We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Striking new decor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
W New Orleans - French Quarter
Ranked #79 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Striking new decor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

If you want to settle in to the French Quarter in style, check out the redecorated W. Don't let the quaint exterior fool you; the new interiors are a trendy retreat from the muggy NOLA street scene. Sorry that the Brennan's changed the menu and not just their decor with replacing Italian standard Bacco with a lower end and inferior tasting SoBo. Travelers need more than two entrees from which to choose. Seems they are trying a bit too hard.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RUFFEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Hello RUFFEE -

Thank you for your nice compliments about our new decor and for choosing W New Orleans - French Quarter. We know you have a choice of a lot of hotels and appreciate your business. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy SoBou as much, but hope that you'll give it another chance on your next visit. I'm sure that our chef can put together something nice for you. Thank you again for choosing W New Orleans - French Quarter.

Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    225
    125
    56
    44
See reviews for
99
329
26
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

The staff is great, especially Staci!!!!! Very friendly and knowledgable! You won't have a bad time here. The Hotel is very clean and well decorated. Beautiful courtyard! You won't be disappointed! It's was our anniversary and they gave champagne and rose pedles before we got to room with a hand written card. Their recomaditions on restaurants to go to were amazing!! Couldn't say one bad thing.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisbier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Hello Chrisbier -

Wow! Thank you for such an incredible review of W New Orleans - French Quarter! I'm so pleased that we were able to surprise you with champagne and rose petals on your anniversary and to hear that Staci made wonderful recommendations. Thank you for letting us be a part of such a special occasion in your lives. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next anniversary!

Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

During a work trip, decided to take a break from other FQ hotels and stay at the W. I was highly disappointed to see that there is no MSNBC channel offered, and management would do well to see that their is fair and balanced offerings with the upcoming political season in November. There were Fox channels, but do not care for their biased and often ludicrous news offerings. Other than that, the rooms are a bit small, and staff was excellent and positive. So Management if you ever read these review, please consider adding MSNBC to you lineup. Fitness center was closed at the time, and offered alternative use of Sheraton facilities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleshia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Hello Aleshia B -

Thank you for choosing W French Quarter and for sharing some feedback about your recent experience with us. I apologize for the inconvenience of not being able to watch MSNBC while you were here. We try to offer a variety of channels through our service provider and will look into the offerings to make sure we have a balance of coverage.

I'll pass along your compliments to our staff. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to New Orleans.

Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Pros: The location is extremely convenient - walking distance to everything in the French Quarter. The front desk staff and other staff were very helpful and accommodating. The courtyard was a great place to relax with friends at the start or the end of an evening. The bed was comfy and I liked the game-themed design of the location. And given the hot location, thank god for the pool

The Cons: The bathrooms are tiny. Not very functional to use. But they have great Bliss products although they were not regularly refreshed by housekeeping.

A $15 / day / device internet fee is egregious, especially considering the wifi generally did not work in the courtyard and that it was slower than dial-up speed. (I know because I speedtested it every day - 0.29 mb/s download and 0.47 mb/s upload speed in the rooms - a carrier pigeon could transport data faster than that.). I had to go seek out a cafe to get some work done while there because the internet kept failing and after being charged that much for internet service, that is pretty ridiculous.

It seemed like they were still working out the kinks of room service since the new restaurant had just opened up. The staff was extremely apologetic for the delays in the food service, so that helped.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank complexsugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Hello Complexsugar -

Thanks for your feedback about your recent stay at W New Orleans - French Quarter. We appreciate your comments about the Internet service as it helps us to recognize areas where we can improve. It is something that we're looking into and trying to fix. I'm glad that our staff was so helpful and accommodating during your stay and that you enjoyed our new redesign. We took inspiration from cultural elements significant to the city. I hope that you'll consider staying with us again in the future. If there's anything that I can do for you in the meantime, please contact me at wfqcservice@whotels.com.

Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The W New Orleans is a respite in the heart of NOLA. My husband and I are especially grateful to Janice and Tina, who made our stay memorable. The rooms are a bit small so I wouldn't necessarily recommend it for business travel but it's a very romantic hotel with a beautiful courtyard. I liked the rain shower and the mattress was very firm and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hello Jordana P -

Thank you for posting a review of W New Orleans - French Quarter and for the nice compliments to our staff and property. I hope that you and your husband had a nice vacation and will join us again on your next visit.

Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I just wanted to take a moment and send a special thank you to Tony Dominguez. Tony has a nice warming smile that makes you feel very welcome. He is well organized and extremely professional, one would expect nothing less when you first walk into a hotel. Tony demonstrates a hard working attitude and attentiveness. Tony thank you for your help and assistance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank solivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hello solivia -

I can't wait to tell Tony about the glowing review that you wrote. He's an exceptional employee who goes above and beyond to provide the Whatever/Whenever service of W hotels. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to New Orleans.

Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingburg, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed here about 5 years ago and was not so impressed, so I am pleased to report that some of the renovations they have completed have worked.
I was in town for a meeting and actually used one of their meeting rooms for a day, and service was excellent for the meeting.
The rooms are a little bit much, trying to be ultra modern. However the size of the room is excellent and you can't beat the location in the quarter. Only down side is the walls are paper thin and you can hear everything going on in your neighbors room.
Overall was fairly satisfied and would stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelThom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hello TravelThom -

It was great to welcome you back to W New Orleans - French Quarter. Thank you for being a loyal guest and for posting a follow up review about your stay. I'm glad that you liked some of the changes we made to the property and enjoyed the location. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. If there's anything that we can do for you in the meantime, please don't hesitate to ask.

Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,952 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,401 reviews
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#43 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#24 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,660 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New Orleans - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New Orleans - French Quarter

Property: W New Orleans - French Quarter
Address: 316 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W New Orleans - French Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New Orleans French Quarter is adjacent to historic Jackson Square and boutique shops, and is a short walk from galleries, the Riverwalk and Harrah's casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Starwood, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your W New Orleans - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New Orleans - French Quarter Hotel New Orleans
w Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing