We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tiny French Chateau of Elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W New Orleans - French Quarter
Ranked #62 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Tiny French Chateau of Elegance”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

If you go to New Orleans, don't stay anywhere else but here! It was simply amazing. Besides the snobby front desk agent, the stay was divine! The valet were impeccable and the room view was lovely, peering over the brick rooftops over to the Delta. For being in a small building it felt spacious and well decorated. I could not go on enough about how much my mother and I enjoyed ourselves there. It is so close to everything, we walked every where, and it is so discreetly and cozily tucked away in the French style buildings. It was classy to say the least. This is a good place for couples and a small friends outing, but not for families as it is luxurious and a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank generalfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hello generalfish -

Thank you for choosing W French Quarter on your recent trip and for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. I'm glad to hear that you and your mom had a great trip. We appreciate the recommendations and hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    259
    141
    66
    47
See reviews for
121
382
33
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sechelt, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Loved the location and the staff were wonderful. Rooms are eclectic, didn't care for the color scheme though. Loved the courtyard, where we would have a glass of wine late afternoon, or in the evening. Not sure about a previous reviewers comments with regards to calling a taxi, staff went out of there way to get a taxi for us, was not an issue. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angiewa56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hello Angie W -

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. I'm glad to hear that our talent went out of their way to accommodate you during your stay and showed you excellent service. We appreciate your feedback and can't wait to see you again soon!

Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Walking up the entry, we knew that we had arrived at a super cool hotel. Upon entering the lobby, we found complementary punch and an extremely friendly staff. Arielle, Elijah, and Lain, among others, were willing to give us recommendations regarding restaurants, night life, sights, etc.
The location of the hotel was wonderful, allowing us to walk to most destinations. The courtesy transportation was convenient for those times when the distance was too great to walk.
Although the room wasn’t large, it was comfortable, and the décor was fabulous. The common areas were inviting and interesting.
We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hi Susan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review on TripAdvisor for W French Quarter. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and can't wait to welcome you back again!

Until next time,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Big dissapointment in the W Frech Quarter - New Orleans.
They failed on several levels:
-Made sure I was upgraded to a suite as I was travelling with my wife and daughter. Arrived to find that the "suite" was little more than an average size hotel room. Non of the amenities normally associated with a "suite".
-As a result of the room deficiencies we ordered a roll-away bed for our daughter. The "bed" provided was little more than an air mattress that you'd use at the beach. To my astonishment they delivered a leaky one that didn't hold air. The second one that they delivered leaked too. No sleep for the kid....made a crappy day for the family.
-In addition to the junk air mattress, they only supplied one blanket. I guess those heavenly blankets are only doled out one per person. We got one for the three of us.
-Up keep of the place is poor. Only one elevator was working for the entire hotel.
-They promised the pool was 80 degrees. We could have skated it was so cold.
-I guess the topper was when we asked the "wherever, whenever" staff for a taxi...they pointed to the street and suggested we flag one down. They went on to explain that when they call a taxi for guests they rarely come to the W French Quarter....
This exerience did more to erode my opinion in Starwood and The W brand than just about anything I can think of -it was unforgiveable.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterm312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hello peterm312 -

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay with us. I agree that the challenges you faced were completely unacceptable. Please accept my sincerest apology as this is not the level of service I know we're capable of providing. We'd like to try to make this right and turn your opinion around. Can you please email us at wfqcservice@whotels.com at your earliest convenience so I can look into the situation further?

Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We wanted to stay in the French Quarter and loved the restaurant SOBU but the hotel is not worth the price and not what you expect from website. Parking a car is outrageous and we told them so.
The room was small and was a patio room overlooking the pool, was really a second story room that had a wall that when you went on the patio that is all you see,not worth the extra money. If fact, the room is not either. a small room which tries to be almost too cool. Lighting is awful with no bedside lights we could find and the modern theme of Planets over your head is a nightmare!
This W needs lots of help, the staff kept apologizing for everything and there was a long list. Sad that it is so well positioned in the French Quarter. Will stay at Windsor Court, my favorite, or Hotel Monteleone if I want to stay in the Quarter.

Room Tip: Probably only rooms worth having is the carriage house but too expensive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoustonNative53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Hello HoustonNative53 -

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that overall, you didn't enjoy your experience. It sounds like you were staying in one of our second floor jazz-designed guest rooms. We value your feedback as it helps us to keep improving on the level of service we provide and address any issues with our rooms that are not meeting their needs, so I appreciate your thoughts. If there's anything else that we can do to turn your opinion around, please let us know. Thank you again!

All the best,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Absolutely love this hotel. The staff was great and the rooms were newly renovated and beautiful. The entrance has this amazing blue lighting that's like nothing at any hotel in New Orleans. I will definitely be staying here when I visit Nola.

Room Tip: Second floor is great because it has access to the beautiful courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChelseaNicole7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The W Hotel French Quarter is one of my favorite hotels to begin with because of it's location and convenience to walk everywhere. BUT, it is also very unique with a beautiful courtyard, etc.

My wife and I have stayed there before, but this visit the staff showed it's medal with going above and beyond in every capacity.

From Stacy at the front desk, to Mark, Malik, Quinton and Jaron they all were outstanding and upstanding in their effort to take care of our needs... From parking, to ground transportation, to directions to restaurants, etc.

In fact, Mark went out of his way to help my wife find her purse and jewelry that was left in the room. She was frantic, but the Mark and Benton, found it and shipped the items out to us.

This Hotel is a treasure and a hip, cool and great place for couples to relax and be treated with the W (Whatever, Whenever) philosophy of service.

GOD bless these folks and we are so appreciative for a wonderful weekend and a tremendous stay at the W Hotel French Quarter.

Room Tip: The rooms with french doors and balconies are AWESOME!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToddN19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hello ToddN19 -

Thank you for posting such a nice review of W French Quarter. I love hearing about all the ways that our talent went above and beyond to make sure that you had a great stay. And I'm so glad that Mark and Benton were able to locate your wife's purse! I hope that we can welcome you back the next time you're in New Orleans.

Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 163 in New Orleans
4,544 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,153 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,198 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#22 of 163 in New Orleans
2,860 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New Orleans - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New Orleans - French Quarter

Property: W New Orleans - French Quarter
Address: 316 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W New Orleans - French Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New Orleans French Quarter is adjacent to historic Jackson Square and boutique shops, and is a short walk from galleries, the Riverwalk and Harrah's casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Prestigia, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your W New Orleans - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New Orleans - French Quarter Hotel New Orleans
w Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing