We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“RAT IN ROOM” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites
Ranked #111 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“RAT IN ROOM”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We saw our first room in the motel part of the property....it was so dirty that we asked immediately for a new room. We upgraded to a beautiful room in the plantation style building. We were on the first floor and the room had a separate bedroom/living room with gorgeous old New Orleans style features (14 ft ceilings, crown molding, pocket doors,2 decorative fireplaces.) However, the lack of maintenance of this hotel shows even in its most expensive room (though the price was still quite low.) On our 5th day the rat I thought I'd only imagined seeing out of the corner of my eye on our first night came out to say hello. The 2 kind maintenance men who came to remove it told me not to worry because they are always able to trap and remove the rats -- so obviously this was not a one time occurrence. And our room was on the first floor (easy access for the rat.) However, the 2nd story room in the plantation bldg. had a hole in the wall behind a dresser so large that rats could have easily come in to that room, as well.

Stephanie, the hotel manager, does not do her job. A cigar left on the edge of the hot tub outside remained for 3 days until I picked it up. The pool itself was very dirty. Blonde hair was all over the carpeting in out room from a previous guest, used matchsticks, as well. 2 face towels in our room were dirty (not simply stained....but one had fresh dirt on it.) The garbage cans placed on the outdoor walkways were always overflowing and the general maintenance of the place was sorely lacking.

We were visiting at the most quiet time of the year (Christmas Eve, Day and that week) not during Mardi Gras or other fest time when one could expect service to be tested.
Another small hotel proprietor down the street told me that after Katrina
New Orleans lost so much of its service providers that even the high end hotels are having difficulty staffing satisfactorily. That said, Stephanie (the manager) was not helpful or concerned at all by our, or other guests, issues with the hotel.
This is NOT a Quality Inn.......Even at this very low price a traveler can certainly do better....Just walk a block more to one of the small inns that are so much better maintained.

I even notified the New Orleans Department of Public Health upon my return home because I was so concerned about the level of disrepair and filth in this establishment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank annall_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, Front Office Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 28, 2015
Thank You! We really appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your thoughts. We are very sorry your stay was not favorable. We will also work with the Housekeeping Department to resolve the issues so that they may not arise again. We hope you’ll give us another chance to demonstrate everything we have to offer, as well as, the renovations we have made.
Thank You Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    335
    191
    105
    70
See reviews for
268
315
33
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

I booked our trip for our recent Mardi Gras weekend stay (2/27/14-3/3/14) and used the reviews for the judgement. I was told to stay on St. Charles street as the parades go through there which is true. However the location of this hotel, that is all that did happen.

We stayed the one night with one 1/2 hours of sleep and found another hotel (Hotel Monteleone) in the French Quarters which was a relief.

This hotel was dirty, the toilet had not been cleaned, the remote and privacy signs were missing, and there was no safe. They did bring the remote but the privacy signs had been locked up. We were starving and only had take out as a close option because the Popeyes and Wendys were closed and the staff didnt recommend us to go out any further that late (10:30pm). I have stayed in low-end hotels and high end hotels, and the main reason I decided to switch was because I didnt feel safe and didn't feel safe leaving our belonging in our room. There was a Walgreens about 3 or so blocks away but the staff said you can go if you really have to, which wasn't very assuring.

We switched to Hotel Monteleone, full well knowing I wouldn't get money back (it was a non-refundable booking) and that I would have to pay another chunk of money for another hotel, but that nagging to get out of there was that strong.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Razaanah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, Front Office Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 28, 2015
Thank You! We really appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your thoughts. We are very sorry your stay was not favorable. We will also work with the Housekeeping Department to resolve the issues so that they may not arise again. We hope you’ll give us another chance to demonstrate everything we have to offer, as well as, the renovations we have made.
Thank You Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice (2011 and 2014)....both times during the week leading up to Mardi Gras. The hotel is ideally situated to view a majority of the MG parades.........right at front door. Public transportaion (street Car)is also right at the front door,......makes it easy to get to the French Quarter and elsewhere. The problem, the hotel is poorly maintained and operated.......in other words poor management. The rooms are dull, tired, and in need of deep cleaning. As an example we had a Mini Suite.....the door was loose and rattled in the wind, the bottom of the bath tub was black, and the area around the overflow drain rusted. Light switches dirty,burned out lightbulbs, dust buildup where vacuum cannot reach etc. The condition of the carpet was such that you would not touch it withyour bare feet. We ate breakfast (included in the rate) twice, both times we were disappointed.....no milk, no orange juice, no cold cereal. Eggs and sausage in a steam pan dripping with water. Parking is extra so the overall cost of a night's stay is not cheap.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GSM338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, Front Office Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 28, 2015
Thank You! We really appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your thoughts. We are very sorry your stay was not favorable. We will also work with the Housekeeping Department to resolve the issues so that they may not arise again. We hope you’ll give us another chance to demonstrate everything we have to offer, as well as, the renovations we have made.
Thank You Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, WI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

The Maison St Charles has been working hard on improvements to their hotel. We have always loved to stay at the Maison St Charles. We have stayed there at least 7 or 8 times. We love that it is on the street car line as well as the parade route during Mardi Gras. We have never been disappointed with this hotel. It is a great place to stay on a budget in New Orleans. They have done a recent remodel to their bathrooms making them very modern and clean. Very comfy beds! And you can not say enough about the helpful, friendly staff!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank burlykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind comments! We truly appreciate your loyalty to the Maison St. Charles! We have been working on our improvements, which are just about complete! We hope you will be back again soon to see the end product!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice FL
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

I have stayed here several times over the years by myself, with my husband and this time with a girlfriend. So far, the experience has been very consistent. Even though the hotel was at full occupancy , the courtyard and room were quiet and clean. The bed was new and comfortable with European sized pillows that I discovered I liked better than my king sized ones at home. The old bathtub was removed and replaced with a large walk in shower. They hadn't yet installed any fixture for your soap and shampoo, etc. and it was awkward having to put it on the floor. The staff was very helpful getting keys re-coded and opening the car lot for me when it was locked during parades. Having a fridge and microwave allowed us to enjoy some too good to toss leftovers. There is security 24/7 and now there are two gated parking lots now. Don't forget to show your AAA card when you go for free parking.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for letting us know how we are doing! We sincerely appreciate your loyalty to the Maison St. Charles! The fixtures in the bathrooms will soon be installed and we are just about finished with the improvements we have been working to complete. We can't wait for you to come back to see what we have done! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
275 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We checked in with Ashley on 7/3/13. Ashley was VERY HELPFUL giving us food suggestions AND how to use the Streetcar system. We got a good room rate BUT PARKING COSTS $17.00 a night here. Others hotels in the area were charging $25.00-$35.00. We parked in the Check-in parking and used a luggage cart to our room. This room had a king bead looking out to the courtyard pool. We needed a two bed room with a refrigerator. Our room got changed but now we had a brick wall and elevator view and soda machine. The room had purple &black striped curtains and white walls. The curtain valance above the door was brown/gold rust and did not match anything in the room. We cannot get any cold water out of the vanity faucet and the toilet hardly flushes. The hot tub out by the pool is danger taped off and not in running order. We left our car in the overnight guest parking and walked to a restaurant. Many nice restaurants nearby from Wendy's next door to 5-star chef There are many within walking distance . BEST OF ALL IS THE STREETCAR SYSTEM right outside the lobby door $3.00 for an ALL DAY PASS WAS THE WAY TO GO!!! The street in the french quarter are very narrow and it is very difficult to park. Take the streetcar system. Complementary breakfast was in the breakfast room in a separate building a short walk through the courtyard. The woman staffed here wads VERY unfriendly she would not talk to the guests and breakfast went from 6:30am - 9:30am and she VERY RUDELY started taking food away even BEFORE THE CLOCK STRUCK 9:30am. She was pulling away trays of food as people were standing in front of the items. The scrambled eggs tasted like powdered eggs, cold cereal, waffle maker (if you could get any batter from this unkind breakfast attendant) and juices. The tables by the TV were dirty. After I seen how the attendant was treating us as hotel guests on 7/4/13 9:15 ish I choose to walk over to Wendy's right next door for some breakfast.

Room Tip: Be BRAVE in the breakfast room!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeep057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, Front Office Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 28, 2015
Thank You! We really appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your thoughts. We are very sorry your stay was not favorable. We hope you’ll give us another chance to demonstrate everything we have to offer, as well as, the renovations we have made.
Thank You Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

The street car stop is slightly in front of the hotel. The bed is very soft and carpet is dirty. The breakfast is good and that's only part I won't complain about this hotel. The parking area is safe, they close the gate at night. $17 a night, u can find parking on the street if u don't want to pay.
Won't stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetyaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, Front Office Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 28, 2015
Thank You! We really appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your thoughts. We are very sorry your stay was not favorable. We hope you’ll give us another chance to demonstrate everything we have to offer, as well as, the renovations we have made.
Thank You Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#73 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#82 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#109 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites

Property: Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites
Address: 1319 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-4335 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites™ Maison St. Charles is conveniently located on St. Charles Avenue, near the French Quarter and the central business district. The St. Charles Streetcar, the oldest continuously operating streetcar line in the world, runs right at the hotel's front door. This New Orleans, LA hotel is close to popular attractions, including the Audubon Aquarium of the Americas, the Audubon Zoo, Mississippi River Cruises, the Louisiana Superdome and the University of New Orleans.The hotel has just completed an extensive remodeling of the grounds and guest rooms, including 32-inch flat-screen televisions, painted walls instead of wallpaper, new carpet and new vanities that rival those of higher priced hotels.The Unofficial Guide to New Orleans (Macmillan Travel) named this hotel the Best Accommodation Deal in New Orleans.Hotel amenities include free continental breakfast, free local calls, free in-room coffee, free The Wall Street Journal, free in-room premium movies and delicious free coffee, juice and pastries. Be sure to take advantage of the outdoor pool with hot tub and poolside cabana.This New Orleans, LA hotel provides business travelers with conveniences like wireless high-speed Internet and access to fax services. Meeting and banquet space is available to accommodate most events and business functions.The guest rooms are located in buildings that surround patios with tropical flowers, plants and trees. Five of the hotel's buildings are listed as historically significant by the United States Department of the Interior. Select rooms come equipped with refrigerators and microwaves.Whether traveling to New Orleans, Louisiana for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles provides friendly customer service, unique accommodations and affordable rates to every guest. Come enjoy this hidden gem in the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Choice Hotels so you can book your Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Quality Inn New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing