the front desk was friendly and was able to answer all of our questions. Our room was great, even though we did have a slight problem with getting towels/washrags replaced. Other than that, we had a very enjoyable experience. I had a question about an extra charge (minimal) on my CC after I got back so I called and left a message for someone to call me back. They called me back the next day and all was taken care of. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

We appreciate you choosing Maison St. Charles and are glad that you would stay with us again! Thank you for providing feedback to us as it helps us improve our service and product for our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,045)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

The hotel is nicely located. There is a street car stop directly in front of the hotel and it is within walking distance of the French Quarter for those who like to walk, although it is probably too far if you are not used to long walks. The front desk was friendly and helped with directions and recommendations. All the employees we met were very friendly. The pool and hot tub didn't look as clean as I would have liked it, but the courtyards are very nice and quiet, a great place to meet family and friends at the end of the day. Rooms were good size and were cleaned properly. There is a restaurant attached that is not part of the hotel, we would not eat there, the restrooms were filthy. There are plenty of good restaurants within walking distance. Breakfast was decent, not great, but enough choices to get your morning started. One recommendation for the hotel is to add a soap holder to the remodeled showers. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Micheal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Where to start with this one.The hotel and surrounding complex is lovely, typical New Orleans and traditional.The staff are friendly and it's in a good spot for all areas, the streetcar stop is just outside the hotel.
Unfortunately there are a couple of problem areas. We arrived as a party of eight (two booked separate from us). All rooms booked were King suites, upon arrival we were given two King Suites and two King rooms. It took a further 3/4 days for this to be rectified despite the booking being made over ten months earlier.Of the six rooms only two of the safes worked, and those that did one had to be broken into rendering it unusable and the other had to be completely reset after being locked out.
Don't expect ultra cleanliness,dust was a problem. The two King Rooms had shower rails that kept falling down. Some of us had to leave notes for cleaners to leave things such as coffee and remind them to empty the bins.The sink in our room leaked very badly from the u bend, this was reported to reception and housekeeping but still not repaired upon leaving (been leaking for a week). The curtains were too heavy for the tracks and kept falling off leaving us unable to close the curtains fully.
Last but not least the breakfast. The beginning of the week was great,everything was available. This slowly deteriorates day by day until all you are left with is biscuits, bagels and waffles. After asking the staff we were informed they were waiting for the weekly order to arrive.
Overall this is a good hotel but not up too the usual Quality Inn standard. That being said we all had a fabulous time and it wouldn't take a lot to make this place great.
The decision is yours.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that has been recently refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharike2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Every review helps us to become a better facility. I would like to apologize for your less than satisfactory stay with us. The Maintenance, Housekeeping, Billing and Breakfast issues mentioned will be addressed immediately with the respective departments. We are in the process of upgrading our Breakfast and we will be renovating our suites. we take pride in running a clean, comfortable hotel and expect nothing less for each and every guest. Again, I would like to sincerely apologize for your less than satisfactory stay. I hope you give us another chance to show you that this is not the norm for our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This one when we looked at it looked really nice and when we went there it was mixed. Here are the positives.

First off the staff at reception are very good. They were very helpful and gave us a lot of good information on the city and did their job. When we had any problems they immediately seen to it. They were first class when arranging our travel to the airport and booking a swamp trip on our behalf.

Secondly the location is very good. It's right next to the streetcar that takes you to the heart of New Orleans, but it isn't far away so it can be walked.

Thirdly the courtyard look really nice and their wasn't any hassle with noise, nuisance or housekeeping.

Now on to the problems....

1-Management

This isn't aimed at reception staff but one of the washing machines stopped working and when we reported it the manager said they will check it out, they never did and we had to wait til the other one was free. I found it very rude that when I was told that someone would come and no one does then it's a big let down. Reception staff i saw with my own eyes contacted them but nothing was done.

2-Cleanliness

This isn't cleaned well. The housekeeping staff really need trained properly. We found dirt and old feathers under the bed. My girlfriend found a cockroach one morning and nothing was done. There was also a really bad smell when we first arrived. This has put me off returning to the hotel.

The pool nearby us is also neglected visibly as it wasn't cleaned out every day like it should.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding the issue you mention on your recent visit, will be addressed with the respective departments immediately. We strive to run a clean, comfortable hotel and expect nothing less for each and every guest. If you find yourself back in New Orleans, I hope you consider staying with us to show you that this is not the standards for our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Hotel housed in several very old buildings right on St. Charles Street. Although basic, the rooms are large and comfortable, complete with flat screen TV and in-room WiFi. The bathrooms have been recently renovated, with a large glass shower replacing the bathtub (note if you have kids that need a tub). The courtyards are quiet and peaceful, one featuring a small swimming pool. The continental breakfast (including several hot items) was adequate. Although the area is a bit "shady", there is 24-hour security. There is guest laundry, but no fitness room (although free passes are available to a fitness club across the street). The location is great - hop on the St. Charles streetcar out front and you're on Canal Street in ten minutes. There are several good restaurants within a block or so (an Emeril's, Matt Murphy's Irish House, etc.). All in all, good value for the money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B_and_N_and_5_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

We appreciate you taking time to leave us comments on your recent stay! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we have passed along your comments to our staff. Please feel free to reach out to us when planning your next trip to New Orleans. We would love to have you as our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We enjoyed our stay so much. The staff was wonderful, the room was great!! Great place for families with kids they played in the courtyard and had a wonderful time!! We will definatly stay again!! The breakfast was a plus the kids really enjoyed an was a great start to the day!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lsjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

We are excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We have passed along your comments to our staff and are so proud that they took great care of you. Thank you for leaving us your feedback. We hope to see you again the next time you are visiting New Orleans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Hard to imagine this pace is right on St. Charles a couple of blocks from interstate 20. While I enjoyed the location when I booked I was concerned about traffic and noise. Neither were an issue. This place was quiet. Clean. Beautifully landscaped. Organized parking with 24 hour security. Loved the breakfast. Fleur de Les on my Waffle. "How about that!" The pool was clean. I didn't get in it yet the people in it were enjoying themselves. The street car was right at the front of the hotel. How convenient. Everything was convenient.

Room Tip: They have elevators so any room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelinPawPaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for the kind comments! We are so excited to hear that you were pleased with your stay. We strive to meet our guests' expectations and glad we were able to meet yours. We hope to see you again soon in New Orleans as we would love to have you as our guest again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Historic Streetcar Inn
#141 of 166 in New Orleans
629 reviews
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#102 of 166 in New Orleans
170 reviews
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#72 of 166 in New Orleans
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
#95 of 166 in New Orleans
342 reviews
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#65 of 166 in New Orleans
1,475 reviews
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#88 of 166 in New Orleans
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites

Address: 1319 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-4335 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: $95 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites™ Maison St. Charles is conveniently located on St. Charles Avenue, near the French Quarter and the central business district. The St. Charles Streetcar, the oldest continuously operating streetcar line in the world, runs right at the hotel's front door. This New Orleans, LA hotel is close to popular attractions, including the Audubon Aquarium of the Americas, the Audubon Zoo, Mississippi River Cruises, the Louisiana Superdome and the University of New Orleans.The hotel has just completed an extensive remodeling of the grounds and guest rooms, including 32-inch flat-screen televisions, painted walls instead of wallpaper, new carpet and new vanities that rival those of higher priced hotels.The Unofficial Guide to New Orleans (Macmillan Travel) named this hotel the Best Accommodation Deal in New Orleans.Hotel amenities include free continental breakfast, free local calls, free in-room coffee, free The Wall Street Journal, free in-room premium movies and delicious free coffee, juice and pastries. Be sure to take advantage of the outdoor pool with hot tub and poolside cabana.This New Orleans, LA hotel provides business travelers with conveniences like wireless high-speed Internet and access to fax services. Meeting and banquet space is available to accommodate most events and business functions.The guest rooms are located in buildings that surround patios with tropical flowers, plants and trees. Five of the hotel's buildings are listed as historically significant by the United States Department of the Interior. Select rooms come equipped with refrigerators and microwaves.Whether traveling to New Orleans, Louisiana for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles provides friendly customer service, unique accommodations and affordable rates to every guest. Come enjoy this hidden gem in the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Quality Inn New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing