We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint, charming and the perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites
Ranked #117 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint, charming and the perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at this New Orleans gem pre cruise and fgell in love with the property and the staff. The hotel is a mix of historic and new buildings with a lovely courtyard and pool.

I booked the honeymoon suite because it had a whirlpool tub and was truly amazed at the size of the barthoom. It has a stand alone shower large enough for a small party and is completely tiled with marble.

The suite has a seperate bedroom and living room with a small wet bar and it is so cozy. There are actually two doorways to this suite and the rear door opens up to a private balcony that over looks the pool.

The staff at the Maison St Charles were always so friendly and helpful. Eveyone had a smile and a good morning or good evning.

The location is terrific because it is right on the Trolly Line that takes you into the French Quarter in about 5 minutes. You can enjoy the FQ and then get away to a little peace and quiet.

I am returning to the Maison St Charles new February and can't wait to see the staff and this wonderful hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cruzingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles! We so delighted you had such a nice stay in our Honeymoon Suite. It is such a lovely room. We appreciate your comments about our property, location and friendly staff. We are looking forward to you visiting us again next February!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    338
    196
    105
    72
See reviews for
273
317
34
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
annapolis,MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

The lobby is the only nice thing. The wall is thin, i can hear people walk by , nock someones door..all the time and could never fall asleep, super super noisy!!! its not even during mardi gras. the building is literally ,shaky , i feel like there is a earthquake all the time . Hot water is on and off too. Breakfast is not replenish fast enough. Hi speed Internet is a joke, it could not download a 5 min YouTube version without stop longer than 30 min.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention and we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. We do hope you try us again in the future so we can show you how your remarks were used constructively.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was a good find. Thank you Tripadvisor contributors. I thought the room was nice and comfortable. The toilet and bath of the bathroom let the room down though. The staff were always friendly. The breakfast offered was varied, but certainly not healthy. The fact that it is included in the room rate of course is a great positive. The property's location (Garden District) is on the Street Car line and therefore convenient to both the Business District and the French Quarter. I would recommend this property.

Room Tip: Ask about the rooms on the ground floor to enjoy the courtyard with its small tables and chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatalieF101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles. We appreciate your comments about our rooms, rate, location and Courtyard. We hope we have the opportunity to accommodate your lodging needs in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Somehow this dump got a Quality Inn franchise. Room was OK as long as you roll up a towel to keep drafts out of the one inch gap under the door and you are Ok with the absence of curtains. Shower fittings are falling off. Close to the convention center is all I can say in its favor. Day staff were nice but night clerk reinforces all the worst stereotypes and appeared bereft of hospitality training. If you need a taxi early in the morning be prepared to call it yourself and to wait outside because the front door is locked and you need to walk around and wait for it to show up. On the bright side, there were no rats, or obvious criminals and prostitutes so if you are on a budget this could serve you well.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phlatphoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles. I am sorry you were disappointed on this occasion, and I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. We sincerely appreciate your feedback, as it provides us with the information needed to correct problems and improve on the services we offer our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to provides accommodations for you in the future and show you how your remarks were used constructively.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Maison St. Charles is located at the edges between the Garden District and the Warehouse District of New Orleans. The lobby staff is very helpful; the parking is secure and not expensive according to New Orleans standards; the room was a good size; the beds and bed linens were very, very comfortable; the breakfast offered good chocies, and had convenient hours; the hotel and area was quiet [sometimes a premium in New Orleans!]; the price is very reasonable for New Orleans.

Minor inconveniences: the ice machine didn't work; the 2 ladies in the breakfast room were the only surly people we encountered our entire trip.

The hotel is about a mile from the French quarter. It is an easy walk during daylight [and allows you to see the Warehouse District, which many tourists miss, and is currently going through an interesting renovation], but a couple of blocks are "iffy" at night. The St. Charles Streetcar has a stop right in front of the hotel; however, although the RTA states that it runs every 15 minutes, we found that it was more like every 45 minutes. This was the only drawback to us -- but we would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disheveledprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We appreciate your comments about our location, breakfast, comfortable rooms and friendly staff. We are so glad you felt at home at the Maison St. Charles! We hope we have the opportunity to accommodate your lodging needs again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
164 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I loved this hotel. Great location, friendly staff, free wifi, complimentary breakfast - what more can you ask for? The room was clean, the courtyard was really cute, and the French details were a nice touch. Parking was good too - security guards made sure to lock things up at night so no need to worry about anything! I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting New Orleans!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We appreciate you telling us about your stay at the Maison St. Charles! We are so glad you and your boyfriend has such a nice time. Thank you for your comments about our property, location, breakfast, parking and friendly staff. Please come back and see us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel the night before heading out on a cruise. We were amazed at the location, amenities, the hotel itself--and I can't say enough about the staff. They went out of their way to make our stay amazing. They were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about where to go and what to do. We were minutes from everything without being right in the middle of it. We were a couple of blocks from the St. Charles streetcar, and we were able to walk to most everything we needed or wanted. We walked to the World War II museum, through the Garden District, and to local restaurants. The room itself was lovely, just off a courtyard where we could sit and enjoy the outside air in January. Everyone, including the housekeeping staff, showed exemplary customer service, and seemed genuinely happy to be there and happy to help. It was a remarkable experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanceR329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your wonderful experience at the Maison St. Charles! We are so delighted you had such a nice stay. We appreciate your comments about our property, location, and friendly staff. We hope you come back and visit us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#71 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#86 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#111 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites

Property: Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites
Address: 1319 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-4335 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites™ Maison St. Charles is conveniently located on St. Charles Avenue, near the French Quarter and the central business district. The St. Charles Streetcar, the oldest continuously operating streetcar line in the world, runs right at the hotel's front door. This New Orleans, LA hotel is close to popular attractions, including the Audubon Aquarium of the Americas, the Audubon Zoo, Mississippi River Cruises, the Louisiana Superdome and the University of New Orleans.The hotel has just completed an extensive remodeling of the grounds and guest rooms, including 32-inch flat-screen televisions, painted walls instead of wallpaper, new carpet and new vanities that rival those of higher priced hotels.The Unofficial Guide to New Orleans (Macmillan Travel) named this hotel the Best Accommodation Deal in New Orleans.Hotel amenities include free continental breakfast, free local calls, free in-room coffee, free The Wall Street Journal, free in-room premium movies and delicious free coffee, juice and pastries. Be sure to take advantage of the outdoor pool with hot tub and poolside cabana.This New Orleans, LA hotel provides business travelers with conveniences like wireless high-speed Internet and access to fax services. Meeting and banquet space is available to accommodate most events and business functions.The guest rooms are located in buildings that surround patios with tropical flowers, plants and trees. Five of the hotel's buildings are listed as historically significant by the United States Department of the Interior. Select rooms come equipped with refrigerators and microwaves.Whether traveling to New Orleans, Louisiana for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles provides friendly customer service, unique accommodations and affordable rates to every guest. Come enjoy this hidden gem in the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Quality Inn New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing