We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location for a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites
Ranked #120 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend. It is a perfect location for a visit to NOLA. Right in the middle of the Garden District and the French Quarter. As others have said, the streetcar stop across the street is VERY convenient. Some of the steetcars were very full and some not full at all--don't hesitate to wait for another one. (This was August though, not peak season when I'm sure they are all full.) The St. Charles line will take you right to Canal Street. Bourbon Street is right across the street. By the way, most streetcars have pamphlets hanging up with streetcar info: map, stops, and times--grab one while you are on it or you can pick one up at the Louisiana Visitor Center/ Rest Stop. The hotel does charge for parking but if you pass the hotel and make three right turns (caution: the (not busy) streets are one way) you can park on Thalia Street for free. It is a quiet one way street right between the hotel and the paid parking lot for the hotel. There is a security guard at the hotel who spends most of the time in the courtyard which is open to Thalia Street . I am from a small town and I felt safe leaving my car there (of course I removed EVERYTHING from the car during my stay). Emeril's Delmonico is right across the street. For cheap eats, there is a Wendy's right next to the hotel and a Popeye's on the other side of Wendy's. (I watched for the Wendy's and Popeye's to know that the streetcar stop for the hotel was coming up.) Also , there are numerous drug stores (CVS, Walgreens) around. I found these to be the best (cheapest) place to buy a bottle of water. CVS has a 1 Liter (about 33 oz.) bottle of Ice Canyon spring water for $1.50.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 3kiddymomNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for the review! We are excited to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of our location and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The feedback is appreciated and we hope to see you the next time you are in New Orleans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,045)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great location right on the street car line! It was right between the business and garden districts! So quiet, even though it was right on a very major city street. Very quaint and charming! A very nice surprise. I was a little surprised about the $17/ night for parking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for the kind words and for taking the time to let us know how we are doing! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please be sure to visit us again the next time you are in New Orleans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel is a GEM! The staff are all friendly, helpful and lovely. The setting idyllic. Lush planted areas, pool and hot tub. Rooms fabulously decorated, in 'toned down' mardi gras themes, very stylish. They are in the process of getting new bathrooms/showers but the ones already there are more than adequate :) The towels are white and fluffy. The sheets are crisp and white, The beds huge and comfortable, poolside towel cupboard is re stocked daily.
I am NEVER disappointed with my stay here :) this time was for 11 nights. 11 nights of restful sleep, 11 wonderful and varied breakfasts, 11 days spent lounging by the pool, whilst being serenaded by piped, relaxing music, 11 days of pure bliss!
I'm a very picky English woman (as you will see by my other reviews!) and this hotel gives me no cause for complaint. It is bloody wonderful!
Thank you to the entire staff, for making my stay another relaxing one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank originalpetula57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

We can not thank you enough for the wonderful feedback! It makes us very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you received superior service from our staff. Your loyalty is very much appreciated and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in New Orelans aday earlier than expected and needed a place to stsy. We spent a Thursday night there and got the room for $56 (before tax) on Howire. At that price it was wonderful, if you pay $100 a night you can probably do better.

The rooms were clean and well decorated. The bed was very comfortable. We did have an issue with our door locking but the staff was responsive to solve the issue.

The place has a nice New Orleans vibe and doesn't feel like a boring franchise chain hotel.

The parking was around $17 and was a little far from the room. I personally hate paying for parking but apparently paid parking is par for the course in NOLA. Turns out $17 was a competitive rate.

The quality of the breakfast was a nice surprise. I ate eggs, sausage, and waffles with some cranberry juice. It was yummy and free.

We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LBCjustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

On behalf of the hotel, we want to thank you for taking time to write a review and for letting us know how we are doing! We take pride in providing guests with a "New Orleans" vibe and appreciate you making note of that! We hope to see you again in New Orleans soon! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I recently had a destination wedding in New Orleans. This hotel was a fun, affordable, and charming choice for my wedding guests. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were nice overall and if there were any problems with the rooms (broken fridge or safe), they worked hard to correct it. The set-up of the hotel with many small hotels with courtyards made it a good environment for all the guests to hang out with each other and for the kids to play outside. The pool was a good size and depth. My husband and I stayed in 3 different suites over 6 nights and they were all very comfortable but the porches/hallways around the suites could use some remodeling. The Degas Suite (Honeymoon Suite) was my favorite. The Mardi Gras Suite was also good but could use a few touch ups in the bathrooms and better access to get to it after the lobby closes (had to be buzzed in after 10p). We also used 1 of the meeting rooms for a poker night and the salon for an afterparty after the reception and these rooms were very nice. We partied until 4 am in the salon (separate from guest area) then took the party next door to the St. Charles Tavern which stays open 24 hr and has good food. Overall we had a great experience and with a few minor fixes this hotel could be even better. We love the Garden District and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

We are so glad that you enjoyed the hotel and your stay with us! We are happy to be a part of your very special day! Thank you for providing us with feedback and comments on the staff and hotel. We sincerely appreciate it and hope to see you in New Orleans soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was my first time at the Maison St Charles. I called the front desk for more towel for swimming. I was really cranky, the front desk person remained calm and pleasant. He had the towels at our room in less than 3 minutes. I called the desk again to ask where the ice machine was (I was flying my broom). Again the clerk was calm and friendly. When we checked out I asked who this clerk was and found his name was Johnell. Wonder staffing, wonderful service, great suite. The only disappointment was that the Jacuzzi was not working. I would definitely stay there again. Oh yes, the restaurant on premise is to die for. ;-)

Room Tip: Get a suite, it's more than worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

On behalf of the hotel, I want to thank you for providing us with comments! I have shared your comments with our Front Desk Manager and we have definitely made sure to recognize Johnell for the superior service he provided you. We have also repaired our hot tub so it should be ready for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great location to easily access the streetcar transportation or walking distance to food. We go in really early so the first front desk lady was helpful with holding our bags while we went back out since our room wasn't ready. We called back when we were still out to check on room status and different front desk customer service was on the borderline of being rude every time I asked about something. Finally got checked in and found two live roaches in the bathroom within an hour of checking in. Hairs in the bathtub that definitely did not belong to us. While waiting for my room to get ready I overheard another guest reporting that she had some gold earrings stolen out of her suit case. We kept the do not disturb sign on the door and declined housekeeping service to hopefully avoid this. Highlights: location, comfortable spacious room (we had a king suite on second floor), fridge/microwave in room, really comfortable beds. Lows: cleanliness in room including layers of dust on baseboards behind nightstands (saw it as I was looking for electrical outlets), walls thin (definitely hear your neighbors), women's Lobby bathroom had a very bad smell, like sewage, wifi Internet spotty and slow.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank folk108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for letting us know how we are doing! Please accept my apologies on behalf of the hotel for the experience you had while staying with us. I have personally passed along your comments to the respective department managers to prevent this from happening again. We do hope that you will visit us again when coming back to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Historic Streetcar Inn
#141 of 166 in New Orleans
633 reviews
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#104 of 166 in New Orleans
170 reviews
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#77 of 166 in New Orleans
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#65 of 166 in New Orleans
1,479 reviews
Treme
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
#97 of 166 in New Orleans
342 reviews
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#90 of 166 in New Orleans
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites

Address: 1319 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-4335 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: $98 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites™ Maison St. Charles is conveniently located on St. Charles Avenue, near the French Quarter and the central business district. The St. Charles Streetcar, the oldest continuously operating streetcar line in the world, runs right at the hotel's front door. This New Orleans, LA hotel is close to popular attractions, including the Audubon Aquarium of the Americas, the Audubon Zoo, Mississippi River Cruises, the Louisiana Superdome and the University of New Orleans.The hotel has just completed an extensive remodeling of the grounds and guest rooms, including 32-inch flat-screen televisions, painted walls instead of wallpaper, new carpet and new vanities that rival those of higher priced hotels.The Unofficial Guide to New Orleans (Macmillan Travel) named this hotel the Best Accommodation Deal in New Orleans.Hotel amenities include free continental breakfast, free local calls, free in-room coffee, free The Wall Street Journal, free in-room premium movies and delicious free coffee, juice and pastries. Be sure to take advantage of the outdoor pool with hot tub and poolside cabana.This New Orleans, LA hotel provides business travelers with conveniences like wireless high-speed Internet and access to fax services. Meeting and banquet space is available to accommodate most events and business functions.The guest rooms are located in buildings that surround patios with tropical flowers, plants and trees. Five of the hotel's buildings are listed as historically significant by the United States Department of the Interior. Select rooms come equipped with refrigerators and microwaves.Whether traveling to New Orleans, Louisiana for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles provides friendly customer service, unique accommodations and affordable rates to every guest. Come enjoy this hidden gem in the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Quality Inn New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing