We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites
Ranked #119 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I attended a workshop, based at the hotel, and was not anticipating such a nice environment. I was informed that the hotel, which is set up as a cluster of 2-3 story buildings , was originally an old plantation. Each cluster has their own landscape. To look at the front, no one would know the hidden environment would be so peaceful and pleasant. The entire staff were very nice and helpful when you had a problem. Security was very good.. Continental breakfast was served daily, which was slightly better than average regarding selection of foods. I found the stay to be very pleasant. Each room has a refrigerator, and microwave, as well as a coffee maker. Also, it is on St.Charles, and conveniently located for the streetcar, which comes every 15 minutes, and terminates at Bourbon street downtown ( a 10-15minute ride). No room service.

Room Tip: Stay by the pool. Convenient for parking the car, as well as unloading/loading bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank denny44526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for your comments! We are excited that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope that you will be back to visit next time you are in New Orleans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,035)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

491 - 497 of 1,035 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

We did a Groupon to this hotel. We were supposed to have a regular room but were upgraded to a suite....it was on 2nd floor with no elevator.

The bathroom had not been cleaned, urine on toilet, towels on back of door and shampoo (I think) in the shower upon arrival. Called front desk, they sent someone up to clean...they didn't knock on door, just ran in room, into bathroom and make a quick cleanup.Luckily we were only there one night and standing for a shower and had Clorox wipes in our bag. Also, found out when it got dark...the bulb was out in the lamp and the chandelier had only about 4 of the 12 bulbs working. Upon Checkout, I recommended they check this room out a little better.

It was a convenient location to get on the trolley and pay a few dollar to the French Quarter and back. Emeril's Delmonico's is across the street. The bed was SUPER comfy...but after bathroom, I checked sheets thoroughly and all seemed well.

Good location to be able to save money and have access to everything.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty walking, taking stairs, etc...this is not the place for you. The rooms are fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cassidy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, Front Office Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2015

Thank You! We really appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your thoughts. We are very sorry your stay was not favorable. We will work with the Housekeeping Department on better inspections of the rooms. We hope you’ll give us another chance to demonstrate everything we have to offer, as well as, the renovations we have made.
Thank You Again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights ago, following a 7 day cruise. The staff are friendly and very helpful, the rooms are clean and elegant, the pictures are right!
You are right on St Charles Ave, right on the trolley route!!
great bedding, They had an outdoor area for sitting under beautiful trees,
also a breakfast room! nice clean pool! Nice!!!!

make reservations early as they do sell out!

Room Tip: We loved the first floor. We did not eat in the adjacent restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

We were so excited to read your comments and happy that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking time to leave feedback for us. We sincerely appreciate it! We hope to see you the next time you are in the Big Easy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

A friend and I stayed at this hotel Oct. 17 to 21, 2013. The front desk person was friendly welcoming and very helpful. The Room was a 2 queen room, it was large and clean had a small fridge, flat screen HD TV, coffee maker etc. The room was clean as well as the bath room there were plenty of towels. The house keeping staff kept the room that way through out our stay . The grounds are nice Court Yard type hotel like a lot of hotels in New Orleans, with sitting areas through out the court yards, fountains and landscaped well. There was a pool and jacuzzi also through we didn't use them and a roaming security guard I guess do to the many ways you can enter the property. I have stayed in this area at other hotels and the area is no more dangerous than any area in any big city in the USA. There are people who speak badly of New Orleans But I have Been Here Many Times an Not once have i had a problem it is a Great City with Wonderful People and i am sure after one visit you will love it as much as I do. The street car stop is just across the street and goes to Canal st. just across from the famous Bourbon St. . So I recommend this hotel It is not the Ritz, but if you are looking for a nice clean friendly hotel at a great price this is the one

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank miktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback! We are excited to hear that you were provided with great customer service along with clean and comfortable accommodations! That is our number one priority! The city of New Orleans is unlike any other and we are proud to call it home. We are glad that you appreciate the city as much as we do and hope to see you the next time you are visiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Out of the three rooms that we booked, only one had use of a safe. This had been tampered with and therefore unusable. So we asked at Reception to store our passports in the safety deposit boxes behind there. They had no safe boxes available. We where advised to leave our belongings in a covered box, placed under the desk at Reception, out of view of the public but manned by STAFF. It was also in the direct line of the camera. So we did. Upon check out and arrival at the airport we discovered that the zipped wallet, that we'd put in the box with passports in, had been opened and the British money that was in there had been taken. Our own fault really for trusting the staff

Room Tip: Get one with a working safe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2015

Dear Anne,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review about our hotel. I cannot express how sorry I am for this breach of trust between you and our staff. It is truly sickening. I wanted to inform you that we do have more safes on our property and also a safety deposit box behind the desk for our guest items that requires two keys to open and one would be on your person. We are improving everyday to make sure every guest has the best experience. Once again thank you for your thoughts and know that they have not fallen on deaf ears.

Thank you

Maison St Charles Quality Inn & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Easy walk to the Museum, Lee Circle and several restaurants. Good parking.
Staff is very friendly and helpful. Room and bath is clean. Bed is comfortable
with good pillows. The hotel is over all clean but is showing wear. I will stay there again.

Room Tip: The hotel is group of old restored homes with some new additions. We stayed in one of the newer sect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chiquapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you for giving us feedback on our hotel! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and were provided with great customer service and a clean and comfortable room. Please visit us again after the first of the year as we will soon be completing renovations to our bathrooms and also painting the buildings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

At first I didn't think the hotel was bad at all but the longer I stayed and was able to look around I saw that the hotel could have really used some repair work. The courtyard was charming but some of the plants looked as if they needed insecticide applied.

The one thing that really annoyed me was the hotel allowed a film crew on the grounds for 14 hrs. and the guests were expected to be quiet during this time. There was never any advance notice of the film crew. I found out just by looking at my room window after I heard metal chairs scraping on the hardscape at 7 a.m. When I inquired later in the evening at the front desk I was told the filming was spur of the moment. Aren't there contracts that need to be signed? The front desk help acted as if they were annoyed with me for inquiring.

If the owner of this hotel would just have some minor repairs made and employees at the front desk who really care it could be very nice.

I would give it 2.5 stars if that were possible.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie1594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2015

Dear Annie,

Thank you for writing this review about your experience at our hotel. For further analysis your words are greatly appreciated here at the Maison. I wanted to sincerely apologize for the time you had at our hotel. I am shocked to read this review and hear how you were treated by the staff here. I wanted to know that we have been working diligently on repairs and renovations to the property to make a more pleasurable experience for all of our guest. Also the film crew on our site without any alert for the guest is a communication failure on our part and again I am sorry. Again I whole-heartily thank you for your review and I want you to know that we have made leaps and bounds with our property and our service. I would love if you come to visit our great city again that you visit us and give us a second change and a great location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#79 of 167 in New Orleans
1,267 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#106 of 167 in New Orleans
802 reviews
Historic Streetcar Inn
#139 of 167 in New Orleans
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites

Address: 1319 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-4335 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: $102 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites™ Maison St. Charles is conveniently located on St. Charles Avenue, near the French Quarter and the central business district. The St. Charles Streetcar, the oldest continuously operating streetcar line in the world, runs right at the hotel's front door. This New Orleans, LA hotel is close to popular attractions, including the Audubon Aquarium of the Americas, the Audubon Zoo, Mississippi River Cruises, the Louisiana Superdome and the University of New Orleans.The hotel has just completed an extensive remodeling of the grounds and guest rooms, including 32-inch flat-screen televisions, painted walls instead of wallpaper, new carpet and new vanities that rival those of higher priced hotels.The Unofficial Guide to New Orleans (Macmillan Travel) named this hotel the Best Accommodation Deal in New Orleans.Hotel amenities include free continental breakfast, free local calls, free in-room coffee, free The Wall Street Journal, free in-room premium movies and delicious free coffee, juice and pastries. Be sure to take advantage of the outdoor pool with hot tub and poolside cabana.This New Orleans, LA hotel provides business travelers with conveniences like wireless high-speed Internet and access to fax services. Meeting and banquet space is available to accommodate most events and business functions.The guest rooms are located in buildings that surround patios with tropical flowers, plants and trees. Five of the hotel's buildings are listed as historically significant by the United States Department of the Interior. Select rooms come equipped with refrigerators and microwaves.Whether traveling to New Orleans, Louisiana for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles provides friendly customer service, unique accommodations and affordable rates to every guest. Come enjoy this hidden gem in the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Quality Inn New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing