We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maison St. Charles by Hotel RL
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
$279
$239
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$392
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$150
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$215
$194
Courtyard
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
$343
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$309
$229
FourPoints.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$207
$189
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$226
$170
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,079)
Filter reviews
1,079 results
Traveler rating
306
362
213
117
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
362
213
117
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsemeril's delmonicofrench quarterpool and hot tubtrolley lineyogurtday passmardi grasan older hotelwwii museumvalet parkingcourtyardnolacharmcruise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
494 - 499 of 1,079 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We saw our first room in the motel part of the property....it was so dirty that we asked immediately for a new room. We upgraded to a beautiful room in the plantation style building. We were on the first floor and the room had a separate bedroom/living room with gorgeous old New Orleans style features (14 ft ceilings, crown molding, pocket doors,2 decorative fireplaces.) However, the lack of maintenance of this hotel shows even in its most expensive room (though the price was still quite low.) On our 5th day the rat I thought I'd only imagined seeing out of the corner of my eye on our first night came out to say hello. The 2 kind maintenance men who came to remove it told me not to worry because they are always able to trap and remove the rats -- so obviously this was not a one time occurrence. And our room was on the first floor (easy access for the rat.) However, the 2nd story room in the plantation bldg. had a hole in the wall behind a dresser so large that rats could have easily come in to that room, as well.

Stephanie, the hotel manager, does not do her job. A cigar left on the edge of the hot tub outside remained for 3 days until I picked it up. The pool itself was very dirty. Blonde hair was all over the carpeting in out room from a previous guest, used matchsticks, as well. 2 face towels in our room were dirty (not simply stained....but one had fresh dirt on it.) The garbage cans placed on the outdoor walkways were always overflowing and the general maintenance of the place was sorely lacking.

We were visiting at the most quiet time of the year (Christmas Eve, Day and that week) not during Mardi Gras or other fest time when one could expect service to be tested.
Another small hotel proprietor down the street told me that after Katrina
New Orleans lost so much of its service providers that even the high end hotels are having difficulty staffing satisfactorily. That said, Stephanie (the manager) was not helpful or concerned at all by our, or other guests, issues with the hotel.
This is NOT a Quality Inn.......Even at this very low price a traveler can certainly do better....Just walk a block more to one of the small inns that are so much better maintained.

I even notified the New Orleans Department of Public Health upon my return home because I was so concerned about the level of disrepair and filth in this establishment.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank annall_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, Front Office Manager at Maison St. Charles by Hotel RL, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2015

Thank You! We really appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your thoughts. We are very sorry your stay was not favorable. We will also work with the Housekeeping Department to resolve the issues so that they may not arise again. We hope you’ll give us another chance to demonstrate everything we have to offer, as well as, the renovations we have made.
Thank You Again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I booked our trip for our recent Mardi Gras weekend stay (2/27/14-3/3/14) and used the reviews for the judgement. I was told to stay on St. Charles street as the parades go through there which is true. However the location of this hotel, that is all that did happen.

We stayed the one night with one 1/2 hours of sleep and found another hotel (Hotel Monteleone) in the French Quarters which was a relief.

This hotel was dirty, the toilet had not been cleaned, the remote and privacy signs were missing, and there was no safe. They did bring the remote but the privacy signs had been locked up. We were starving and only had take out as a close option because the Popeyes and Wendys were closed and the staff didnt recommend us to go out any further that late (10:30pm). I have stayed in low-end hotels and high end hotels, and the main reason I decided to switch was because I didnt feel safe and didn't feel safe leaving our belonging in our room. There was a Walgreens about 3 or so blocks away but the staff said you can go if you really have to, which wasn't very assuring.

We switched to Hotel Monteleone, full well knowing I wouldn't get money back (it was a non-refundable booking) and that I would have to pay another chunk of money for another hotel, but that nagging to get out of there was that strong.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Razaanah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, Front Office Manager at Maison St. Charles by Hotel RL, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2015

Thank You! We really appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your thoughts. We are very sorry your stay was not favorable. We will also work with the Housekeeping Department to resolve the issues so that they may not arise again. We hope you’ll give us another chance to demonstrate everything we have to offer, as well as, the renovations we have made.
Thank You Again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice (2011 and 2014)....both times during the week leading up to Mardi Gras. The hotel is ideally situated to view a majority of the MG parades.........right at front door. Public transportaion (street Car)is also right at the front door,......makes it easy to get to the French Quarter and elsewhere. The problem, the hotel is poorly maintained and operated.......in other words poor management. The rooms are dull, tired, and in need of deep cleaning. As an example we had a Mini Suite.....the door was loose and rattled in the wind, the bottom of the bath tub was black, and the area around the overflow drain rusted. Light switches dirty,burned out lightbulbs, dust buildup where vacuum cannot reach etc. The condition of the carpet was such that you would not touch it withyour bare feet. We ate breakfast (included in the rate) twice, both times we were disappointed.....no milk, no orange juice, no cold cereal. Eggs and sausage in a steam pan dripping with water. Parking is extra so the overall cost of a night's stay is not cheap.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GSM338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, Front Office Manager at Maison St. Charles by Hotel RL, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2015

Thank You! We really appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your thoughts. We are very sorry your stay was not favorable. We will also work with the Housekeeping Department to resolve the issues so that they may not arise again. We hope you’ll give us another chance to demonstrate everything we have to offer, as well as, the renovations we have made.
Thank You Again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The Maison St Charles has been working hard on improvements to their hotel. We have always loved to stay at the Maison St Charles. We have stayed there at least 7 or 8 times. We love that it is on the street car line as well as the parade route during Mardi Gras. We have never been disappointed with this hotel. It is a great place to stay on a budget in New Orleans. They have done a recent remodel to their bathrooms making them very modern and clean. Very comfy beds! And you can not say enough about the helpful, friendly staff!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank burlykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, Manager at Maison St. Charles by Hotel RL, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you so much for the kind comments! We truly appreciate your loyalty to the Maison St. Charles! We have been working on our improvements, which are just about complete! We hope you will be back again soon to see the end product!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I have stayed here several times over the years by myself, with my husband and this time with a girlfriend. So far, the experience has been very consistent. Even though the hotel was at full occupancy , the courtyard and room were quiet and clean. The bed was new and comfortable with European sized pillows that I discovered I liked better than my king sized ones at home. The old bathtub was removed and replaced with a large walk in shower. They hadn't yet installed any fixture for your soap and shampoo, etc. and it was awkward having to put it on the floor. The staff was very helpful getting keys re-coded and opening the car lot for me when it was locked during parades. Having a fridge and microwave allowed us to enjoy some too good to toss leftovers. There is security 24/7 and now there are two gated parking lots now. Don't forget to show your AAA card when you go for free parking.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, Manager at Maison St. Charles by Hotel RL, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you for letting us know how we are doing! We sincerely appreciate your loyalty to the Maison St. Charles! The fixtures in the bathrooms will soon be installed and we are just about finished with the improvements we have been working to complete. We can't wait for you to come back to see what we have done! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews