We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful, small hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Marais

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Marais
Ranked #8 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful, small hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

The location couldn't be better, just around the corner from Bourbon Street. Despite that, it was very quiet and once you were inside the hotel, the world outside seemed nonexistent. The common areas were attractive, very clean, and inviting. The rooms were modern, immaculate, and beautiful. The bathrooms were spic'n'span, shiny black marble tile without a speck of dust. They provided all the amenities you need, and procured those that were not in the room. The housekeeping staff were most responsive and did their job well, in a most professional, unobtrusive manner. The eating area was pleasant and someone would be cleaning crumbs, etc., almost as they happened. The breakfast, unfortunately, was average. Only light yoghurt was provided, few fruit choices, no hot cakes or waffles, only bread, muffins and bagels. It filled the spot, but nothing special. Our overall experience with the staff/personnel was wonderful, from the reception, to the bellman, to the waitstaff at the restaurant.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the courtyard had a nice view of rooftops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LolitaCardenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,793
    704
    144
    32
    24
See reviews for
411
1,365
84
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Angleton, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

For a hotel nestled between Royal and Bourbon streets, i was taken aback a bit by how well maintained and oputfitted the hotel was. it was a quiet, thoroughly pleasant oasis from the bustle outside. The entire hotel staff, especially housekeeping, were extremely pleasant and helpfull throughout our stay. I would highly recommend the hotel to any first-time, or regular visitors to New Orleans.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

From the location to the modern guest room, charming pool and evening champagne delivery, this hotel exceeded my expectations! It is right in the middle of the French Quarter yet felt quiet and secluded.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the pool and was very quiet but also close to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin Z. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

I stayed at Hotel Le Marais for a girls' weekend in July. I loved this hotel because it was modern without being over-the-top. It was a quiet 'oasis' in the heart of the French Quarter. My favorite part was the pool and outdoor lounge area. The staff was very friendly, the cocktails were amazing, and the continental breakfast was a big plus. The rooms were a little small but very comfortable and clean. However, in New Orleans there is so much to do you are not spending too much time in the room anyway. I give this hotel two thumbs-up!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakura
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights with friends. Our first night was terrible. They mucked up our reservations , they more than made up for it for the rest of our stay, rooms were Very clean and beds so comfy. Great location just off the bourbon strip so was quiet but still in the action,
Great little pool and bar . Breakfast very adequate, all we needed. Would recommend this hotel.
No balcony in our room but really didn't need one in hindsight. Too much going on outside to be in the room. Nice having drinks down at the pool in the evening.

Room Tip: internal pool facing room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OakuraSue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

To start, the hotel itself was nice. The negative part was the valet. They charge $34 per day, plus tax and the drivers take forever to bring your car. The advise I would give to people is don't stay in the French Quarter. Its impossible to get around all the drunks. If that's what your there for then this area is ideal for you. I found that Magazine street or St. Charles Ave (away from the French quarter) is much nicer, cleaner and much much quieter. You can always take a trolly into the quarter to go visit. There is also parking all over the quarter. All in all I would recommend staying out of that area as far as hotel stay!! Plus it's probably cheaper and the hotels are just as nice.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dre305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Location was a half block off Bourbon Street, but quiet. Great rooms and a first class breakfast. They have a quiet patio area and even though you are in the center of the French Quarter action, you feel isolated. They have a small salt water pool next to the patio and a very nice bar area inside. The only suggestion I can make is to use their valet parking as it is cheaper than self parking even though you use the same lot, right across the street. Also, we were only about a 5 block walk to the Audibon venues so it was a good spot for our 9 year old granddaughter as well.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are away from the front of the hotel so even though you are close to the French Qua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tojohealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daffne R, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at Hotel le marais. We are truly thrilled that you were able to enjoy our great rooms, enhanced complimentary continental breakfast, lovely brick floored courtyard with heated salt-water pool, and our hotel bar; Vive! You are right; we are located in the heart of the French Quarter which is a stone's throw away from all the great local attractions like the Audubon Aquarium and Insectarium, which your granddaughter enjoyed. We do hope that you choose Hotel le marais when you make your way down to New Orleans in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,518 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,562 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,409 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#24 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marais

Property: Hotel Le Marais
Address: 717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Marais 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired by an effortless amalgamation of classic and modern. Hotel le Marais is New Orleans’ newest upscale boutique hotel. It is where the trendsetters, influencers and fashionistas go to stay in the heart of it all. Set amid a historic and cultural backdrop, this French Quarter hotel is a modern and upscale sanctuary with four-star amenities and a high level of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Le Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann Marie Antoinette Hotel
Hotel St Ann Marie Antoinette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing